We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How the stay at Sea side Guest House can e more comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Guest House
Ranked #9 of 150 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“How the stay at Sea side Guest House can e more comfortable”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

It is good value for money. The basic cleanliness is good. Two things that need urgent improvement:
1. Ventilation at the abnormally small bathroom needs improvement. There is no exhaust, and it is so small that water spills over from the shower area and it never dries during the day. A wet bathroom cannot be a clean one. It needs at least an exhaust and a door mat outside the bathroom. It would have rated 'very good', but this feature alone reduced my rating.
2. It has a set of strange rules - such as even though the breakfast is complimentary, it has to be ordered the night before. We appreciate that they are trying to minimize wastage. But these rules are written in small typing in a Notice somewhere pinned up 9in the rooms. It would be so much more convenient if the guests are verbally informed of them during check-in, in addition to putting up notices.

Room Tip: Mention sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBaksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    60
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
90
22
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

this is the best property in ponducherry.it is located right on beach.the rooms are spotlessly clean. the place has aroma of pace and meditative atmosphere.the breakfast is part of meal.
the breakfast is specified veg/non-veg at the time of booking and is specific.the cost of AC rooms is much less than other properties of such location.smoking and drinking is not allowed but for such people just walk out of the gate ,cross the road - you are on beach to do what you like.rooms do not have TV - you won,t miss it ,as your balcony sea view will take all your time.
the property is assoicated with aruobindo ashram - they have fixed timings for community meditation.must do it once.
superb place to spend time with your family or meditation or evolving yourself.you can sit alone for hours together all by yourself.

Room Tip: opt for AC rooms facing beach on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramesh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We paid 1500 rupees for an air-conditioned on the second floor facing the sea. The price includes breakfast. The room was simple and spotlessly clean. The location is to die for. The view from our room was amazing. On our trip, we stayed in hotels paying 10 times more than this hotel but I would rate this simple' clean place as the best. You make direct calls from your room and they charge you only the cost of the call.

The place is owned by the Aurobindo Ashram and therefore is slightly regimented. You have to back in your before 11pm but you wouldn't want to be out in a foreign country after that time any way.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the second floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

My travel agent had booked a hotel which we did not turn out to be good. So, in the evening while taking a stroll on the promenade I and my sister checked out a few places where we could shift. After a few disappointing places we saw, we stumbled upon Seaside Guest House. One look at the neat and clean place and we decided we have to stay here. Luckily they had a room to spare. We didn't get a sea-view room but the location of the guest house (and the food) more than made up for it. Staying here, we were able to enjoy sunrise, sunset , late night stroll on the promenade, frequent walks to the ashram, market place etc etc.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sutscity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The Seaside Guest House in Pondicherry evokes an aura of calm as soon as you enter.The simple clean lines of the white tiled floors contrasted with the mission style brown woodwork creates a sense of order and a feeling of a protected space.There are many well tended plants throughout the hotel that give the the impression that this is a place well taken care of and that you as a guest may expect the same.The staff are all very attentive and respectful .The guest house is run by the Aurobindo ashram but it is also open to the general public-the category we fell into.The general orderliness,pristine conditions and the atmosphere are obviously influenced by this religious affiliation but it is not overbearing.The food is all vegetarian and of a high quality akin to home-cooked food.There are strict times for meals though and those that want to live at a more leisurely pace might want to forgo this service and eat out.The one great feature of this hotel which is worth it's weight in traveler's gold is the incredible view .We specified that we wanted a sea facing room and were blown away by the reality.The hotel is across the street from the Bay of Bengal and the rush of the ocean fills the room .The sunrises and sunsets are fabulous from the balcony.Another good thing to note is that the sea regulates the temperature of the room well .In January we had no need to use the air con and the hotel reduces your rates if you inform the front desk beforehand that you don't intend to use the AC.The hotel is in walking distance of the seaside promenade,the old town with its many French colonial buildings,churches etc , the Ganesh Temple and a pretty municipal green space called Bharati park as well as the central shopping district.Another plus about this hotel are the rates-they are very reasonable given the location and the quality of services . One thing to note is that the oceanfront mentioned is not a beach,it's a boulder covered shore;beaches are about 8km away so you'll need a taxi.

Room Tip: Specify - sea-facing upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Travlalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.6 km away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
4.8 km away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#11 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.6 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
3.4 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Guest House

Property: Seaside Guest House
Address: 14 Seaside Guest House Goubert Avenue, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing