We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

712ChrisB
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just spent a week in Valley View Cottage. It was our first holiday with a baby and owners Robert and Eileen couldn't have done more to make it a success!

We arrived after a long drive in the pouring rain, to a roaring fire and a pot of tea. From start to end, there was a warm, personal touch. The owners live close by and are on hand in case of any problems (we had none), and are very knowledgeable about Beara and its attractions.

Beara is just wonderful - much quieter than the Ring of Kerry but as beautiful. The cottage is a handy 20 minute drive from Kenmare (shops, supermarkets, pubs and restaurants), and minutes away from the breathtaking Healey Pass. Even without leaving the cottage, views from the kitchen window and garden terrace are stunning.

I cannot recommend Valley View highly enough! Top marks for location, comfort, and welcome. Exceptional value for money when compared to other rental properties we've stayed in. We hope to return one day!

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Hello Chris and family. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We were delighted that you choose our cottage for your holiday break. Hope you got home safe and that you have happy memories of your time here. Best wishes always . Eileen and robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie O
1 review
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Myself and my girlfriend stayed with Eileen and Robert for 4 nights. Although the weather did not favour us. We had a fantastic stay and would definitely stay again. Eileen and Robert were perfect hosts and Kerry is simply beautiful

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Hello Jamie and eimear. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were delighted that you choose our cottage for your break. We hope to see you again sometime. Best wishes always. From eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Home for a Holiday”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Thank you Eileen, Robert and family for a wonderful holiday. The cottage and local environment proved everything I hoped for when planning a 4 night relaxing holiday and I was so comfortable in the cottage I extended my stay by a further night. The well appointed kitchen, comfortable bed and in particular the relaxing chairs in front of the open fire, with an endless supply of fuel, well offset the wet and windy November weather. Eileen and Robert are welcoming hosts providing a cup of tea and warm fire on arrival and are happy to share their wealth of local knowledge. The Beara Peninsula has plenty of ancient and recent historic sites to explore, lots of walking tracks, wonderful scenic drives and local eateries to fill your time. Lovely cottage and location.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact it was exactly what I wanted
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeordieNo...
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A true Irish Home”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We knew from the welcome given us by Eileen & Robert that we'd be very happy in the cottage. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always on hand at their shop across the road if ever we needed them. It's all very cosy especially with the endless supply of logs and peat bricks for the open fire. The situation is ideal for heading off into the Beara peninsula, surely one of Ireland's best kept secrets. There are several dining experiences near at hand ranging from homely pub food at Kilmakilloge to fine food at Josie's overlooking Glanmore lake. All in all, a first class holiday experience.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Irish welcome and hospitality
Liked least: Doesn't applyes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bassil201...
Saint-Etienne, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still the same perfection”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Returned again this year to the same fantastic welcome, well-appointed home with everything you could wish for.

Date of stay: September 2015
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.