We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy traditional cottage with stunning views.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Ladyqashq...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy traditional cottage with stunning views.”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cottage was the perfect place for me and my husband to spend time away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. The location was ideal to explore the ring of Beara.
The owners Eileen and Robert very warmly welcomed us when we arrived. They gave us lots of information on the places to visit and restaurants we could try. Eileen and Robert made sure the cottage had all the essential items to make us feel at home.
We loved the evenings sitting in front of the wood burner and the afternoon teas we had in the front garden admiring the mountain views.
There's a few places nearby which must be visited. Healey pass by car or bike, Glenichiquin Park and Derren Gardens.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thank you both so much for your lovely review of our cottage. We were delighted to have you stay with us here in the beara peninsula. Glad you had some good weather too as it makes all the difference for exploring the area. Best wishes always. Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A treasure in Beara!”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Old Pub Cottage is full of character and you really have to see it to discover what an amazing treasure it is. Thank you so much Eileen and Robert for you kind hospitality and thoughtfulness. The cottage has been restored with such care, love and attention. It was relaxing, cosy and so clean. We loved sitting by the log stove at night and looking out at the amazing mountains.. a view to be appreciated and admired. The cottage is a perfect location to explore Beara Pennuilsa. Pet friendly our our little Westie loved her stay at the cottage and her adventures. It felt like home from home and so tranquil. Highly recommended and really it's impossible to fault. We will be back again, that's for sure!

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Hi Anne Charlie and the lovely little dog. Thank you so much for your lovely review on trip advisor for your stay with us here. We were delighted to have you stay and glad you enjoyed the area. Hopefully we will meet you both again soon. Best wishes always. From eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happiness...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter in Lauragh”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Pub Cottage is a perfect little Irish cottage, nestled in the high mountains of Lauragh, with beautiful mountain views, and hill walks within easy reach. Eileen & Robert made me feel v welcome, with a blazing fire in the stove, and a fresh pot of tea. They also left lovely gifts of wine & treats for me and my little dog, v thoughtful.
Lauragh is an ideal location for exploring the Beara peninsula, and a good launch pad to head further into Kerry and explore the Iveagh peninsula or Sheeps Head.
It was lovely and peaceful and private, lots of birdsong, and the chorus of new lambs bleating across the hills. I had a lovely time, and Eileen & Robert have restored their old family home with love and care and craft.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Hi Bridget. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would be delighted to have you back anytime. Best wishes always. From eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most beautiful cottage in County Kerry”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Old Pub Cottage is an original old pub from the 1700s that has been beautifully restored by Robert and Eileen. The location is divine and the scenery magical. Robert and Eileen are the perfect hosts. They had the fire going and a lovely cup of tea ready for when we arrived. They provided wonderful advice on the local area and knew all the best places to visit.
The Beare penninsula is magnificent and we spent 3 days visiting the Ring of Beara and the remaining time visiting local villages.
I highly recommend Old Pub Cottage to anyone who want to visit the Real Ireland and the Beara Penninsula is an experience not to be missed.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Hello Lisa. Thank you so much for your beautiful review. We were delighted to have you stay with us here. We hope you got home safe. Best wishes always. Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FM H
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, very comfortable cottage in beautiful surroundings with warm welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the cottage, that was cozy welcoming and had everything we needed. The welcome was exceptional. Eileen and Robert did everything to make us feel comfortable, with a warm fire going on arrival, with a nice cup of tea and goodies. Even a bottle of wine! Seldom did we see such welcome. The cottage is in beautiful surroundings, it is quiet, but enough to do nearby. We were with a couple and a friend. We can recommend this lovely cottage for anyone wanting to get to know the Irish Atlantic Coast. Eileen and Robert also provided us with information and tips on what to do. In one word, wonderful

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Hello flora . We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay in the cottage.we hope you will have fond memories of your time here when you open the 84 map and think of us. Kind regards. Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.