We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$177
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$177
View deal
Expedia.com
US$177
US$83
View deal
SAVE US$94
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.comUS$83
CheapTicketsUS$83
FindHotelUS$83
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
41
17
5
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
17
5
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom quiet location pleasant stay one night glenmalure lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We had been booked into birchdale house for 9 mths but the Saturday of our booking were told that they were overbooked. Looked up trip advisor and noticed that this had happened to at least 2 other couples.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GypsyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

The owner Tom was very personable, and made sure we were comfortable and settled. Facility is very clean and sharp. Breakfast was excellent. Located close to several tourist areas including Wicklow Park and other nice areas...

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank redpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We booked a room at Birchdalehouse B&B seven months ahead of our arrival date. We got a written confirmation from them. When we arrived for our stay there, we were told that he did not have us listed as coming to stay at his B&B for that day and he did not have a room for us because he was completely sold out for that day. We hear about airlines double booking all the time. But B&Bs?

Room tip: Don't even book at this Bed and Breakfast
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank ron89052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, Owner at Birchdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

This was an unfortunate error on my part. However, I quickly sourced a similar room in the area for the same price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Stayed for 2 nights. This property is in a lovely peaceful location. Tom & his staff were very friendly and helpful. We had the room with a balcony and the room was a good size and well furnished with a very comfortable bed. Good shower in the en-suite bathroom.
Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection of both hot & cold items.
Would definitely recommend,

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

During our camping trip we found an empty room in Birchdale House via booking.com, reserved it and received a confirmation. This was a last time request, us and our things were drenched, we were rather desperate for accommodation and this was one of our last hopes.

After an hour, I have received a call from the owner, saying that the availavle room displayed on booking.com was a mistake and that he has no free rooms anymore. He basically said he would not host us, but moreover I myslef had to cancell the reservation! We were stressed and time pressed and the owner could not deal with it himself and take responsibility just because booking.com would charge him some fee like that. Not fair dealing I'd say and I recommend carefully checking with this owner, especially for last time requests.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews