We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Birchdale House(Rathdrum)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coolalingo B&B(Rathdrum)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
160
29
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
29
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfasts were excellentbed and breakfastwicklow mountainsbeautiful gemsmall groceryfull irishgreat stopopen fireireland tripvery comfortable roomsitting areastayed two nightsone night staydaphnepataccommodationhazelnut
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017

This is a very well kept b&b. We were travelling with our three teenagers so had two rooms - each was decorated nicely with renovated bathrooms. Everything was perfect. The surprise was the garden out back! We also loved the guest sitting room. Our family voted the breakfast the best we had on our whole trip (and we stayed at 10 b&b's!). Thanks Daphne! The town is very small and a bit rundown but my husband and I did find a nice lively pub down the street to unwind in. Great stop!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Skiers05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Our room was bright and lovely with a comfy bed and nice bathroom. It did face the main street so early in the evening it was a little noisy but it was not a problem at bedtime. The garden is lovely and breakfast was cooked to perfection. Daphne, the host, was wonderful. Lots of great suggestions for what not to miss. Parking is street parking and plentiful. Rathdrum was a great base for touring the area. We would definitely stay at this lovely b&b again.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers ask for a room that doesn't face the street.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmoore2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

I don't a lot of travelling and I have to say this was one of the best b&bs I have stayed in , it was beautiful and clean and the rooms were amazing . Daphne very friendly and welcoming . very relaxed atmosphere and lovely garden and sitting area to relax in . the breakfast was very nice and had little homely touches to it which I taught was lovely . great value too

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sue f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We were visiting relatives in Rathdrum. Our cousins recommended Daphne's Stirabout Lane and we are sure glad they did. This is the loveliest, most charming B&B we've ever stayed in. Daphne has thought of every detail! The beds were comfortable and the bathroom quite elegant. Every detail is attended to. Even at breakfast - I ordered soft boiled eggs with soldiers. Daphne must have a cookie cutter to press the image of actual soldiers into the toast. So adorable. Wicklow is a beautiful County and staying at Stirabout makes it even better!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joangosewisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

It was amazing. Daphne - the owner - is such a lovely and kind person. The house is full of lovely details, good beds, nice rooms, great breakfast! She gave us good hints what to visit, we got a map from the the thinks to see around Rathdrum. We stayed there on a weekend and its next to one of the main streets and some pubs...so it was a bit loud sometimes.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Deutsche Telekom
Thank Z8716VMalexandrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews