We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every respect .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels business and leisure. The Derbyshire in terms value, quality and service could not be faulted. All staff had clearly been trained to give excellent customer service and Mark, duty manager certainly led by example - his warm friendly greeting on arrival then assistance with luggage to the room.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tennisbird2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
There are newer reviews for The Derbyshire Derby
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,291 - 1,295 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a deal from TravelZoo, and while we enjoyed our stay I would have been more complimentary about it, if only for the number of things that spoiled the stay.

The good points - staff attentive, helpful and friendly and dealt with any queries efficiently - location close to M1 and proximity to the open countryside of the Peak District make this an ideal place top stay - rooms clean and tidy - breakfast was plentiful (although with a full hotel the resturant struggled with the numbers at times) - large car park.

The bad points - my wife twice had to return her main course at the evening meal as it was cool/going on cold - WiFi never worked - the mattress on the bed was terrible (we asked it to be changed, we think they just turned it. so although better not perfect) - I found the taste of the organge juice at breakfast odd the first morning so avoided it the rest of the stay.

Room Tip: I think no room would be better placed than any other
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Middle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I have just spent 2 nights at this hotel on an excellent deal through Travel Zoo which included 2 nights with dinner, a bottle of wine and breakfast both days and full use of the spa facilities.

We had read mostly good reviews but our experience far outweighed our expectations.

The receptionist on check-in was great. Really friendly and helpful.

Our room was large, clean, included tea and coffee and free WiFi and overlooked the spa. There was a little noise from the nearby motorway, but nothing that disturbed our sleep.

We went to the spa on both days and it was spotless. Small but adequate pool, steam room, jacuzzi, sauna, gym.

Dinner on the first night was delicious. We had a deal for 2 courses plus wine and we both had a starter and main. On the second night, we had a main and dessert, which was delicious.

On the first night, we were woken by the fire alarm and had to evacuate the hotel at 2am! We were out for about 10 mins and the next morning we were so tired we missed breakfast. We went down around 11ish and the receptionist offered to arrange for some breakfast for us. We were the only people in the dining room, as they were preparing for dinner, but the waitresses were very friendly and brought cereal and egg and bacon sandwiches for us and gave us advice on the local shopping areas.

The breakfast buffet was really good. Only criticism is that the toast table was on the other side of the room to the hot buffet bar and I didn't even notice it until I was half way through my breakfast.

One other downside, bar drinks were very expensive and they could provide some entertainment or just some music in the evenings.

All in all, a great weekend and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing away from M1
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAPL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

this hotel reminded me of that old tv series of the seventies set in the midlands.
on first impressions, i think due to the staff uniforms.& general appearance of the hotel
ideally situated right next to the M1 i stayed here for 2 wks. rooms were spacious although
a bit outdated, could do with a good makeover.athough the large double beds very good.
wifi not free. (£4 for 8 hrs) although due to it's location it is a very busy hotel, i feel the
food was very expensive for the menu on offer, ie £13.95 for a very ordinary burger with 8
chips stacked on side. cheapest bottle of wine £19.99, which probably explains while i was
there, a lot of customers chose to go across the street to brewers fare restaurant for
reasonably priced better value meals & drinks. i must say that the pool steam room, sauna,
jacuzzi & gym are free to residents and excellent. the buffet breakfast in the hotel
restaurant very good and the staff efficient & helpful overall not a bad hotel, however prices
for wifi ( free in most hotels) and value for money regarding food & drinks lets it down in
many respects.

Room Tip: choose a room closer to reception area, as it can be a long walk along coridors to different wings...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graeme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Food ok to average, nothing amazing. Not delicious. Beef could have been more tender and sauce tasted like it came out of a packet. In fact dinner tasted as if it was all frozen, heated in a packet and then served. However, presentation was very good. Breakfast, ordinary and cheap, nothing special. Cold cheap croissants and cheap bread. Roast coffee was really really nice, nice nutty flavour.
Rooms-average to good, contained a lot of furniture, 5 lamps including a large floor lamp, so it felt a bit cramped. Decor is very late 70s to mid eighties. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room and the bathroom was spotless, and the shower was lovely and strong.
The staff are what makes this hotel, they were extraordinary. They were on the ball during breakfast, making sure your cup was filled with coffee or tea. They were friendly, professional and nothing was too much for them. We had a private dinner, and our waiters were quick, efficient and welcoming. The reception staff handled everything without effort and were warm and friendly. Well done to the staff of this hotel! The company just need to create a better homemade menu!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyPallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
8.8 km away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,269 reviews
27.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
15.9 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,430 reviews
16.7 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.1 km away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range: €65 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing