We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Allison H
Aldergrove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 17 February 2019 for a stay in February 2019
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second time staying in the Old Pub Cottage and it did not disappoint. Eileen and Robert are fabulous hosts who go above and beyond to make sure their guests are comfortable and well looked after. The cottage itself is full of rustic character and is wonderfully secluded. We made a couple of trips out but spent most of our week in front of the roaring fire reading. The direct scenery is fantastic and no matter what the weather is like there is always something to look at. It really is somewhere the doctor should prescribe once a year for everyone. Eileen and Robert thank you both again, we will be back!

Date of stay: February 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2019
Hello Allison and Paul. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your second visit so much. We were so happy that you returned to enjoy the cottage and the beara once again.thank you so much for your lovely review and also your note in my guestbook. Kind regards Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneG46...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a stunning surroundings and fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 29 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived after a 7 hours drive and encountered a very warm welcome; stove burning, tea, and a waterfall of words and information from the very enthusiatic Eileen and Robert. We felt at home right away. The location is wonderful. A great place to stay for a short or longer retreat to read, write. Or use as home base for a couple of days of hiking. Which we did. It is a lovely place to come home to. And from there there is so much to explore. We were there for three full days and we haven't seen all of the beautful Beara Peninsula. So we have to come back. Eileen and Robert are lovely people and it's a joy to see their happiness with each other and with every guest. And I forgot my charger with cables and she just posted it to me, free of charge. So sweet. Thanks to Eileen and Robert, and we admit that the weather (sun and blue skies all days) contributed as well, we have built an ever lasting memory.

Date of stay: October 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2018
Hello Dianne. We are absolutely delighted with your beautiful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us in the cottage and that you enjoyed the beara peninsula as well. And yes the great weather certainly helps too. Best wishes always Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
121sara
belfast
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“tranquil and beautiful”
Reviewed 6 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Loved location. Real authentic Irish cottage. Laid back and relaxed. Everything you needed to make stay comfortable. Log fire, heaters, washer dryers etc. Fantastic hosts, really helpful and welcoming. Thanks for directing us on our way home to take healy pass, the beauty was outstanding. We will be back. Thanks once again

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2018
Hello Sara and Garry. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we would love to see you again. Best wishes always Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trip76406...
1 review
“Absolutly wonderful!”
Reviewed 3 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

The Old Pub Cottage is brilliantly located and beautifully done. We found it to be warm, cozy and a comforting place to come home to after long days of exploring the Beara Peninsula and surrounding region.
Eileen and Robert were wonderful hosts, very kind, informative and cared very much that your stay would be as comfortable as possible.

Date of stay: September 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2018
Hello Mariana. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here. We wish you all the best. Kind regards Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L
1 review
“Old Pub Cottage, Lauragh”
Reviewed 24 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We had a fantastic holiday to the Beara penisula, and the Old Pub Cottage was the perfect place to stay in order to discover the surounding area. The cottage itself was full of character and was lovely especially when the fire was going at night. We were overwhelmed by Eileen and Robert's hospitality and we're made to feel very welcome and at home. They gave us great advice about where to visit and left alot of books and leaflets with information regarding the Beara penisula and other sorounding penisulas. This meant We were in a position where We always had something to do and wish we had more time to see even more. We both thoroughly enjoyed our visit and stay at the Old Pub Cottage and would recommend it to anyone who would like to experience or explore the south west coastline of Ireland. We would both love to go back one day. Thank you very much Eileen and Robert for looking after us during our stay and ensuring we had such a good holiday, from Peter and Megan.

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2018
Hello Peter and megan.we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us in the cottage. We thank you so much for your lovely review and your note in my guestbook.we hope you have many happy memories of your time here in the beara peninsula. Kind regards Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.