We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
210
96
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
96
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first floor temple tank south indian temple view temple bells red oxide white town small property dosa old world rooms are large tamil quarter the ground floor round the clock filter coffee homely feel home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

We booked Anantha heritage resort by seeing the reviews and we were not disappointed! The room was amazing, the ambience was just vintage and beautiful! The best part was that our room faced a temple and temple tank and it looked so lovely! Since we reached in the afternoon we were tired and hungry and asked for a simple lunch of curdrice and vegetable kootu which was served promptly and with so much warmth.
The morning breakfast was amazing too. A lovely place within reach of all important places in Pondicherry!
Keep it up!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank laxmi1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anantha H, General Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Mrs. Lakshmi Krishnamoorthy,
Greetings from Dravidian Hotels, Pondicherry !!!
Thank you for sparing your time in writing this feedback on the world travel portal of Tripadvisor. The feedback shows how you had enjoyed our place. Thank you for this feedback and this will definitely be a milestone and energize the team together in satisfying customers at large.
Looking forward to your stay again at the property to enjoy this property!!!
Have a wonderful day !!!
Kind regards,
Nagaraj N
Revenue Manager
9443468147

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is a budget hotel where you can spent your holidays without spending so much money.The rooms are clean and well organised.There is hot and cold water supply and the bathrooms are clean.overall the stay was nice

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Anjals12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anantha H, Front Office Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Valuable Guest,
Greetings from Dravidian Hotels, Pondicherry!!!
Thank you for the wonderful time taken to put this feedback on Tripadvisor... Looking forward to having you visit us again.
Have a beautiful day !!!
Kind regards,
Nagaraj N
9443468147
Reservations & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Anantha is a 150 year old Franco Tamil heritage stay, and it is restored beautifully, with modern comforts built in while giving the traveller a feel of the past.

You step in from a moderately busy street into a beautiful sunlit courtyard, where the sunlight draws patterns on the polished red floor. The sweet smell of incense, fresh flowers and old music wafting slowly through the speakers, build in the experience. The friendly staff welcome you in, and in no time, we are taken to our room on the ground floor. The room is large (we were two adults and two 6 year olds, and we had more than enough space). Our room has a almost a king size bed, and another single bed on the side. But the highlight of our room is a wooden and cane recliner which we all wanted to sit on at the same time.

The place is scrupulously clean, the staff is always helpful (we had food for the kids cooked without chillies), the breakfast is hot and piping! We also had dinner once, and the food is a delight to the senses.

The place is situated in the heritage area of Pondicherry, and one can walk to the beach, the promenade and the French Quarters.

I would highly recommend this place, for travellers seeking a heritage stay experience.

Room tip: The first floor rooms overlook the temple complex and a large tank in the temple. The ground floor rooms overlook the garden. Both are nice.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ShreelaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anantha H, General Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Mrs. Shreela Ghosh,
Greetings from Dravidian Hotels, Pondicherry !!!
Thank you for spending your valuable time in posting this feedback on the World Travel Portal of Tripadvisor. This really showcases how you and your family have experienced the property as a whole. This write-up will definitely be a feather in the Cap of our property. I still have the photos of your children mending themselves to make the Kolams.
Looking forward to seeing you again & again at our property to experience the rich culture of it.
Have a wonderful day & a great year ahead !!!!
Kind regards,
Nagaraj N
9443468147

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Visiting Pondicherry which is an indo French territory is always a treat you get to choose between the absolute Tamilian culture or the stunning French heritage.
Anantha heritage is a old house converted to a hotel with 6 rooms.
First floor has balcony’s and a lovely view. Very old school, lovely wooden interiors and Dravidian architecture makes this one of a kind place to stay at.
Mr. Fredrick and Nagaraj are mostly seen in the front of the house and are absolute gems in the hospitality industry.
They helped me surprise my parents who were on their anniversary trip with a cake and a card. Very warm and comforting stay. Breakfast is a choice between South Indian or continental though I think you should allow the guests to choose from both. On the whole top notch hotel with old world charm.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GauthamiShankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anantha H, General Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear Mrs. Gauthami Shankar,
Greetings from Dravidian Hotels, Pondicherry !!!
Thank you for the wonderful feedback on the world travel portal of Tripadvisor. It was a good time for your parents to have had a great time with us by enjoying the atmosphere and the place. Hope they arrived back safely. Had a long chat with your mother. Hope to see you sometime here to visit this place on enjoying the same as your parents did. This feedback will be definitely be a milage in the career of the Hotel as a whole. Thank you for the wonderful photos also.
Have a wonderful day !!!
Kind regards,
Nagaraj N
9443468147

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Overall, we had a good stay at Hotel Anantha Heritage in Pondicherry for one night (10/Aug). The room was nice and spacious on the first floor (small property with only six rooms). The location in tamil quarter overseeing perumal temple tank makes it special...the chants, music and feel is very devine.

There were issues with hot water (they have solar heaters, which don't work very efficiently all throughout the day/night - hence lot of water is wasted). It was reported to the staff, who was unable to address it. However, Mr. Nagraj (manager) came and met in the morning and had patient listening to our issue. I was provided with hot water bucket by the staff. While we are not fussy about those issues and do understand the genuine constraints, there are minimum standards expected from a three star heritage hotel with a decent price range. This is one of those minimum standards to be met.

However, I would not deter to recommend this place to others, as the management team (Mr. Nagraj and Mr. Fredrict) were very supportive. The breakfast (south indian) was hearty and the overall feel was great. To enhance the experience of guests, I would urge the management to work upon ancillary staff capacities to make it more professional and also improve on the management aspects. I do understand from Mr. Nagraj that there are few positive changes being considered by the management and will be addressed shortly.

The help offered by hotel in booking taxi and recommendation to visit Chidambaram temple and further ahead to backwaters and mangroves was very useful and visit to mangroves was highpoint of our trip.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ruchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anantha H, General Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Valuable Guest,
Greetings from Dravidian Hotels, Pondicherry !!!
Thank you for the wonderful time to write a fantastic feedback on the world travel of Tripadvisor. I and the team are always there to assist all the guests and satisfy their needs at all times. The issues as informed are being changed one by one. It was good to have you here that I could have your worries addressed and solve the issues to an extent. We have started enhancing the property with a light up already and would be of a different atmosphere in the days to come. Hope we will definitely remember you for sure on your next visit. Looking forward to having you at our property again & again.
Have a wonderful day !!!
Kind regards,
Nagaraj N
9443468147

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews