We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An aesthetic retreat”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vatika Guest Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vatika Guest Home
Ranked #33 of 144 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An aesthetic retreat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Don't judge a book by its cover. This was the first thought that came to my mind when I entered the guest house! Contrary to what I had expected from its look outside, the room was very aesthetically furnished. With only 2 girls travelling, safety was our primary and most vital requirement. Located on the main road, a stone throw away from Ashram and a hip-hop distance from the beach, it is situated in a good location. Walking back at 10 pm has never looked this safe!

A lot has been said about the breakfast provided here. To make it very clear, this place has a lot of foreign tourists and breakfast might be fine tuned to cater to them. Fruits, brown bread and flavored tea is the simple breakfast provided. With restaurants located within a few meters of this guest house, food should not be a problem!

This review would not be complete without a note of thanks to the owner of this place, Datta. Normal checkin-checout timings in Pondi are 12:00 - 12:00. But Datta was kind enough to let us in by 7:00 in the morning, a gesture that we really appreciated. She is a lady of various talents, special human connection with every one of her guest, being the most valued one!

This place is ideal if you wanna retreat. No TV, no disturbance, it provides you with a serene environment to find yourself.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShubhaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    21
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
13
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I had work in Pondichery and hence decided to stay in Vatika Guest House. I recommend the guest house to any one who wants peace and tranquillity, a charming hostess and simple home food. Within walking distance of the sea front (about 5 minutes) the Vatika Guest House is definitely my idea of a holiday far from the madding crowd. The rooms are clean, air conditioned and all in all i had a wonderful stay thanks to Datta.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumitraChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

The rooms r cozy and beautifully decorated.

the only thing i would like to suggest the deadline to cm back to hotel by 10 pm is really early for ppl cmin from pune/mumbai ;)

and when there was a power shut down there was no power back up.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rashmi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london traveller
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed for 6 nights in this modern,clean,tastefully furnished guesthouse.On the borders of the French town it is well situated for easy access to the promenade and the numerous attractions of Pondy.The bedroom and adjoining bathroom were both spacious with a ceiling fan and aircon in the bedroom.The simple (but repetative) breakfast included the tastiest bread I ate in India and a different fruit daily.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

We (with my better half) reached Pondi on 5th Feb 2011. We had booked Vatika Guest House before hand. Couple of reasons for the selection.. 1. High ratings from trip advisor 2. Close to Beach and French Quarter 3. Availability of room when i started searching for a place just couple of days before :) .... Above all, it was real nice and cosy stay in Vatika. Rooms were clean and interiors were good but no TV. AC makes a bit of noise, but its fine for a nice sleep after you had a long day touring Pondi city and beach. They also had morning breakfast and evening tea. Breakfast is kind of very limited..just had bread, butter, jam and banana.

However, the best part of Vatika is its location. Just 100m from beah road and stone throw away to French quarter and Aurobindo ashram. Its perfect for people who want to explore Pondi and want to stay near the beach. Moreover, the owner of Vatika is a very charming lady. She is very kind and will surely care to help you make the most of your time in Pondi. Very thankful to all her gestures.

If i have to suggest on the improvements for Vatika, i would personally like to have a TV in the room and some more variety of food in breakfast. Other than this, the place is really cool for a place like Pondi.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankaj80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pondicherry
0.1 km away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
9.9 km away
The Ashok Beach Resort
The Ashok Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Kalapettai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 km away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
1.5 km away
Nila home stay
Nila home stay
#14 of 144 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatika Guest Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatika Guest Home

Property: Vatika Guest Home
Address: 67 Francois Martin Street, Pondicherry 605012, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Vatika Guest Home Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing