We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
180
108
31
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
108
31
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea explorersstandard rooms aredive resortapo islandnipa hutmuck divingphilippine airlinesfamily roomfood is excellentwhale sharksswimming poolbeach frontamazing divingtop notchday tripphilippinesboats
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

A really nice place to stay in general. Really helpful and friendly people all around. Only downside is the quality of the huts. They look really nice and pretty but the electronics are a little outdated (the fan is old and creaky, the shower temperature is inconsistent) and there are a lot of holes in the walls through which mosquitos will enter. The latter is easily remedied with a mosquito net or spray though.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Maarten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaEx-VidaManagement, Manager at Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for your feedback about our standard room cottages. Since these rooms are built out native materials to give a more authentic experience, it is difficult to seal them 100%. Hence there are large mosquito nets provided in our rooms to enusre the comfort of our guests. However, we always continue to improve and maintain our rooms and will check again if we can find some gaps. Hope to see you again! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Guard took a long time to let us in the resort. The resort was busy. As soon as we got in the server was attentive to give us a table.
The food is the only thing that I would not recommend. Better to eat before you come here. Pizza is like eating a biscuit with extra cheese ( no love for the food). The place is well maintained!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank chichi2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaEx-VidaManagement, Manager at Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you for your review of our resort.

We apologize for the inconvenience at the guard house. Our security guards are following standard procedures for all walk-in guests to ensure there is available space at the restaurant before you come in.

We are sorry to hear you didn't like our pizza.

Hope to have you with us sometime again and try out some other dishes on our menu :)

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Good for those who like diving. For us with kids, just so-so. The swimming pool was small. Not much marine creatures on the beach as kids like exploring things. We did find many in somewhere else. The room rate was average to high. To my surprise, the taxi/van arranged by the hotel was much 2x higher than others.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HIEDWIN Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaEx-VidaManagement, Manager at Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you for your review of our resort. Yes, there are not many marine creatures in front of the resort since its a sandy slope and the artificial reefs only start at around 10m, so not much to see for non-divers. There is, however, are shallow marine sanctuary 20minutes by foot away which is excellent for snorkeling and exploring things. The dive center will also take you there if there is a dive trip going there.

The resort exclusively deals with high-end vans for transportation and transfer to ensure safety and comfort of our guests. This, however, is a bit more expensive than other operators and tricycles.

However, we hope you enjoyed your overall stay with us and were able to bring back happy memories with your family.

Best Regards from the Pura Vida family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Our family spent an amazing week at Pura Vida in Dauin! Loved the resort staff, dive team, and owner Chris! We were at the resort attending Kids Sea Camp and the entire Pura Vida resort and Sea Explorer dive teams were incredibly attentive to anything and everything to make our vacation Heavenly for our family! Thank you to everyone for a phenomenal trip! Cheers!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sightsee224224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaEx-VidaManagement, Manager at Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for reviewing our Resort. It was a pleasure to have you with us and Kids Sea Camp was a very exciting event for us to host. We are thrilled that it was a great success and that you and everyone had a wonderful stay with us. Hope to see you again with us in the near future. Best Regards from the whole Pura Vida Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We had high expectations coming here, but were somehow a bit disappointed without being able to point out the reason directly.
Maybe it was the fact we are no divers and this is a dive resort. Maybe it is the fact that the cosy bamboo huts had plenty of openings, letting in mosquito's. Maybe it was the staff that smiled plenty but did not seem to put their hart into it. Maybe it was the disappointing breakfast buffet. Maybe it was a bit of everything. Or maybe it was just us...

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mattijs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaEx-VidaManagement, Manager at Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you for your review of our Resort. We are very much saddened by your disappointment. The management is always there to address any issues in the resort and could have addressed your feedback immediately in order to ensure that you're having a pleasant stay with us while you were there.

Despite being named a Dive Resort there is plenty of non-diving activities available at the resort such as excursions to the local markets, lakes, and waterfalls, as well as a relaxing spa, fitness center, and swimming pool. The dive center also offers snorkeling trips for non-divers going to Apo Island, Sumilon and Oslob whalesharks.

Our bamboo huts have recently been sealed more to accommodate the newly installed air-conditioning. Yes, it is correct that the bamboo huts might not be 100% sealed but there is a large mosquito net suspended above the bed in every Bamboo hut. However, we will try our best to keep our guests as comfortable as possible and therefore look into ways to further seal the bamboo huts.

Again we feel sorry that our resort didn't meet your expectations, but we hope that you may stay with us again in one of your future trips and hope to exceed your expectations.

best regards
The Pura Vida team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews