We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“How do you say R*E*L*A*X”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of BuckleyVelezMalaga

Roof Terrace - 75 Sq Meters - with 365 degree views of the Sea, Mountains, Sunset and Architecture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Roof Terrace - 75 Sq Meters - with 365 degree views of the Sea, Mountains, Sunset and Architecture
Modern Kitchen, Double Sink, Granite Surface Sea View from Roof Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Roof Terrace - 75 Sq Meters - with 365 degree views of the Sea, Mountains, Sunset and Architecture
Modern Kitchen, Double Sink, Granite Surface
Sea View from Roof Terrace
Buckley's Spanish Home looking down Calle Real de la Villa
Looking up Calle Real de la Villa towards the Semana Santa (Holy Week) Museum
Roof Terrace view of snow capped monutains to the North
View of Comares, the highest village in Axarquia
Roof Terrace view of the Semana Santa (Holy Week) Museum
Getting ready to enjoy the Roof Terrace sunset views
Roof Terrace sunset view
Roof Terrace view of the illuminated Forteleza
Bedroom 1 is roomy and pleasant
Bedroom 1 wardrobe, dresser and table
Bedroom 2 with balcony overlooking Calle Real de la Villa
Bedroom 3 with balcony overlooking Calle Real de la Villa
Master Bath
Master Bath with sink, bidet and toilet
Master Bath for 2?
Modern, efficient kitchen
Lounge with TV and street view
Lunch on the beach - 11 Dec 2011
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Velez-Malaga, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jim k
La Grande, Oregon
1 review
“How do you say R*E*L*A*X”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived at Velez-Malaga after traveling down the coast from Alicante for a week. After seeing all the tourist prefabricated high rise buildings, the artificial Spain, it was so refreshing to be in a real Spanish town. We arrived at the beginning of the Real Feria de San Miguel and the streets were full of booths with food, drink and music. 

Upon walking up the ever narrowing cobble stone streets we arrived at the villa. The bedrooms are spacious and the terrace on top is the highlight. many an evening was spent eating, drinking and listening to the sounds, music, song, neighbors talking, and kids playing below. 

The town is very walkable but hilly, much investment and refurbishing of historic buildings is occurring, and buses can take one anywhere one might want to go. Having a vehicle is a bonus and parking (albeit, uphill) is only few blocks away.

If one wants to get away from the tourist side of Spain and experience a real Spanish town in a spacious well equipped villa this is the ticket. 

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Again, we are pleased to see our Guests enjoyed their visit to authentic Andalucia where the neighbours produce impromptu flamenco entertainment on their doorsteps. Not to mention the roof terrace with sweeping views and toasting the magnificent sunsets. Plus beach time and hiking thru the gorges of the Rio Chillar.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great house in typical Spanish town”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed for 6 weeks in January and February. The house is very well equipped and located on the hillside in the narrow streets of the old part of the town. It represents great value for money. Views from the terrace were spectacular, including mountains, sea and town. This area is very atmospheric and the town is typically Spanish with few tourists. Everything that you need is within walking distance and the local public transport, which we used a lot, is cheap and efficient. Both the owners and the English neighbours were extremely helpful and we have no hesitation in recommending this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Level of equipment and value for money
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Tony & Audrey identified many of the reasons we bought this property to enjoy ourselves and share with our Guests. Pat & Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilaryofK...
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a fascinating location.”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A brilliant traditional Spanish home (with all mod cons) in the fascinating old town of Velez Malaga. Drinking wine on the wonderful enormous roof terrace with its views to the mountains while listening to the locals singing and playing guitar on the street below was quite magical. You need to be fit to walk up the streets to the house and up the stairs to the roof but this exercise gives you an excuse to eat at in the many local restaurants. The frequent local buses to the beach made living without a car very easy. The house was very well maintained and equipped and the owners were very helpful before we went..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof terrace and the non-touristy town.
Liked least: Forgetting something in your bedroom after climbing the stairs to the roof terrace!!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
We could not agree more. Our Velez-Malaga roof terrace is one of our favorite places and becomes magical at sunset with the neighbours' live flamenco music, aerobatic displays from the local swifts and a glass of Rioja.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MYBIGBOAB...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a great location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Spent 8 nights at the house in June of this year and would definitely recommend it as a holiday booking. A really nicely presented house and very well equipped, making it feel like a home from home (with sun). Nicely located in the old part of the town but so close to plenty of shops and bars that it doesn't ever feel like a struggle, even on the final slightly steep ascent on Calle Real Villa. Great communication from Pat and Marilyn from start to finish and plenty of information on the town and surrounding areas available at the house. Thanks very much. Paul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: A great house in a fantastic location.
Liked least: Those last few steps up the hill after a beer or two too many...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
We like satisfied Guests and will continue working to make all future Guests happy with their choice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabeeLanc...
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“House Martins, Panoramas and Relaxation !”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Thank you for the use of your lovely house in Velez - Malaga. We loved everything about it and the area it is in is stunning.
Sitting on your magical terrace watching the swifts swooping all around, the stunning sunset highlighting mountains as it went down, beautiful. Then what did we hear ? A flamenco guitar playing and the haunting accompanying singing, deep and medieval which brought a lump to your throat, we just couldn't believe it, what a lovely four days we had. Your house is lovely, spacious, very clean and well equipped. Keira and her husband Steve (who take care of the house) were really nice and helpful, so everything went so smoothly for us. Now back at home we can't quite believe what we have experienced in Velez- Malaga, we have been to many places in Spain and this experience tops them all and it is where we want to be, so now we are in the process of buying our own house there, after searching the towns and villages in that region for years. Velez has it all !
Thank you so much to you both for your hospitality and kindness, and all the information you gave us prior to our visit, your love of the place shines through.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Terrace
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
What can we say!?! Karen has captured the essence of enjoying our Velez-Malaga home. Pat & Marilyn Buckley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$419
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing