We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
81
5
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
5
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse arrival at the airport boutique resort dinner table camera gear infinity pool apo island relaxing vacation night stay rinse tanks dive master per day muck diving great diving world class beach front dumaguete city
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Everything about this trip was perfect. When we landed in Manila, after a 13 hour and 41 minute flight from San Francisco, a representative of Salaya met us and escorted us to a private van to transport us from the International terminal to the Domestic terminal. This would have been more difficult for us to do by ourselves. From there we flew from Manila to Dumaguete.

At Dumaguete, we were met by a van from the resort which took us to the Salaya Resort, a thirty minute trip.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Marc and Carol, a couple who manage the resort. They were two of the friendliest people anyone would want to meet. After we had our luggage taken to our rooms, we did a checkout dive in the afternoon. This was to make sure all of our gear was working properly.

For the next six days, we had excellent diving. We did three dives per day. Two were in the morning and one was in the afternoon. This was a very relaxing schedule and yet we were able to do a lot of diving. One day we did four dives. One of which was a night dive.

On the day we departed, Marc did something for me which was way above the call of duty for him. He made a special extra trip to the Dumaguete Airport to deliver a suitcase that I had left at the resort.

When we departed, I thought that I had loaded all of my gear into the bus. Upon arrival at the airport, I realized that I had not removed my suitcase that contained all of my camera gear from the camera room. This is a large case specially designed to transport underwater housings, lens ports, strobes, and all of my underwater photographic gear except for the camera itself which is a Nikon D800. I was somewhat in a state of panic.

I called Salaya and spoke to Marc. He cheerfully said he would run my camera gear to the airport. Upon arrival, I offered him a generous tip. He turned it down.

This is the mark of truly great service! I made what could have been a costly mistake and Marc went out of his way to help. Stay at Salaya if you visit Dumaguete.

Room Tip: Just had experience with my own room which was great.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol v, General Manager at Salaya Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Wow, such a lovely review, thank you! We remember the day of your departure well, and as fellow underwater photographers, we know how stressed we would have felt to have left our camera gear behind. Nice of you to mention the delivery of your gear to the airport, but unnecessary at the same time :)

Your group were a total delight to have at the resort, and we would love to see you back here again for lots more dives. Cheers to all the gang, Carol & Marc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here, and we will definitely be back. Highlights are the luxuriously-appointed rooms; the friendly and well-trained staff; and the excellent food menu choices. The penthouse rooms are spacious, with a kitchen and wide veranda that looks out to the sea. We had a nice breakfast on the veranda and a candle-lit dinner near the beach. The staff were unfailingly efficient and polite. They never got our orders wrong and all the food comes out on time (unlike in other resorts - sometimes you have to wait a while, or your order was forgotten). Amidst the beautifully landscaped grounds, this boutique luxury resort is the perfect place to refresh one’s spirit: as we did, while fleeing the urban chaos during ASEAN week.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank liamblackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol v, General Manager at Salaya Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

We pride ourselves in having some of the best staff in the Philippines - thank you for recognizing the level of quality and service, we really appreciate that you took the time to do this!

We like to think that Salaya is a place where our guests are free to be and do whatever they wish ... so to hear that you found Salaya the "perfect place to refresh one's spirit", makes us smile :). Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Salaya Beach Houses for two consecutive weekends, it was that good! The surroundings are beautiful, the rooms front the sea and the staff are attentive. The food is also delicious. The staff can arrange a beach front dinner for couples or for groups, make sure to try this on one of your evenings at the resort. The house reef right across the resort is also perfect for snorkeling. The downside is the stony beach, make sure to bring aqua shoes or socks.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cod813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol v, General Manager at Salaya Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

You are our first guest ever to have come here two weekends in a row, making the effort to travel from Manila! Thanks so much C, we adored having you here, and appreciate you bringing your friends on the second trip.

Marc and I hope that you'll return for diving again soon. Best wishes, Carol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

You get what you expect of a VERY relaxing vacation. The rooms are so neat, well structured and designed complete of what u need.

Under close supervision of Managers Marc and Carol, the crew like Kathlyn, Daryl, Dave and whole resto crew are so accommodating and welcoming making us feel so at home. The cool is one of kind too.

Environment highly maintained and clean and u get so relaxed no matter which part of the resort u go.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank cleomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol v, Manager at Salaya Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Clem it was lovely to have your family here for a few days - we hope to see you again soon. Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely note of appreciation for Salaya, and to the staff. Until we see you again, safe travels! Marc, Carol & the team @ Salaya Beach Houses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We recently spent 6 nights at Salaya in celebration for a friends birthday. The dinner hosted by the Salaya kitchen was spectacular to say the least.

The managers Carol and Marc simply went above and beyond to ensure our stay exceeded all of our expectations. All of the staff were very friendly and catered to our every need. The menus were full of many delicious choices and the drinks generous and refreshing. Can highly recommend the Oreo shake!

The beds were clean and catered for a great nights sleep. Accommodation was spacious and also clean.

It was highly convenient having a reef for good snorkelling and paddleboards available right off the beach.

Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertoHC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol v, Manager at Salaya Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi Roberto, It was great to be able to host your family for a wonderful birthday celebration! Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in our part of the wold. We will keep an Oreo shake on ice for you!! Until next time, safe travels from all of us at Salaya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews