We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
373
38
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
38
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la sala manager james pool shared his team beach pavilion private sala low tide mass tourism monitor lizards pickup truck small paradise small hotel love nature relaxing days natural environment the general manager fresh seafood
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2017

The resort is really wonderful place. No just because of the great desing of our Villa Yanat and whole resort (no one detail was forgotten). We really loved how George together with James respect nature and people around the resort. Cuisine is great, wine is good and expensive, however the cheapest compare to ones we have found in nearby restaurants :-).
Special thanks to James who was very carefull after my husband had small accident on the scooter. Everything was perfect and we plan to come back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBPavilions, General Manager at Koyao Bay Pavilions, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Hello Jana G,

I am really happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us here and thank you for your kind comments.

You are very welcome and I do hope that your husband is recovering well from his small accident. I am glad I could have helped him a little.

As you mentioned the nature, the cuisine, theses are among the most important parts of our resort to us too, so I am happy you seen and tasted the difference to other places.

Unfortunately, yes the wine is pretty expensive, due to the very high tax bracket is falls under. As you mentioned though, we do keep our prices down as much as we can and compared to others are very fair.

When you plan to come back, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, as it would be my pleasure to help organize this for you again.

Until then take care and all the best.
Sending my love to your beautiful family.

Kind regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Everything about our 4 night stay was fabulous. James is such a nice man and will do anything to make your stay comfortable and makes you feel very welcome. Our transfer from Phuket was perfect and we arrived on the beach by the resort (depends on the tides so check). Transfer over to Railay was even better as we combined it with a tour of the bay and hongs!

4 adults stayed in Taara villa which shares the pool with Champu and is about 5 minutes up the track from the beach and restaurant. Villa is gorgeous and very spacious. It is open in parts so you will see wildlife! We loved this and took lots of photos of our house guests (tree frogs in the lamp, mantis on the stairs, geckos everywhere including the big tokays, monitors, bats and lots of birds, including the spectacular hornbills). Such a lovely setting. We did have children staying next door in the pool so it's not completely private but it was OK as they were quite well behaved!

The villa has everything you need, except if I am going to criticise anything at all then it would be that it would be good to have a mirror in the bedroom as there was only one in the bathroom, which made it difficult (and hot) to get ready while your other half was in the shower! We loved the beanbags and chill out space, perfect for a glass of wine in the evening.

The food and drink in the restaurant are expensive for Thai standards (wine starts at around £30 per bottle - 1200 Baht) but the food was very good (people come here just to have a lovely evening out). Alcohol was not readily available in the shops on the island. If we had known this we would have brought our own supplies from Phuket! The wine was very good though. We loved the little walkway that goes over the paddy fields to a cosy area with chairs and a hammock.

The beach was wonderful and sunrise spectacular. The tides go out a long way so swimming is only possible at higher tides, and James provides the tide times for you. The sea is not clear so don't expect to be snorkelling. It's great for a swim though, and the beach is good for strolling up and down taking in the scenery. It's a nice walk up the track to the main road which takes about 15 minutes, where there are a couple of restaurants and a dive shop. We would have liked to have had bikes as the roads around the island are so sleepy and scenic but these were out of action when we were there, so we hired a jeep instead!

We would definitely like to come back here. James and his lovely family (including his new puppy) are genuine, friendly people and are a pleasure to be around. We'd love to come back to see how big Valentine has got!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank EssJayWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBPavilions, General Manager at Koyao Bay Pavilions, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

@EssJayWhy, wow, what a nice comment. Thank you for your lovely words. It was nice to meet you and my family enjoyed to meet you too.

We are so happy to read how much you have enjoyed yourself here as it always a pleasure pass your comments onto the staff too.

I took Valentine for his first vaccinations and deworming yesterday at the vet. All is good an he is fit and healthy.

I'm sure he will be getting a lot bigger when you come back again! :-)

I wish you a pleasant 2017 and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best wishes,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

This must be the definition of paradise! Half moon golden crescent deserted beach and lovely gardens. It is well off the beaten track and they do not even have signs showing you where it is so you need guidance to get there (even our local driver got it wrong).

But once your are there you will not want to leave! James and his staff takes care of you like you were family. The beach suites are the best. Big, airy and with amazing sea views.

There is a nice 45 min walk you can do in the morning or afternoon if you feel like moving a bit between meals.

Me and my wife usually never go back to the same place twice but this was so good that we will make an exception and plan to return.

Bring shoes that are good for swimming though since there are rocks beneath the water.

Room Tip: Beach suites are the best
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FredrikWBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBPavilions, General Manager at Koyao Bay Pavilions, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

"Some of our Best Guests Ever!" :-)

Thank you @FredrikWBU for your lovely comment. As always (with the nice reviews) it is very nice to read your words and it makes us happy to know that you had such a great time with your expectations being achieved and hopefully more.

As you mentioned you would like to return, this is great news and please do be in touch regarding your plans so that I can help in anyway possibly needed to organize this for you.

I hope you have made it home safely and the weather wasn't to much of a shock to the system! As it just seems to be getting hotter and hotter here everyday.

So thanks again and until I hear from you again, please take care and I wish you a pleasant and prosperous 2017.

All the best from everyone here at Koyao Bay Pavilions.

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Just everything is exceptional, the wellcome, the villas, the gardens, the restaurant the beach..... you feel like in paradise, alone on the world....but dont tell it to anyone.....should remain a secret place...

Room Tip: All villlas are beautiful....
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBPavilions, General Manager at Koyao Bay Pavilions, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Thank you Dieter K for your short but sweet comment, nailing the points we try to express to our future guests and of course the points that our many returning guests enjoy and know well already.

I am very much looking forward to welcoming you back this coming year.

Take care and best wishes,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Beautiful private villa - peaceful and quiet.
Big private pool to swim in - all to ourselves.
If you want to get away from it all this is the place to be or you could have a great family reunion with more than one villa. So close to many of Thailand's best swimming, diving and beautiful islands. Hire your own Longtail boat with a local boat owner and explore the surrounding area while staying far away from the busy day trippers.
Amazing food and charming manager who was very friendly and welcoming. This property is about quality, getting away from all the busy and tourist packed islands and having luxurious accommodation homemade food which is very good and switching off.

Room Tip: Unique villas - all good no matter which one you choose
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mrscapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBPavilions, Guest Relations Manager at Koyao Bay Pavilions, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments, as always they are a pleasure to read and it always nice to pass them onto the staff.

Should you ever wish to come back, please do not hesitate to contact us directly as it is our pleasure to help organise your perfect holidays.

Best wishes,

Your KBP team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews