We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid luxury experience”
Review of Atmosphere Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atmosphere Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2017

My wife and I stayed at Atmosphere for ten days in November 2017, and the experience was amazing, from the moment we were picked up at the airport until the very last minute.
The many dive sites nearby are fantastic for macro photography, making the location perfect for us. The divemasters are good guides and helped us find all the critters we were searching for (thanks, Ian and Saimon!).
The dive operation is very tightly run, as was everything else in the resort, from the restaurant to the spa or the yoga. During our stay the resort went from an (estimated) 30% to 100% occupancy without a glitch, which speaks volumes about the skill and dedication of the management and the staff.
We were so comfortable and relaxed after our daily diving (thanks Olie for accommodating our choice of dive sites!) and yoga (thanks Ray for adapting the practice to our preferred style!) that we never felt the need to leave the premises, but the resort offers many daily activities, from visiting Apo Island and its reefs to snorkeling with whale sharks. The resort will also help guests organize custom trips whenever possible.
The food was fantastic and despite the long stay never felt repetitive. Special thanks to Eduardo for his attentiveness and help selecting the wines!
There are a handful of diving resorts we would return to in a heartbeat, and Atmosphere definitely is one of them!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ggomarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. We’re so pleased we could help make your holiday as amazing as possible and that you loved the diving, the food, the spa and the yoga. We have passed on your kind words to Ian and Saimon, Oli, Rae and Ed. We very much appreciate your comments regarding the operation of the resort as this is something we are all very proud of. We very much look forward to your return to us in the future and we look forward to taking you on further trips around our beautiful islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2017

A lovely small resort, with great diving - both 'muck diving', and beautiful corals on Apo island. Comfortable well equipped room, and a great bar area and pool. The resort is let down somewhat by the food, which is somewhat variable.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Gill037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Hi Gill
Thanks for visiting us here at Atmosphere. We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed the diving and the pool and bar area. We’re sorry to hear you felt that the food was inconsistent, we recently took on some new kitchen staff and are currently airing out these issues. We hope you choose to holiday with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Just returned from a great 9 day stay at this small friendly resort. Met some lovely people and enjoyed the main reason for our visit, lots of diving! As diving was the reason for visiting the Philippine Islands, i'll start with that.

Diving.
We had a package through out travel agency for 20 dives, which was about enough for the 8 days or so we were there. Having read about the diving around that area, i wasnt too sure what to expect, and found that a lot of the dives in and around the house reef and local sites are mostly Muck dives. Not having too much experience with that type of diving, it was certainly different, and opens up your mind to very different critters in the sand and coral life on the shore line. They have everything from small Sea Horses to Frog Fish, my new favourate fish, they are great to look at, as well as Blue ringed octopus, mantis shrimp, nudebranches in abundance and all sorts of other things. If its the larger thing you are after, not really the place for it.
That said, Apo island is a small excursion around 30 mins by boat, and has great vis and lots of turtles, sea snakes and jack fish, and healthy coral well worth the trip for an extra 1000 peso pp. The vis around the house reef can be poor especially with the incredible storms kicking up the water, so be prepared for that. A great venue for the macro photographer, and the staff are very helpful in changing dive sites, helping with camera gear, and do what they can to accomodate your wishes, help to spot that tiny critter in the sand. The staff are very friendly and approachable as well as great knowledge around all matters diving. Big thanks to Arjay and Ian who where great guides in the water.

Rooms
We found the room very well presented, clean and tidy, and cleaned daily, well air conditioned, which you need as its really humid and hot out in the sun. Shower is outside which we both like, and similar to a Maldives type room. Safe, TV Cable all standard with coffee and water available too as the tap water isnt great to drink. Being ultra picky, the bed was a little hard, but not the end of the world. Try and get a room down the bottom of the resort, near to reception and the dive centre, its a walk up to the top of the resort, and its handy being near to the functioning part of the resort and diving and dining area.

Pool and Beach area.
Pool is lovely, water was fine, and seemed clean enough, and the seating area and deck chairs are spread well enough, wasnt too busy while we were there, but i imagine at capacity, may get quite busy. Pool bar is located next to it, and they are more than happy to serve and look after you.
The beach area is dark sand due to the volcanic nature of the island, and isnt really suiterd to lay on, relax on, its very stoney too, so getting into the water really need boots for snorkling swimming etc. They do sweep and clear around it daily though, and there wasnt rubbish laying around like other places.

Excursions and trips.
There are quite a few different ones to choose from including off road stuff, zip line, hot springs and walks. The main two are over to Apo Island and the Whale Shark trip which are both popular. We did both, Whale Sharks being one of the reasons for going in the first place. Now opinion slits with this, as the Whale sharks are being fed by a local protection group who have set up a viewing area of the coast line, where you hang under a boat, the water is filled with krill and before you know it, there are 10 to 15 sharks around you, and i mean, touching you, rubbing against you, they are everwhere you look and beautiful to watch! Now, is it right, maybe not, but its something that has to sit right with you, and go along with to enjoy the experience, or dont go! its very safge and well controlled and a great way to see such an amazing creature as close as youll ever get to a Whale shark.

Food.
Lots has been said about the food on offer. We found it to be of a good standard, with lots of choices on a fixed menu as well as being able to choose from an all day menu. Nice local dishes with a mix of steak, lamb and fish dishes noodles vegetables etc. Sometimes they run out of the harder to get things, and it would be nice to know that prior to ordering, but in general we enjoyed the selections available. Alcohol can be a little pricey especially bottles of wine, which they have wine tasting and a large seller for choice. Happy hour was nice for cocktails and a beer after diving all day.

Staff.
The staff in our opinion were fantastic, happy to be there and serve you with a smile. Gemma was lovely and very happy to chat and help you with whatever order you wanted. The management team are a mix of nationalities, both Oli's very helpful and take time to chat and ask how things are going and if they can help make your stay any better. Very friendly people and everything done with a smile.

To sum up, and very nice resort to stay at, mix of couples and families, there are kids running around but there are a couple of pools for them. The diving was different and very enjoyable seeing some new things and having different experiences, so id recommend staying here to anyone, well worth a visit for a week or so, and a really pleasant place to stay!

Room Tip: Lower numbers, near to the diving centre and reception areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Hi andymeen
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our little piece of paradise! We’re very pleased that you chose to holiday with us and that you enjoyed your time and would recommend us to others. How wonderful that we were able to show you another side of diving and that Arjay and Ian were able to show you all the incredible critters that Dauin and Apo have to offer. We’re sorry that there was some stormy weather while you were here which resulted in the stirred up visibility. Usually we have good visibility, so we hope you can come back and experience it again! We’re glad that you chose to enjoy the Whale Shark trip. Like you said, it really is an incredible experience and the community in Oslob have come a long way in conserving the beautiful giants rather than fishing them. The current set up is a step towards a better future. We hope you agree!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Fantastic resort, with beautiful facilities, villas, lawns, pools, a very peaceful atmosphere with great flowing energy, an unmatched quality of sleep for us again during our second stay, delicious food, interesting diving. And above all, the most distinguishing feature, extremely friendly and professional teams across the resort: reception, spa, restaurant staff, dive centre/divemasters, managers. So much work is done to make guests feel at home and in the middle of nature at the same time, it is very impressive. It was a pleasure the first time, it was fantastic the second time, a rare opportunity to reconnect with nature and recharge. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Hi Natalie
What a pleasure it is to read your review! We’re so pleased you made it back for a second visit, we have passed on your compliments to all our teams as it is their ultimate goal to make everyone feel happy and at home. We very much look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Fantastic resort, very clean, very friendly.
Fantastic food and well
Looked after.
Diving was ok but we did go after bad weather so vis was poor, if you love mud diving its a great place but no large pelagic stuff here

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank sinjinfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Hi sinjinfood
Thank you for the great comments and for visiting us here in Atmosphere. You’re right, most of our diving along the coast has some awesome critters. Sometimes we’re lucky to see some pelagic marine life in Apo Island, other than the turtles of course! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
4.4 km away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
5.5 km away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 17 in Dauin
72 reviews
7.2 km away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 17 in Dauin
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Vida Homes Condo Resort
5.1 km away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 4 in Zamboanguita
237 reviews
5.4 km away
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atmosphere Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atmosphere Resort

Address: Maayong Tubig | Dumaguete, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Dauin
#1 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range: €189 - €275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atmosphere Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated within an old coconut plantation on Negros Island, Atmosphere enjoys a spectacular beach front location alongside the warm waters of the Philippine Sea. Our welcoming staff, infinity pools, fine dining restaurant and tasteful, well equipped accommodation provides a melting pot of delightful experiences, making your stay with us unforgettable. Step into our breathtaking underwater world, surrender to the Spa, join a yoga class, snorkel in Apo Island, explore with your family - or simply relax by the pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Atmosphere Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atmosphere Hotel Dauin
Atmosphere Hotel Negros
Atmosphere Resort Negros
Atmosphere Resort Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing