We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stirabout Lane Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Rathdrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Not much I can add to the already glowing reports other than to ditto the comments! We stayed in almost 20 different BandBs during a month long trip to Ireland and this was among the most charming. Although there was only two of us, we were given a room with 3 beds (felt like goldilocks!) in a large room facing the back (very quiet) The bed was so comfy with lovely linens. Breakfast was made to order and first time I was offered French toast so it was a real treat. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room facing back is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2016

We are a family with two young children. In July 2016 we stayed in this bed & breakfast for 3 nights. The b&b is situated in the centre of Rathdrum, and ideal to visit places like Glendalough, the military road an the coast (e.g. Brittas Bay). It has nice and quiet rooms (no luxury) and a great breakfast. But above all the host and hostess of this b&b are really wonderfull. They give advice for places to visit, helped us to park the car (not so easy to do it ourself) and always in for a chat. If you are looking for a nice place to stay in Wicklow this is what you're looking for.

Room Tip: We liked the family room. It has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StevenBruges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This is really the best place to stay in this area. The hospitality is grand and the daily breakfast is superb and cooked to order. It is apparent that the owners take great pride in their B&B. The decor for each room is unique and comfortable and it is clear that care has been taken in each choice of decoration. There is a lovely garden out back and Daphne cuts fresh flowers from it and places the fragrant blossoms strategically around the house.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter with a view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Our two week stay at the Stirabout Lane B&B was one of the highlights of our time in Ireland. Daphne is so warm and wonderfully funny that we felt like family right away. The room was spic and span with wonderful toiletries and lovely flowers and decorations throughout the home. We could and did go to Daphne with any logistical question or request and she guided our stay perfectly. Will be hopefully going back next year if she will have us! And the porridge is addictive!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julylo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Booked a family room while attending a wedding in Macreddin Village which is a 10 min drive away. Lovely family room and a fantastic breakfast and the genuinely friendly owners even brought us to collect our car the following morning as we had taken a taxi the night before, best service we have ever received and will certainly return here when in the area again!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenco2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathdrum
24.4 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,070 reviews
5.1 km away
Ashton House
Ashton House
#1 of 5 in Avoca
164 reviews
5.6 km away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#2 of 5 in Avoca
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Jacob's Well Bed & Breakfast
0.6 km away
Lettermore Country Home
Lettermore Country Home
#4 of 7 in Rathdrum
60 reviews
9.6 km away
Trooperstown Wood Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirabout Lane Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirabout Lane Bed and Breakfast

Address: Stirabout Lane 36 Main Street | Rathdrum, Rathdrum, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathdrum
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rathdrum
Price Range: €69 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cead Mile Failte awaits you in Stirabout Lane Bed and Breakfast, which is located in the heart of the picturesque town of Rathdrum. Spacious tastefully decorated en suite bedrooms with TV, hairdryer and clock radios. Guest sitting room with open turf fires, Breakfast menu and Coffee making facilities. Secure off street parking. Mature relaxing garden to the rear. (We are Biker Friendly.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stirabout Lane Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirabout Lane Bed And Breakfast Rathdrum, County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing