We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco friendly, amazing food and service, well trained staff, good diving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salaya Beach Houses
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2017

What more to say... we enjoyed every minute. Staff worked as a team including dive and boat staff, after dive massages available by certified therapists, beautiful, clear pool, warm water - 84F (didn't even need my wetsuit. coral plentiful and pristine at Apo Island, much diving near shore with lots to see including frog fish, flamingo squid, rays, nudibranchs, every dive an adventure even for an old gal like me!

We booked the dive package and meals, so not sure about the "free" breakfast. It was certainly always full and tasty, well presented.

Room Tip: best view of the sea is from the second floor balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elsie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol v, General Manager at Salaya Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Elsie, it's lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay so much, and clearly you lapped up so many of the great critters that are on our doorstep!
Best wishes to you for a happy, healthy and prosperous 2018. We hope to see you back here in our little slice of paradise again some day. Marc & Carol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017

Everything about this trip was perfect. When we landed in Manila, after a 13 hour and 41 minute flight from San Francisco, a representative of Salaya met us and escorted us to a private van to transport us from the International terminal to the Domestic terminal. This would have been more difficult for us to do by ourselves. From there we flew from Manila to Dumaguete.

At Dumaguete, we were met by a van from the resort which took us to the Salaya Resort, a thirty minute trip.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Marc and Carol, a couple who manage the resort. They were two of the friendliest people anyone would want to meet. After we had our luggage taken to our rooms, we did a checkout dive in the afternoon. This was to make sure all of our gear was working properly.

For the next six days, we had excellent diving. We did three dives per day. Two were in the morning and one was in the afternoon. This was a very relaxing schedule and yet we were able to do a lot of diving. One day we did four dives. One of which was a night dive.

On the day we departed, Marc did something for me which was way above the call of duty for him. He made a special extra trip to the Dumaguete Airport to deliver a suitcase that I had left at the resort.

When we departed, I thought that I had loaded all of my gear into the bus. Upon arrival at the airport, I realized that I had not removed my suitcase that contained all of my camera gear from the camera room. This is a large case specially designed to transport underwater housings, lens ports, strobes, and all of my underwater photographic gear except for the camera itself which is a Nikon D800. I was somewhat in a state of panic.

I called Salaya and spoke to Marc. He cheerfully said he would run my camera gear to the airport. Upon arrival, I offered him a generous tip. He turned it down.

This is the mark of truly great service! I made what could have been a costly mistake and Marc went out of his way to help. Stay at Salaya if you visit Dumaguete.

Room Tip: Just had experience with my own room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol v, General Manager at Salaya Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Wow, such a lovely review, thank you! We remember the day of your departure well, and as fellow underwater photographers, we know how stressed we would have felt to have left our camera gear behind. Nice of you to mention the delivery of your gear to the airport, but unnecessary at the same time :)

Your group were a total delight to have at the resort, and we would love to see you back here again for lots more dives. Cheers to all the gang, Carol & Marc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here, and we will definitely be back. Highlights are the luxuriously-appointed rooms; the friendly and well-trained staff; and the excellent food menu choices. The penthouse rooms are spacious, with a kitchen and wide veranda that looks out to the sea. We had a nice breakfast on the veranda and a candle-lit dinner near the beach. The staff were unfailingly efficient and polite. They never got our orders wrong and all the food comes out on time (unlike in other resorts - sometimes you have to wait a while, or your order was forgotten). Amidst the beautifully landscaped grounds, this boutique luxury resort is the perfect place to refresh one’s spirit: as we did, while fleeing the urban chaos during ASEAN week.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank liamblackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol v, General Manager at Salaya Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

We pride ourselves in having some of the best staff in the Philippines - thank you for recognizing the level of quality and service, we really appreciate that you took the time to do this!

We like to think that Salaya is a place where our guests are free to be and do whatever they wish ... so to hear that you found Salaya the "perfect place to refresh one's spirit", makes us smile :). Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Salaya Beach Houses for two consecutive weekends, it was that good! The surroundings are beautiful, the rooms front the sea and the staff are attentive. The food is also delicious. The staff can arrange a beach front dinner for couples or for groups, make sure to try this on one of your evenings at the resort. The house reef right across the resort is also perfect for snorkeling. The downside is the stony beach, make sure to bring aqua shoes or socks.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cod813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol v, General Manager at Salaya Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

You are our first guest ever to have come here two weekends in a row, making the effort to travel from Manila! Thanks so much C, we adored having you here, and appreciate you bringing your friends on the second trip.

Marc and I hope that you'll return for diving again soon. Best wishes, Carol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

You get what you expect of a VERY relaxing vacation. The rooms are so neat, well structured and designed complete of what u need.

Under close supervision of Managers Marc and Carol, the crew like Kathlyn, Daryl, Dave and whole resto crew are so accommodating and welcoming making us feel so at home. The cool is one of kind too.

Environment highly maintained and clean and u get so relaxed no matter which part of the resort u go.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank cleomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol v, Manager at Salaya Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Clem it was lovely to have your family here for a few days - we hope to see you again soon. Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely note of appreciation for Salaya, and to the staff. Until we see you again, safe travels! Marc, Carol & the team @ Salaya Beach Houses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
0.9 km away
Vida Homes Condo Resort
1.7 km away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 17 in Dauin
334 reviews
1.2 km away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 4 in Zamboanguita
237 reviews
5.5 km away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 17 in Dauin
577 reviews
0.1 km away
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salaya Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salaya Beach Houses

Address: Lipayo, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range: €288 - €412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salaya Beach Houses 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in March 2014, Salaya Beach Houses offers 9 modern beachfront apartments and penthouses, an infinity 22-meter swimming pool, dedicated dive shop and boat, pool bar, contemporary European and Filipino menus, yoga, massage, conferencing and workshop facilities. Dahon, offers contemporary European and Filipino style cuisine in the conservatory-style restaurant set in the luscious grounds of Salaya Beach Houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salaya Beach Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salaya Beach Houses Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing