We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
18
7
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
7
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea and coffee frank maura towels glenmalure valley stream wicklow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2019 via mobile

A group of us stayed here while the quest glendalough challenge was on. I cannot recommend this place enough. Maura the lady who owns the place is so lovely and accommodating. She went a above and beyond for us. The rooms have everything you need. Towels, toiletries and tea and coffee. The little touch of chocolates was so nice to.
The glenmalure pub is a minute walk away and the food was lovely. Great craic was had. It’s such a beautiful scenic place to stay. We will definitely be back

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Connector778333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2019

It's hard to put into words just how wonderful our stay was. The accommodations are exceptional, the location scenic, and the proprietors are the nicest people around. The proprietor is a publican who runs the lodge out of love, so what you get is a personalized experience, with recommendations geared toward your interest and hill walking level. Don't worry about charting your route ahead of time. Frank and Maura will chat with you, lend you maps, and help you to navigate your way. When we were stranded with no taxi available--because the only taxi driver was visiting family in the North--Frank, the proprietor, immediately went out of his way to pick us up. His and his wife Maura's concern and desire for their guests are without limit. They want you to enjoy your stay and will bend over backwards to make that happen. Friendly, caring, considerate, and real, Frank, Maura, and their lodge are the best. Although the lodge is self-catering, guests can purchase food at the lodge across the street. This establishment has earned the Saroely stamp of approval. Two thumbs up!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saroely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Small space which contains kitchenette, bed and bathroom. Go with someone you know well ! Expensive for what it is . Owners like to chat and live close by so silent taking in the scenery may not be an option ! Close to the Glenmalure Lodge Hotel for great food. Clean accommodation. Nice bathroom. Would recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Grounded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

The Wilderness Lodge in Glenmalure is the perfect base for hikers looking to explore the Wicklow mountains. The self-catering rooms are spotlessly clean with a fridge, hob, kettle, microwave, delph, coffee/tea, towels, and ensuite. Maura and Frank (seasoned adventurers/ explorers themselves) were so welcoming and helpful and I was able to make use of the large common room and cooking area in the evenings and to store my luggage after checkout. I would highly recommend bringing along your own food and using the facilities and then Glenmalure Lodge is only a few hundred meters away for a well deserved pint after your hike. There are also beautiful mountain views from the rooms. I cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough and I will most definitely be back soon. Thanks Maura & Frank. Sarah :)

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Stayed at the wilderness lodge in june as part of a 6 person group and could not fault it. Place was clean and had everything we needed for our stay which was only one night unfortunately as i would have happily stayed longer.

Doesnt have breakfast but has everything in the rooms to make your own and sit out and take in the view of the wicklow mountains. The owners were lovely and pleasant to talk too and it was only a 1 min walk from the pub so it was close to get a pint but far enough away to relax in silence.

Will certainly return again..

Room tip: stunning views
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grannyirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews