We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great hosts as always”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Benjamin...
Stegen, Germany
1 review
“Great hosts as always”
Reviewed 30 November 2020 for a stay in October 2020

Once again we had a wonderful holiday on the Beara Peninsula. Once again we were able to experience a warm welcome from Eileen and Robert, our great hosts. As always, our cottage was very clean and lovingly furnished. Thank you for the great time! We look forward to a reunion.

Date of stay: October 2020
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Dec 2020
Hello Benjamin and marieke. Thank you both so much for your beautiful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. We would love to see you again. Kind regards. Eileen and Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Terenure
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway from the bustle of life”
Reviewed 15 January 2020 for a stay in December 2019

Me and the frenchie decided to visit Lauragh, our favourite spot in all of the world - our third trip and as we had such a lovely time when we stayed in Eileen and Roberts house - that we decided to stay in Ellies this time. It was lovely to meet with these fabulous hosts again. They showered us with treats and showed us around the house which had everything a body would need for a time away. We marvelled at Robert's skills in creating divine furniture out of wood. What I loved most about the cottage was that it had - not one fire but two. It was so unique to have a fire in the kitchen but it kept the frenchie busy. Even though it was December, we enjoyed our whole trip - we went in to our favourite town - which is very enterprising and lively to visit the French Bakers - the frenchie had a field day explaining all about the lovely pastries which gave me an excuse to sample loads. We went to Dunquininch Park which has a beautiful waterfall and lakes and lots of sheepies wandering about. We visited Eyeiris and Allihies, one as beautiful as the other and had a lovely meal in O'Neills pub in Allihies. The Healy Pass is so spectacular and the scenery with the different colours and textures of bracken and ferns had us spellbound. The roads were empty of cars and we felt we had the place to ourselves. We explored the "Dog Caves" and just motored around stopping at different piers and beaches along the way - glad to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It was great then to come back to a fire in the grate and with homemade chowder in our bellies, we just relaxed and enjoyed the peace. We were sad to leave the place and also sad to leave Eileen and Robert. Until the next time - wishing you two all the best and we appreciate your wonderful welcome and friendliness. Margaret and Didier

Date of stay: December 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2020
Hello Margaret and Didier. Thank you so much for your beautiful review. Of course it was so wonderful to see you both again and to have a very enjoyable evening with you both. We must thank you too for the best bottle of red wine that you left for us. We did not have one as good for a long time. Until we meet again best wishes always. Eileen and Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tagtonlis...
1 review
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2019 for a stay in November 2019

What a pleasant stay we had at the cottage of Eileen and Robert. Both very warm and friendly people who made us feel very welcome. Everything we needed was inside and even 2 cosy fireplaces! Highlight of our vacation. We hope to come back sometime.

Date of stay: November 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review and your wonderful note in my guestbook. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to welcome you back again. Best wishes always. Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
48carolin...
Landshipping, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Beara”
Reviewed 14 October 2019 for a stay in October 2019

An extremely well equipped cottage in a fab location to explore some of Ireland's best kept secrets! Eileen and Robert are brilliant hosts who have unbridled knowledge of the area (they owned the local shop for 30 something years!) and go above and beyond to welcome you to their property. Would stay here again in a heartbeat, huge thanks again to a wonderful couple! Book now, you won't be disappointed!

Date of stay: October 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2019
Hello Caroline . Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here in beara. We are glad you had a comfortable stay in the cottage. We hope your project is coming along nicely. We hope to meet you again. Best wishes always. Eileen and Robert..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maireadob...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 21 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Jim and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Kerry in Eileen and Roberts beautiful cottage on the picturesque Beara peninsula.
The cottage has all the facilities to make your stay warm,clean, comfortable and very enjoyable. We had peace and quiet, stunning views and more food than we should have eaten ( sure what a holidays for ? )
Every walk and drive we took around Cork and Kerry was breathtaking. I will never forget my stay here in Ellies cottage. It was heaven. Thank you again Eileen and Robert for all your kindness

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2018
Hi Mairead and Jim. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your time here on the beara peninsula. Best wishes always. Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.