We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Birchdale House(Rathdrum)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coolalingo B&B(Rathdrum)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
38
26
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
26
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesfresh fruitexplore wicklowguest housebeautiful countrysideon arrivalsmoked salmonbreakfast was excellentwould stay againroom was spaciousa lovely staynext morningannshowerirelandaccommodationguests
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Spotless, friendly, warm, and inviting are the words that come to mind when I remember our 4 nights at the Lettermore House. Ann was a gracious host, an excellent cook, and a very friendly person. Of the 4 different B & B's we stayed at on our trip, The Lettermore House so far exceeded the others it was hard to believe. No matter what, make sure you get one of Ann's smoothies. Best drink in the area.
Cheers, The Costello's

Room Tip: Rooms were comfortable and clean, sheets pressed every day
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank streamwoodkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Ann was very encouraging and helpful as we started our time in Ireland. Our bed was so comfortable--my best night of sleep. Great breakfast. Very clean. Highly reccommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlynngin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Lettermore Country House. We were warmly welcomed -
enjoyed our time there. Ann was kind enough to book a hotel for us in Dublin, since it would be St. Patrick's Day when we were there...she even tried to get us into her favorite B & B. Good breakfast!

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank xcleeglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

It's been more than a month since we stayed in Lettermore Country House. Details fade, but the very pleasant aftermath feeling about Ireland and the exceptionally friendly Irish people would be part of our memoirs if we would ever decide to write some!

We were offered family bicycles to enjoy the surroundings (the cute village of Avoca and the amazing Avondale Forestry), we were given a lift to the picturesque Glendalough and we could stay in our cosy room after the check-out time as our train was leaving late in the evening. All those (and not little) things were not included in the service!

However, what we appreciated the most – the very special care the hostess took of us when we returned from walking the Glendalough totally soaked and blue with cold (we were not very lucky with the weather or may be, in fact, we were… as that was a typical Irish weather). So when we got back, our clothes were dried and the most delicious hot meal (soup with sandwiches) was prepared specially for us, there and then!

We still remember the pouring Irish rain, but the friendly ambience of Lettermore Country House outweighs everything! Lovely memories, thank you, Ann! :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaLovesIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Visited Lettermore this week with 2 friends from America. What a welcome!

A lovely quiet location, SO close to Avoca, Glendalough etc. Certainly the Garden of Ireland lived up to its expectations - but we were blessed with sunshine!
On arrival Ann produced home made scones with home made jam - very much appreciated.
Rooms were very comfortable and clean.
Breakfast very good - in nice surroundings.
Ann very friendly and helpful - especially regarding directions as we were travelling on further. A VERY nice lady.
(On the down-side - maybe could do with a wee bit of refurbishment i.e. carpets etc. - but very homely. Shower didn't work very well in bathroom.
Also my friends didn't like the smell of cigarette smoke as we arrived - BUT it was not in the corridors or rooms where we slept. Maybe would be better not to keep the friend's dog either - some guests might not appreciate a dog trying to get in to the dining room!)
All in all - a great little place to stay. Thanks Ann.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tompsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews