We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy, very comfortable cottage in beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

FM H
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, very comfortable cottage in beautiful surroundings with warm welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the cottage, that was cozy welcoming and had everything we needed. The welcome was exceptional. Eileen and Robert did everything to make us feel comfortable, with a warm fire going on arrival, with a nice cup of tea and goodies. Even a bottle of wine! Seldom did we see such welcome. The cottage is in beautiful surroundings, it is quiet, but enough to do nearby. We were with a couple and a friend. We can recommend this lovely cottage for anyone wanting to get to know the Irish Atlantic Coast. Eileen and Robert also provided us with information and tips on what to do. In one word, wonderful

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Hello flora . We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay in the cottage.we hope you will have fond memories of your time here when you open the 84 map and think of us. Kind regards. Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oljaume
Montpellier, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great week in beara peninsula”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week in The Old Pub cottage. Thanks a lot to Eilleen and Robert for their warm welcome and their kindness. The cottage is nice to live in, very quiet and very well equipped. We stayed in the beara peninsula all the week. A lot things to do and to visit : in particular, we were impressed by the beautiful scenery at the Dursley Island and the EWE sculpture garden between Kenmare and Glengarriff. Olivier, Lysiane and Timothée.

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Hello Olivier Lysiane and timothee. We are delighted you enjoyed your time here with us on the beara peninsula. We hope timothee is still enjoying his lamb from his trip here. Thank you all again for choosing our cottage. From eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarch18
1 review
“Really restful visit”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely stay in Eileen and Robert's cottage. The inside was very cosy while there was a sunny external dining space overlooking the valley-since the weather was so nice we had most of our meals out here. Eileen also provided a high chair and travel cot for our one year old. We cycled around the nearby lakes and coastline with bikes from Pedals and Boots which was about a mile and a half away (which also does nice coffee and carrot cake). Would recommend for anyone looking for peace, quiet and beautiful scenery-Looking forward to our next visit to the Beara Peninsula!

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Dear Simon.thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed cycling around the area as you always get the best views when you go off the main roads. Thanks again. Eileen and Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoph...
Lindenberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely and cozy”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a heartwarming welcome by the owners Eileen and Robert with Tea and fire in the oven, fresh flowers and on the beds we were surprised by gifts. This was a very good start for our stay. The house is lovely, cozy and beautifully restored. It is also very well equipped and clean. We enjoyed every day in the cottage. The location in the middle of beara peninsula is practically for trips in all directions. We surely will come back.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die liebevolle Ausstattung
Liked least: Uns persönlich waren die Betten etwas zu hart
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Hello Christoph and jutta. Thank you both for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and we enjoyed the times you came and chatted with us .we would love to welcome you another time. Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GercoHidd...
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely house, wonderful area and... great weather!”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

As is mentioned often before, the house is lovely, cozy and beautifully restored. It is also very well equipped, clean and, on top of that, the welcome by Eileen and Robert was heartwarming, with all the attentive gifts. We loved the Beara Peninsula, it is quiet and there are many places to explore. We had the unbelievable luck that it was hot and dry for a week, it felt more like we were in Italy than in Ireland. We did quite a few beautiful hikes, often along the coast and preferably ending at a spot where we could put our feet in the water or even swim (Glanmore lake, Allihies, Eyeries, ...). We don't know what the house is like when the weather is wet and cold (which is not uncommon for Lauragh), but there's always the possibility to light a fire in the house + electrical heating, Thank you Eileen and Robert for a great week!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: It is not so easy to directly start walking from the house, you always have to drive a little. But no problem.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.