We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel very nice and had a very nice entrance area as well as breakfast area
Breakfast was very good and had a nice range of good cooked food.
Bedroom was nice and clean furniture a little dated but overall a great night stay,

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank aligould89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear aligould89
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay. I am so pleased you enjoyed the varied range and quality of our food and beverage offering. The team work very hard to ensure that we look after all our guests so they return time and time again. I hope we can welcome back soon.
Kind Regards
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,629)
There are newer reviews for The Derbyshire Derby
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 402 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2016

We booked for this weekend on Groupon, at the time the reviews were very good, of late there were some really bad ones & we were not looking forward to the hotel experience...how wrong could we be. I really don't know where those reviews came from. The staff looked lovely in their uniforms very courteous & friendly. The restaurant staff were attentive & kept looking around to make sure the guests tables were cleared & that we had everything we needed....never saw them standing around talking to each other. The bedroom/ bathroom was quite acceptable & to a standard we are happy with, very clean & a comfortable bed. We thought the dinner menu was adequate, not a vast choice but plenty to satisfy anyone i would have thought, usually too many thing's on the menu means microwave but not at this hotel, everything so tasty. We were there for 2 nights & the chef had a different special menu both nights. The food was very good, what some people think is a lack of choice is made up with excellent quality. At reception on the centre table is a glass container of fresh herbs & sliced citrus fruits in water, it has a tap on the side & plenty of glasses around for a fill up as you wish...used glasses not left hanging around.
Well, i can only say that the hotel lived up to & over what we would expect of a weekend break. Well done to all the lovely staff & management who made our stay much better than we ever expected.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank gavsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Gavsi,
Thank you for your kind review and taking the time to write your detailed evaluation of your stay, our team pride itself on giving the best possible service and standards and we really appreciate you sharing this with us. I will ensure this is passed to the team. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon and please don't hesitate to contact myself for any future stays.
Kind Regards
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We visited the hotel after booking a special offer through travel zoo. Wasn't expecting too much but was very impressed. Lovely hotel, gorgeous food, helpful and friendly staff. Clean and well presented bedrooms. Def recommend and would not hesitate booking again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kcole2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Kcole2014,
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at The Derbyshire Hotel, I am so pleased you had a fantastic stay and Nathan the Head Chef will be thrilled you enjoyed the food. I hope we can welcome you back for another great stay soon.
Kind Regards
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We went to this hotel in March for one night with travelzoo. We had a good deal. This hotel was lovely, nice restaurant, we had a king size bed it was lovely and the breakfast was really good. We would go again.I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Sue M
I am so pleased to read your comments regarding your break away. Our Tempus Restaurant is lovely area in the hotel and I am so glad you enjoyed your evening meal and breakfast. I hope myself and the team can welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Me and my family visited derbyshire for the bank holiday weekend. When we got there we were greeted well and directed to our room. Once we stepped in to the rooms it was like stepping foot in a sauna. As we were in a rush to get somewhere we didn't have time to go to reception to complain about it. The sleep that night was terrible! sweating all night and had no sleep.

The next day we complained to reception about it and they said there was nothing they could do as the hotel was all booked up, and offered us an extra fan. The fan didn't help and in fact fans are known to make people ill with a cold if exposed to it for too long, therefore this should not be suggested by the hotel.

We also complained about the fact that the TV was not working, and we were reassured that it will be fixed. However, no one came. We tried contacting reception a number of times but no answer.

Food is overpriced there as well, and breakfast isn't great. I would go to Premier Inn which is opposite the hotel.

Overall a bad experience, would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dilen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear dilen007
I am saddened to read your review and stay over the Bank Holiday weekend. We receive so many very positive comment. I would be keen to speak with you personally so please do get in touch with me directly at the hotel.
Kind Regards
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
8.8 km away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,277 reviews
27.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
15.9 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
17.7 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,433 reviews
5.1 km away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range: €66 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing