We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic, lovely memories”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Ien H
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic, lovely memories”
Reviewed 15 August 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Colette is a fantastic host, the cottage felt like a home coming. The views were stunning, we had a perfect holiday!
Colette, again our thanks for all!

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ien H
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ever!”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, lovely welcome!
Colette is a great host!
The views...spectaculair!
Really really recommended!

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eliotl641
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hilltop cottage - our new happy place!”
Reviewed 18 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Hilltop Cottage!

We flew in to Cork airport and enjoyed the drive via Macroom and Kenmare to Lauragh – our love of the landscape growing as the lakes and mountains revealed themselves. The real treat however was the view from Hilltop across to the Kerry peninsula. It was a living canvas that kept changing throughout the week (indeed the days) as the weather and the light changed.

Our 4 year old daughter especially loved the simple pleasures on offer – helping to collect the eggs and feed the chickens, walking the dogs down to Collorus harbour, and chasing rabbits in the field in front of the cottage.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week exploring Beara. Highlights were Derreen Gardens (the planting and hunting for the fairy houses!), the stone circles at Ardgroom and Cashelkelty, supper at Josie’s lake view restaurant (and what a view it is!), a riverside walk at Glengariff and the view from the café at the Buddhist centre near Castletownbere.

And finally, Colette the owner – a highlight in herself. As other reviewers have mentioned, she was warm and welcoming, very generous sharing her eggs, jam and dogs(!), and at the same time respected our holiday privacy.

We loved this holiday. It is our new happy place.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
1 review
“Beauty and hospitality”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A fine location, with a view commanding the little peninsular and the Ring of Kerry opposite. Colette was extremely welcoming and provided excellent advice on the area. She was next door but knew how not to be intrusive. Her jam, baking and fresh vegetables are highly recommended. This is a wonderful area off the main tourist track.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickAn...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful location ”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here. A first-class view from a wonderfully restored and comfortable house. Colette was charming and very helpful. We loved this place and would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.