We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Budget Accommodation Near Watamu Beach”

Review of Giriama Residence

Beautiful Giriama Residence
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Giriama Residence
Recommended by tripadvisor Reception
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Beautiful Giriama Residence
Recommended by tripadvisor
Reception
Main Gate
Welcome All
Comfortable breezy verandas
Spacious Double Room
Hand carved beds
Downstairs Double Room
Family Room
Self Catering Apartment
Self Catering Apartment
Self Catering Apartment
Well equiped Communial kitchen
Shady Gardens
Relax in the sun
Relax in the sun
Beautiful Gardens
Close by Beach Bars
Unspoiled beach
Unspoiled beach
Unspoiled beach
Stunning Beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Watamu, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
DessyP890
Middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Budget Accommodation Near Watamu Beach”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Tthe facilities at this hotel were pretty basic but it suited me as a solo traveller to stay here for three weeks on a self catering basis because it was reasonably priced. I liked the design of the building, the beautiful garden with a large variety of plants and the fact that it was only a five minute walk to the beach. Although the kitchen is dated and needed a good clean on arrival, this was carried out by one member of the staff (thanks Christopher) to a higher standard immediately. Showing a great interest in each guest, he ensured that we were happy with the cleanliness of rooms etc and performed his duties in an exemplory fashion. The glory days of this establishment may be over (it used to have a restaurant) but the rooms are comfortable and adequate and I would recommend it to the low budget traveller.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKenyanTr...
Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most amazing week of our lives !!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We arrived for a week stay with several friends. Staff and owner/host Linda are super hospitable, privacy and guest comfort is unrivalled and we are heading for a return visit in January ! The beach is bare metres from the front door and all our needs were perfectly met. No matter what else you do when at the Kenyan Coast, spare a few days to stay at the Giriama Residence, it will be the most memorable part of your holiday! Great for 2, 4 or 6 guests at a go and amazingly pocket friendly. Really, I cannot recommend this highly enough. Just book a room or two, kick back on the lovely seats on the balcony and when you feel the Watamu breeze wafting around you...you'll get it. Enjoy !!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeepaSoms...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful home..away from home :)”
Reviewed 14 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed for a couple of days at Giriama residence and we simply loved it!! The rooms are spacious with a very nice sit-out area, where we enjoyed the cool breeze and had our dinner under the stars. It is just a 2 mins walk to the Watamu beach and 15 mins ride to Gedi ruins. The staff took very good care of us and we were given the option to either cook or order for food. We chose the 1st option and felt absolutely safe when we went out in the dark to the beach or grocery shopping to Mama Lucy's supermarket. While you stay here, there are many activities to choose from...snorkelling at Watamu marine national park, canoeing at Mida creek, visit the turtle rehabilitation centre, shop for handicrafts or paintings. For pet-lovers, there are some really friendly dogs and a cat here.
We would highly recommend a stay at Giriama residence for a cozy stay and we plan to visit them for atleast a week next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything: service, location, price
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenOff
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is a dream!”
Reviewed 23 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

I recommend Watamu and Giriama Residence to all travellers!
I spent a hole week here but it isn't enough for such beautiful place as Watamu. There are very good beaches with white sand and light blue water. It is the best place for relax!
Giriama Residence is small and quiet guest house with cosy rooms. The staff is helpful and accommodating. After my holiday here, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uganda
Reviewed 28 July 2011 for a stay in March 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$35
/
Night
Month
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing