We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Family Vacation in Kenya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This is by far our favorite family destination along the Kenya Coast. In particular, we love the following things about Turtle Bay:

1. Lots of things for kids to do to keep them busy and let the parents have some time to relax;

2. Movies for kids during PM meal so that parents can have a nice quiet meal to themselves;

3. Great Indian buffet on Sunday afternoon;

4. You can get as much food and drink as you can handle all day long;

5. Nice pools good for kids and adults;

6. Very friendly staff, especially those working with children;

7. Interesting variety of evening entertainment;

8. Nice meals.

Some of the drawbacks (which I don't think are a major deterrent, if you're looking for a fun family vacation):

1. Buffet-style meals, with limited variety;

2. Lots of kids (which could be a pain for adults who are looking for quiet time);

3. Beach is not groomed like in other coastal areas, so lots of seaweed at certain times.

Here are a few things off-site that you should make sure to do while you're at Turtle Bay:

1. Go across the street to the little shops. There are some nice craft stores with decent prices;

2. Walk a short ways down the road toward Watamu town. There is a sandal maker that requires only a few days to make custom sandals, if he doesn't have your size in stock.

3. Get a lift to the snake farm. It's an unbelievable experience, even if you don't like snakes.

Room Tip: If you have children, request interconnecting rooms near the tennis courts so that you are FAR from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timoteyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 498 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

we went to Kenya on the 9 Nov 2012 staying in the Turtle bay beach hotel .when we arrived at the hotel . we were greeted with a warm welcome by the staff. After a long journey it made us feel refreshed and relaxed. a welcome drink and cool face cloth with eyculytus oils. we filled in check in forms and did not have to wait in queue. the hotel it self is right on the beach with beautiful views of the Indian Ocean.We were on the ground floor walked out on to the beach. The staff were friendly and catered to all our needs they made sure you had plenty drinks durning the day and night .Our towels were laid out on our sunbeds every day for us. The food was amazing as the menu was different every day. plenty choice for vegetarians their chocolate truffles are to die for .I wanted to take the chef home with me .L.O.L. .We think the hotel deserves to be five stars. The staff work really hard and are a credit to the hotel. thank you for a wonderful time we had. we cant wait to go back. Moira and Jim Perth. Scotland.

Room Tip: go for the superior room for the amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moirahutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This was our 7th trip to Turtle Bay and again I cannot fault it. The staff as usual make it what it is they work very hard and keep the guests happy. Its been said before but its true nothing is too much trouble.
The downside was what happened to the little shops on the beach, some might say they were an eyesore but the guys & girls there are only trying to make a living. They do not hassle anyone, are friendly and polite, I love nothing better than to go and see them for a chat, they know I do my shopping with them at the end of my holiday. I like to feel we all come away having learnt much from each other. The only ones that hassle are the ones that are not meant to be there. I was there one day when 3 women walked past, when they were told they were welcome they just walked past without a word, a look or even just a no thank you. Now who's being rude.? I support them because they are good people.One thing I do have to say is the security at Mombasa airport is over the top, we spent an hour and a half just queued up to check in, when we finally got checked in and gone through more scans our flight was being called leaving no time for duty free shopping. Please something needs to be done about this, I know its important but bags xrayed 3 times and then hand searched after that is too much. Please Mombasa sort yourselves out. What about the elderly, the disabled and the very young?

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celianeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed at Turtle Bay in August 2012 but I have been meaning to write this review since. The hotel has really pleasant and accommodating staff who go out of their way to assist you. The rooms are lovely!! Room number 33, Ocean Facing is probably the best. There's plenty to do also around the beach or you could just idle around the pool. They have a quite pool for those who like some time away from the crowd. The food was also very lovely. All day long. You'll be spoilt for choice. I would go back again anytime. Thank you TBBC!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

We arrived back from TBBC on 17 Nov after having the best 2 week holiday for many years. We went with some friends 2 of whom had been to TBBC several times before. I can see why they love to go back again and again. The staff are fantastic so helpful and friendly. By the time we left some of them felt like an extended family. The food too, is delicious, and plenty of it. We had a 3 day safari on the maasi Mara which was also amazing. We booked with Abdul who he gave us a very good deal and the whole experience was wonderful. We are looking forward to going back next November as we are well and truly hooked.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
5.4 km away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.6 km away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
199 reviews
4.7 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#7 of 26 in Watamu
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
43 reviews
0.2 km away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#3 of 26 in Watamu
357 reviews
9.8 km away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Watamu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: €138 - €322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing