We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Hotel in a Charming Umbrian Setting”
Review of Hotel Vannucci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vannucci
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Charming Hotel in a Charming Umbrian Setting”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

One gets the sense of a family run business with all the charm that comes with it when you stay at the Hotel Vannucci. It is situated in the middle of the town just off the main pedestrian route through the village. It is set back from the street so the rooms are blissfully quiet. As for the room itself, we had a delightful and immaculate double on a quiet wing of the hotel on an upper floor. All the amenities were available including wifi (at no additional cost) and breakfast served buffet style but offering plenty of options for the most picky palette. Citte della Pieve is a lovely village that makes a perfect jumping off point for visits to all of the surrounding Umbrian hill towns and it is not far from Sienna, Florence or Orvieto. The Hotel Vannucci and its charming staff make it even more compelling. Did I forget to add that the room rates are incredibly reasonable for what you are offered?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    102
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
98
224
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonning-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My wife and I were last at this good-looking (both from within and without) hotel in June 2006 and vowed that we would return. And so, 64 months later, we honoured that commitment. Our room was one of the better ones (#111) and the standard of its housekeeping was exemplary. Being off-season, its main restaurant (Zafferano) was closed but it mattered not because its Trattoria Pizzeria Pievese was well and truly open and offered all that one could want - incl. to the local non-residents. Constructed in 1887 by the illegitimate daughter of King Vittorio Emanuele II, the Spring of 2005 saw the completion of Vannucci's extensive, sensitive, renovation by owner Alison Deighton. More improvements had occurred since our previous visit. Marvellous, friendly staff, beginning with the all-imortant reception and followed-through at all other department levels. (As an aside, the 7th Concorso Pianistico Lia Tortora was happening at the nearby Accademia degli Avvaloranti and a number of competitors were warming-up for it on the Vannucci's piano. We listened to some amazing classical music, including from a 9 year old boy prodigy from Milano who spoke impeccable English.
A splendid young chap from Mexico played with similar flair and competence. Remarkably, they all played without sheet music and some of the pieces were extraordinarily complex). Citta della Pieve is a delightful place, in a wonderful part of Italy. The Vannucci does it proud, just as it does its guests. Barton Bon Viveur makes mental note: 'come back yet again ... perhaps for the 8th Concorso Pianistico Lia Tortora'.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barton-bonviveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My stay at the Hotel Vannucci was so amazing in June, I had to return in September. Having lived in Spain and traveling throughout Europe, I have stayed at both hostels as well as high end establishments like the Hotel Plaza Athenee in Paris. I can honestly say that the warmth, atmosphere and service at the Hotel Vannucci is like no other.

My best girlfriend and I rented a car in Rome and visited Umbria. We traveled to a nearby vineyard, Tenuta Corini, and after a memorable wine tasting we had their amazing wine and dinner at the Hotel. It was like we were among family. This is where we fell in love with the hotel that our visit in Umbria was extended as a result.

Orlando, the manager, is amazing. He made sure that every detail was taken care of. The pool during the summer was perfect as well as the surrounding area. The view of our room was breathtaking and the breakfast was perfect (as an American who takes her breakfast seriously, this was definite plus). I returned to Hotel Vannucci for my birthday. As a Celiac who is also allergic to dairy, Orlando and team were able to not only create a gluten free pasta dish, but also created a dairy free gluten free tiramisu!!!

This is a must visit and will make your experience that of a lifetime. Grazie Orlando!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the restaurant/courtyard, beautiful layout and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My best friend and I went on a trip of a lifetime last spring. We rented a car in Rome and planned on going where our hearts desired. We ended up spending most of our time in Umbria, because we loved staying at this hotel so much. It is truly a wonderful experience. At night we dined in the restaurant bellow-amazing food. Orlando and everyone else were wonderful to us, we felt both very at home and also like royalty. Make sure you ask to see Orlando's photos of his children :). A perfect combination for a perfect trip. In the mornings I enjoyed the pool before breakfast which was always delicious. If you go here, definitely visit the nearby Corini vineyard....The best wine in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I had the opportunity to stay for two weeks in the Hotel Vannucci and it exceeded my expectations in every respect. I will be going back if at all possible. The incredible staff coupled with this lovely property in the heart of Italy complimented a trip full of wonderful memories. I cannot say enough about the staff (Beatrice at the front desk & Orlando the manager as well as the dining room staff) the hotel, food, location, value, (and of course the wine) just to name a few! The Hotel Vannucci had formerly been a home and I understand it was recently upgraded so everything is very clean and more than adequate at a very good value in Italy. The food was excellent including the buffet breakfast. After being in Florence and paying three times the cost, Citta della Pieve was a treat. I plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 691LLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Citta della Pieve
0.3 km away
Logge Del Perugino W&B Resort
Logge Del Perugino W&B Resort
#4 of 5 in Citta della Pieve
432 reviews
2.6 km away
Relais dei Magi
Relais dei Magi
#2 of 5 in Citta della Pieve
49 reviews
11.0 km away
Il Patriarca
Il Patriarca
#1 of 10 in Chiusi
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 km away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
695 reviews
37.7 km away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
821 reviews
15.6 km away
Villa di Monte Solare
Villa di Monte Solare
#1 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vannucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vannucci

Property: Hotel Vannucci
Address: Via I. Vanni 1, 06062, Citta della Pieve, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Citta della Pieve
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Citta della Pieve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vannucci 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With attentive and individualized service we aim to make every guest feel immediately at home. Following extensive restoration, Hotel Vannucci in Citta' della Pieve offers accommodation over 30 delightful bedrooms, a choice of formal and casual dining, a cozy bar, and a fitness centre with sauna and Jacuzzi. The hotel's charming decor celebrates Umbria's artisan traditions with wrought iron, hand-crafted furniture and attractive artwork throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Vannucci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vannucci Hotel Citta Della Pieve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing