We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”

Osteria Trattoria Da Alfreda
Ranked #16 of 48 Restaurants in Tuscania
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Ive tried many of the restaurants in the historic centre, for me, Alfreda's is the real deal: authentic Italian food, served unpretentiously, at a great price. The atmosphere is so special, eating alfresco under the canopy of trees, and right next to the beautiful park.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank liamthebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

The tables outside the veranda face a stunning view Tuscania which increase the pleasure of enjoying such amazing food, which is very simple but with a deep and long laasting flavour reminding you of such amazing land and its products. We had tagliatelle with wild boar sauce, trippa and beans as side dish. Wonderful home-made red wine and bread. Please go there, greet the old lady who's the sweetest grandma all of us wish to have, and let her drive through the menu.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alessandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015

Very simple and traditional food. The food is almost like my gran mother used to make. Thaugh is not handmade pasta is not industrial either and very nice. I suggest ombrichelli cacio e pepe and trippa.

Date of visit: January 2015
Thank FedericoD1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

There is no menu to speak of- the old lady who runs the place rattles off a few dishes, 3 pastas, 3 secondi, and 3 contorni, and that's it. The food is hearty, simple, and good- real Italian (or rather, Roman) homestyle cooking.

The prices are low, and the setting, outside with a view of the tower and the park is great. For a more fancy experience, the son of the lady runs a restaurant upstairs which offers a more sophisticated dining experience.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hello_Bamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Friends who lived in Viterbo recommended we went to Alfreda before anywhere else in Tuscania, so that's what we did. I think it was quite the experience for my Irish husband and English friends!
There is a limited selection of traditional, homecooked dishes and no menu to speak of, you just ask the lady. Lady who by the way was looking after all the tables under the pergola on her own!
The food was tasty and just like eating at home.
The bill came at €37 for 4 pastas, 2 66cl bottles of beer and 2 bottles of water. So on top of being an authentic trattoria experience, it was also incredibly good value!
The setting, by Torre di Lavello, was amazing too. I would definitely recommend it.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marla7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Trattoria Da Alfreda also viewed

Tuscania, Province of Viterbo
 
Tuscania, Province of Viterbo
Tuscania, Province of Viterbo
 
Tuscania, Province of Viterbo
Tuscania, Province of Viterbo
 

Been to Osteria Trattoria Da Alfreda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing