We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Recently had our 9th stay at this wonderful hotel, it may not be 5*, but the staff & it's location on Watamu beach are superb.It was 4 years since our last stay, but the welcome we got from all the staff was truly amazing - they are like family, I couldn't possibly single out one member of staff, as they are all superb. You may have read that the hotel has a high percentage of repeat guests, many of whom stay for an average of 5 weeks, do not be put off by this, you may find it a little daunting to start with, but if you are a first time guest you will be treated exactly the same as if you are on your 100th stay!
Be prepared for the 2 hour journey from Mombasa airport & use it to familiar yourselves with all things Kenyan, from sisal plantations to the young children walking themselves to school.
On arrival at the hotel, apart from the warm welcome you will receive, check in is swift, with a cooling drink & you will soon be in your room, unpacked & lying on the beach!
The rooms are all good, with hairdryer, air con, tea making facilities & toiletries, a little basic yes and maybe the bathrooms are in need of a refurb, but they have all you need, who wants to stay in their room when you have an amazing beach to relax on.
Most meals are served buffet style overlooking the main pool, however both the pizzeria & Blue Turtle restaurants offer a welcome change & amazing food, make sure you have the lobster!
Do not worry about taking a walk on the beach, the beach boys are all friendly & of course will want to sell you a trip or some kind of souvenir, but, if you are not interested, a polite no is sufficient & they are just happy to chat and walk alongside. Borrow a bike from the hotel & take a ride into the village & soak up every day Kenyan life.
I would only have one word of advice to management after this visit & that would be that several of the public areas could do with a bit of a 'spruce up' & a lick of paint & also the bathrooms in the Lamu blocks are beginning to look a little outdated.
But don't be put off by this - if you are thinking of visiting Kenya for the first time & stay at this hotel you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenyazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 472 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel is highly recommended. The rooms are very comfortable, the food fantastic, with so many choices at every meal. The staff are friendly and very efficient. Everything works! Our holiday there was completely stress-free - exactly what we needed!! Well done and thank you to Damian and his team. We will most definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

everything you could want, ok it's not 5* but its comfortable and has everything you could want. many guests were repeat visitors and i will probably return also. I would feel safe as a female on my own, and the biys on the beach are perfectly reliable (daniel and lucas looked after me and my friends for a safari, snorkelling and just general info). some days service was impecable, other days they seemed a bit stretched, but always good. tusker draft part of all inclusive, as is sparkling wine, and usual spirits (vodka, gin etc).

Room Tip: lamu and beach rooms are quieter and obviously closer to the beach. try and avoid going when a confe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marshymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Just returned from an amazing two week holiday at TBBC. Do not be put off by the comments about returning guests, the general atmosphere at TBBC is that whether you are new or returning you are part of a family.
Beach beds are reserved but I moved around the beach and didn't get comments or stares as mentioned by a previous reviewer.The food in the restaurant is varied for Kenya - you won't get the same variety as Mexico. I always found something really good to eat and there is always the pizza restaurant when you fancy a change. The staff really make this hotel special, they are friendly, smiling and always ready to make your holiday amazing. James at the Weaver bar, Samson in the pizza restaurant, there are too many great people to mention.
I've dived all over the world and the dive staff are the best I've come across with their care and attention to detail again they can't do enough for you. Visibility wasn't brilliant but the fish life was varied and the corals were good.
One final point try and head to Watamu its a short walk down the beach once there look out for a small Italian ice cream shop which sells every variety of ice cream there is and well worth a visit.
I booked the safari through Thompsons although I do think that if you book through the beach boys or in the village you will be OK. Our rep Victor couldn't do enough for us and the tented safari was just what we were looking for especially as there were no fences and during the night we had an elephant straight outside the tent.
All in all a great holiday and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ange0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed here from 14-28th Dec 2012.
Hotel is lovely, facilities are good and the rooms are clean and tidy. The biggest asset are the staff, they are so friendly and happy and really make you feel welcome. We would return back if only to see some friendly faces again (Alex in the restaurant, Ratibu, Khamish, Michael, Harrah...)

We would have loved a fridge in our room (to soothe the sunburn!) but this is just us being picky. The food is nice although a little restrictive for vegetarians in terms of variety.

The hotel try their best to make it an enjoyable holiday.
We were happy with our stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms around the adult pool are quieter than near Reception/main pool. The main pool is where the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tootsymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
5.4 km away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.6 km away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
199 reviews
4.7 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
43 reviews
0.2 km away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#4 of 26 in Watamu
357 reviews
9.8 km away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Watamu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: €139 - €322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing