We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
213
67
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
67
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car beautiful hotel mount etna rifugio sapienza end of the season buffet breakfast breathtaking views good points average hotel short walk free parking croissants discount altitude climb wifi wellness
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2017

It was quite hard to review this hotel because there were some great things and some not so great.
Pros :-
Hotel staff cheerful friendly and helpful
Hotel immaculate rooms comfortable
Wellness centre pleasant but small,if you go through their website it's free and you don't have to book
Cons :-
Breakfast continental and OK but nothing out of ordinary
We had a balcony room and the views were good but balcony really quite scruffy, all sorts of satelite dishes and functional factory type things, not at all attractive compared to rooms so not really worth extra money.
Cons :-
No food served there in evening (we saw a tour go in at lunchtime) even though peak season, you get a discount at Refugio Sapienza which serves nice hearty fare.
I thought the hotel was very expensive for what we got and we stayed in much nicer places in Sicily for a less. Another time we'd stay at the Refugio Sapienza because the rooms are just as clean, the views as good, the staff as friendly and it's much cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank redforpluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McOrion, Direttore at Corsaro Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Hi and thanks for your review.

I would never do a comparison between our hotel and another one, but in this case i feel like i cannot answer to your review without speaking of both of them.

What is better in our hotel, in particular in your Superior with Terrace room:
*** Superior with Terrace rooms are only place in Etna Sud from which it is possible to see top craters in eruption (and three gulfs); two of Europe’s highest terraces with deepest horizon(s) possible. Of course you can renounce to all this and take a room in another hotel, parking lot view, chaos, no top craters, if you prefer
*** Superior with Terrace rooms have a dedicated free 8Mbit Wi-Fi connection upgradable (for free) up to 20Mbit if needed (for free, just asking in reception). This thanks those antennas you talk about: antennas offer us satellite TV with international channels, as well and I am sorry most guest would not renounce to both of them (including us). Three backup lines and 100% cover of rooms and common areas. Need to renounce to every comfort?
*** Superior with Terrace rooms offer design luxury bathroom with hydromassage in our big crystal shower. Really want to renounce to prize yourself after month of hard work? Treat yourself, you are worth it!
*** Superior with Terrace rooms offer totally independent warming and air conditioned with dedicated unit. Ok, we have a good thermic isolation and our rooms are always around perfect temperature but why saying “no” to a perfect wellness in your own room?
*** Our SPA offers whirlpool, sauna, steam bath, chromatic shower, relax area and tea corner. It is even totally free if reserving by our official website. After an excursion you can renounce to relax your muscles, ok, but why would you?
*** Kettle with coffee, teas and so on available in room. Something not really necessary to survive but something nice if you wish to enjoy the lights of Catania by night with a great cup of warm coffee in your hands. For free and without needing to go in bar. Or to see an eruption by your long chair, by your terrace. If you don’t enjoy lava show you can always prefer another hotel, of course.
*** In Superior with Terrace rooms you find spring mattress with memory foam topper. After an excursion your body needs best rest possible. Luxury is all that we don’t really need to survive but it is also something we can’t renounce after trying it! If you prefer the hard way ok, you don’t need memory foam
*** Breakfast offers twelve linear metres of great continental breakfast with possibility of cold and warm food, even produced at your order (omelettes). We offer biologic fresh orange juice when in season, Sicilian sausages, goat or sheep ricotta fresh cheese and so on but the list is surely boring if you just need a Cappuccino (and you can have one made with bar machine). Why not testing fresh ricotta and Sicilian specialities?
*** You find relax corner with big soft sofas in all Superior rooms. When you have something to read, a tablet to use or simply you are proud of your excursion or you just need a soft big hug and nobody is around you can test them. Or not
*** All rooms provide real wood furniture, solid walnut, not fir. Not so many hotels, even five stars, have real wood (and a good one!) in their rooms. You can live without, of course, cheap or no wood can be so similar to real one…
*** All rooms offer minibar which, in Superior with Terrace rooms, offers free bottles of water for our thirsty guests. would it have been better if you have paid them??
*** Hotel has been built on Pahoehoe 1983 lavas, some of the most beautiful lavas on Etna. It seems an hotel built on a distant and quiet moon. No main roads around, no public parking (just our private and free), no traffic, no noises. But Etna. It only matters if you come to stay on Etna, of course

What do we have as the other hotel next to us?
*** discount on excursions (reserving by our website they cover not only cable car and jeeps but even private guides).
*** love for our job, for our guests and we always try to make our best. Even when our guests try to launch a war against our colleague ;)

What our colleague has more than us
*** Great history: one of oldest and most famous refuges all over the world, probably most known. 90 years of history, we are very young with just 60 years (and an eruption with following rebuilt, you can read all this history in our bar)
*** Price, even most expensive room is usually cheaper in a refuge than in a four star hotel (can you believe it?). Of course, not same standard (square meters, furniture, services and so on) but our colleagues direct their refuge as a three stars hotel offering far more a refuge should offer
*** distance by cable car, our colleagues are just 40m far, we are 400m far. Even if guides pick up our guests in hotel so distance is less important, we are not so close to pylons, cables and cabins (reason we placed antennas on roof, to not be perfect!)

Little note. A Budget room, here, costs € 89-99 on 95% of dates. With free SPA (which would cost € 30,00 for two people) it means you can have a room in our hotel at same price than other place, renouncing to Superior with Terrace (but not to other comforts).

Why did you take a Superior with Terrace if you were looking for cheapest price possible and were not interested at all in any of Superior with Terrace comfort, unicity and advantages?

(thanks Alessia for translation assistance)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night here before visiting Etna. Stunning location high above the city of Catania. Very friendly staff, really clean and comfortable room, with great shower, bed etc. Breakfast was typical Italian buffet, with lots of choice.
Reception recommended a tour guide for Etna which we booked, and it turned out to be such a great experience, way better than the bus trip.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adventure675360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in Corsaro and enjoyed the hospitality of Alessandro and Davide who spent many years on the mountain and know it very well. The room was very comfortable, and the 'well being' area with its jacuzzi and saunas, was just the right treat after climbing up the mountain. Breakfast is superb! With a wide selection of food and freshly squeezed orange juice. For dinner we wandered to the nearby rifugio. A summit tour was efficiently arranged for us, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank danaronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 days here for an Etna excursion. It is on the highest point. Parking, wifi, and breakfast is free. The front desk staff are so helpful and assists you with planning your Mt Etna excursion. Our room had a huge terrace and complete views of Catania, the sea, and the Mountain. The room was big for a European hotel and so clean. Please dress warm. The wind is unbelievable.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeffriesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

this is a good hotel to stay for your day visit to Mt Etna. The room is actually quite nice.
Breakfast was also good. it is only 300mts walking distance to the gondola taking you up Mt Etna.
it has WIFI coverage, parking, and also Celular coverage on the base of the Mountain

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Navpatagonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews