We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
324
66
16
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
66
16
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puerto galera muck diving dive resort top notch camera room whale sharks fish the wait staff apo island every meal restaurant staff great diving spa staff day trip all inclusive package ocean front everyone knows your name
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 fabulous weeks diving with friends and I can't speak more highly of the staff & dive crew! They pulled out all the stops to ensure our dive stay was a real pleasure. The only negative was the tepid to cold showers which after a day diving in 77-78F water temps in February was hard. Some rooms have no problem but others need serious attention. Fix this and you are 1st class!

I can highly recommend the hot stone massage after all that diving. What a selection of treatments for a very very reasonable price, some of the group was there daily!

Just loved our dive crew led by Alfred. Not only is the entire Crew extremely competent but mostly they are simply FUN! to be with, all the time. We will miss you all!! Thanks especially for our amazing going away party, including drum band, Marley Rasta reggae guitar and flame dancer.

The biggest and best surprise of the trip was Chef Jun, a young star for Atlantis and no doubt in my mind a future star in world gastronomy! Seriously, you don't know how good you are Jun!

I highly recommend the full board, you will not be disappointed!

From variety of sea critters - house reef is outstanding - to fine dining. It was a WOW dive trip!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank iluv2scuba4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisDiveResortPH, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thanks for your fabulous recommendation of our resort, food and staff ‘iluv2scuba4ever’.

We’re very sorry about the tepid water issue and we discovered it was ‘human error’ with a bit of Mother Nature mixed in as well. Turns out we had a switch in the guards who daily drain the hot water, and the new guard was not aware of this responsibility. We got it sorted out, but still received feedback that the water was cold. So, we then implemented draining the lines twice daily, as the days were cloudy (affecting the solar heating panels) and the lines were cooling much faster than normal. In taking these new measures we tested and very hot water was getting to the rooms within 30 seconds, but still not instantaneously as some guests were accustomed to getting at home. Guests also were switching the lever from hot to cold – and human error again was a factor in not getting hot water. This is why only some rooms were affected.

We’re very glad that this was the only glitch in your overall “WOW dive trip”!! ☺

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

I've been to both Atlantis locations and I prefer Dauin much better. Beach was quiet and clean with very few tourists. Food was excellent, wifi works well throughout the entire property. Staff will go out of their ways to help you and you will be addressed by your name. Dive team is very professional and I had a good time diving with them.

I had the Jr. Deluxe room, unfortunately the room smelled quite musty, that was the only bad experience I have. Next time I'd go with the next level room as the jr. deluxe is a bit basic for me.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nakedcrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisDiveResortPH, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thanks Nakedcrib for staying at both our resorts and we look forward to your…..return as a friend. ☺ Dumaguete is indeed quite different from Puerto Galera in atmosphere, though amenities offered and the service levels are the same. You’re absolutely right about the Jr Deluxe accommodations being basic, but we do have guests that realize they spend very little time in their room and want the most economical accommodation available. Guests just need to realize that the room is much smaller, has fixed twin beds and the ensuite is very compact with a toilet/shower combination similar to that found on a boat. Many, like you choose to upgrade to a regular Deluxe room upon arrival or for their next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The property is immaculately maintained and the entire staff makes you feel welcome while pampering you during your entire stay. The food is superb and the diving is spectacular. From very accessible (Just a walk off shore) muck diving to the pristine coral reefs around Apo Island with dozens of Seahorse and Nudibranch species creating a macro photographers paradise.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ScubaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisDiveResortPH, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thanks David for your excellent review. ☺

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Let me start by saying that our group was the group from hell with 3 of the 6 ending up in the hospital. We also experienced unseasonably rainy weather for January.

That said ...

The service at the hotel was exceptional. By the end of the first day, everyone from grounds crew, maids, front desk, restaurant staff and dive crew knew your name. When you walk into the restaurant, they know what you like to drink. The taste and presentation of the food is the best I've ever experienced at a dive resort. Truly exceptional.

Most important for divers, the diving is excellent. Muck dives with more interesting critters on one dive than you might see in 5 elsewhere. Also nice coral dives - especially at Apo Island (my favorite - also a wall dive) and Siquijor Island. Also did the trip to Cebu Island on our last day before flying to snorkel with whale sharks. Fantastic. Crowded, but worth putting up with.

Rooms are comfortable and well air conditioned. WiFi was free and very good.

Now for the caveats...

1. There is a large foot wash in the middle of the walkway at the top of the steps on the way to the boats. It was never mentioned in the briefing. On the way to our first dive, in very heavy rain, the foot wash was barely visible with only a faint white outline. A member of our group fell, broke her hip, and was medivacced out of country without even one dive. The resort may have addressed this by the time you read this, but, if you go, please be aware!

2. The drinking water from the restaurant is supposed to be potable. I got traveler's diarrhea that kept me from diving for 3 days. Worse than that, my roommate ended up with amoebic cysts and had to get an IV at the private hospital. The doctor there indicated that it was from the water and that the heavy rains had probably overwhelmed the filtration system. The resort switched to bottled water which help alleviate my symptoms. I had been trying to hydrate and was, in fact, making things worse. The resort didn't seem to accept responsibility and hadn't had their filtered water tested as of our departure 9 days later. If you go, I'd recommend bottled water only unless they improve beyond mechanical filtration or institute a regular testing program.

3. Marine park fees were in the process of increasing significantly. I'm all in favor of supporting marine parks. Just make sure you know the current rates so you don't get surprises on top of your all-inclusive dive package.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank sschaf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisDiveResortPH, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

We’re very sorry Scott that your first visit with us at Dumaguete was plagued with a variety of unfortunate events, both weather and health related. We’re so glad that the end of your stay turned around to be so much better.

It is truly unpleasant to experience intestinal issues, especially when traveling, but please be aware that within hours of the first symptoms (and before any medical diagnosis), our resort manager called Dumaguete City Water District to arrange to have our resort water tested. Due to their backlog of appointments, the first available date for testing was Jan 30th. Most persons are not aware that local testing kits can only test for mineral/particle matter and cannot test for biological contaminants. The only way to accurately test for biological contamination is done by Dumaguete City Water. Noting the urgency, our staff followed up three additional times and we were eventually able to get our testing moved up to Jan 23rd. We have just received the results on Feb 1st and all three areas tested (guest room, restaurant and deep well) passed as suitable for drinking. However, we still advise our guests not to drink tap water as we always have. We note in our Resort FAQs that tap water in the room is not drinkable, and it is mentioned in the resort briefing as well. We provide refillable containers in each room for filtered water that is readily available throughout the day in our restaurant/bar area free of charge.

As your group members at various times did venture away from the resort, there is absolutely no way of knowing exactly where contamination might have occurred. While it is unfortunate that three members of your group experienced diarrhea with various degrees of severity, we take relief in the knowledge that the other 94 guests and staff on site consuming the well water did not experience the same.

Regarding the Marine Park fees at Dumaguete – we have been notified that there is a local initiative to increase the marine sanctuary fees for Apo Island, a day trip we include in our all-inclusive diving packages. We have always advised guests at the time of booking that these fees are set by the local municipality and are subject to change at any time. While the fees have not increased as yet, it is our directive during the initial resort briefing to let guests know this pending increase could occur at any time during their stay. The proposed increase is approximately Php 500 ($10).

We greatly appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Atlantis Dumaguete Scott, and we thank you for your overall wonderful review of our amenities and staff. We’d love to have you visit with us again, possibly even for a stay at our other resort in Puerto Galera. ☺

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

The resort was top notch. Staff was friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Everywhere you went the staff said hello and knew your names. The dive operation was also top notch. the dive guides knew where to find critters, from a pygmy seahorse to a blue ring octopus. The camera room has more than enough room with ample outlets both 110 and 220, air conditioning and great lighting.

Room Tip: The renovated gardens suites were beautiful
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NyDiverLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisDiveResortPH, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Thank you NyDiverLongIsland for your top notch review. ☺

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews