We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Nightmares, Second-Class Citizen Status”
Review of Vistabela Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vistabela Resort
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Sao Sebastiao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Let's begin with the problem of misleading advertising. Yes, there is internet—for some rooms. Yes, there is AC—only intermittent and inconsistent; ours worked very poorly until the last two days, when water began dripping onto the floor and it stopped cooling entirely. I suppose that they didn't advertise quiet rooms, so I won't complain about the decibel level (consistently around 70 decibels all night; it's fun to sleep with the equivalent of a lawnmower right outside all night long). When we objected to these features of the room, the staff did move us for a couple of nights, with the understanding that we were to be stuck back in our awful room after three days. Imagine our surprise when on the second day of our new room we came back from an outing to discover that all of our things had been packed up and summarily moved without our permission and knowledge while we were away. Eventually we found our belongings and missed "almost" none of them. The staff was extremely apologetic and assured us euphemistically that we had not been treated so badly because we were a married gay couple—but we would not have thought that until they said so several times. Suddenly the poor, marginal room and the cavalierly disrespectful treatment make us wonder. I'm glad that so many people in the reviewers' list had a good time. That was emphatically NOT our experience. If we hadn't had a chance to flee the "resort," our vacation would have been mostly miserable. And this was entirely thanks to the dreadful room, the misleading information, the unhelpful staff (except for Antonio—Antonio was great), and the distinct sense that we were being handed second-rate treatment. I've been around a lot of hotels in a lot of different countries, and I have never met with shabby treatment like this. Under no circumstances would we recommend this place.

Stayed: March 2016
4  Thank Mitchellm420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2015

We checked in to the resort on a Wednesday afternoon and were surprised/pleased to find we were the only guests. Apparently, the coastal cities of Sao Paulo state are busy on weekends and holidays, and generally not during the week. Paula was super nice when we checked in and she even upgraded our room upon request so we could have a beach view. I asked her about a good seafood restaurant and Paula said there was a good seafood restaurant right there in the resort. My wife and I decided to freshen up and have some fresh seafood there; we had been driving all day from Sao Paulo. Paula made a phone call and it was arranged. Antonio met us out on the beachfront deck restaurant. He took very good care of us and we were completely satisfied. Lots of delicious fresh seafood. Morning beach walk and spectacular photos of Ilha Bela. Awesome FREE breakfast!

Room Tip: Try to stay in one of the two bedroom suites closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Spent last week there with lots of friends for a wedding happening at the resort, everything was amazing and perfect.
Beautiful place, very relaxing and staff so friendly and helpful. Rooms are very cleaned and well maintained.
We could not ask for more. Great breakfast inclusive. Nice area by the pool and a good size jacuzzi, located by the beach which is a plus. Great deck area and good drinks at the bar. I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laercio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vistabela R, Gerente at Vistabela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Andares superiores voltados para fora.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vistabela R, Gerente geral at Vistabela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Sebastiao hotels
14.7 km away
Hotel Maui Maresias
Hotel Maui Maresias
#5 of 7 in Maresias
61 reviews
41.5 km away
Salvetti Praia Hotel
Salvetti Praia Hotel
#16 of 27 in Sao Sebastiao
193 reviews
8.2 km away
Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Nau Royal Hotel Boutique & Spa
27.1 km away
Hotel Aldeia de Sahy
Hotel Aldeia de Sahy
#24 of 27 in Sao Sebastiao
135 reviews
22.5 km away
Beach Hotel Cambury
Beach Hotel Cambury
#7 of 27 in Sao Sebastiao
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vistabela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistabela Resort

Address: Rua Doutor Paulo Costa 653 | Barequeçaba Beach, Sao Sebastiao, State of Sao Paulo 11600-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Sebastiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Sao Sebastiao
Price Range: €111 - €217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vistabela Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Vistabela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistabela Resort Sao Sebastiao, Brazil - Sao Paulo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing