We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite the 4 star we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
preston, Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not quite the 4 star we expected”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at the Arona during the last week in February. The week didn't start well when we were surrounded by a group of Liverpool families together on the Plane, who were ignorant of everyone around them and there to be as loud and crude as possible,sums up Brits abroad !
Transfer was quick and easy and greeting at Reception was good with Champagne. We were put in a side room on Level 2 which initially we had misgivings about but the sun is on that side most of the day so better than some of the Pool and Sea views.
Whilst the room was very clean and quiet we had very small ants in the bathroom on the second day. We reported this and the guy came to look and spray but the following days they returned, you expect things abroad but they on the towels etc. so we were moved to a room at the end of the same floor which was fine.
If you want the best room for sun all day then ask for a room ending 60 to 71 eg 360 468' because these rooms will get sun almost all day, some of the other sea views didn't, although you are probably round the pool anyway. There are plenty of sunbeds and they take a dim view of people leaving towels and wandering off for hours, you usually get a notice on them, but as it was cloudy when we were there we never saw anyone's things get moved.
The buffet was ok, perhaps having cruised a lot we have used to better, it seem to get better as the week went on but sometimes it let itself down, seemed like some frozen things were used rather than fresh. There is a separate restaurant open on Tues and Thurs which is 17 eUro each, very fancy, very posh, and five courses but wasn't really sure what we had when we finished. All small portions but nice to be waited on.
The location is good, right at the far end of Cristianis, there are supermarkets etc across the road and it's about a five minute walk into the main part. It only takes five to ten minutes to get to anywhere busier and the beauty of Tenerife is that you can just walk and walk along the front. The entertainment was typical of a Tenerife Hotel but some nights was very good.
Overall a clean Hotel, acceptable food, reasonable entertainment and more suited to older people, everyone was quite old while we were there and we are not young!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gkbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,820
    1,007
    334
    105
    62
See reviews for
476
2,375
62
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We flew out for a 10 day break. We have not been to Tenerife for over 20 years and the first time we went it was peak summer season and we said never again. However a break at this time of year - February, 2012 - was excellent. So close only three and a half hours was ideal for us and we could go from our local airport.

The hotel was huge but extremely efficient and the quality of food and the standard of accommodation was second to none.

We were very lucky as we upgraded out room and had a lovely balcony on the fourth floor overlooking the pool and the sea - really lovely.

The waiters were magnificient!! It was buffet style which was ideal and choices of food was so good you were spoilt for choice. We were able to order wine almost as soon as we sat down and our plates were cleared very quickly.

Breakfasts were just as good with as many alternatives as you could wish. Fruit galore! and everything else that you could wish for - including chefs ready and waiting with the eggs any style.

Room Tip: We asked fior a high floor room - via mail as we had heard that the sun is not always on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4hindstrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We visited,last week,for the third time in 12 months and the standard has not altered.The food was of a high standard with excellent choice and very attentive,but unobtrusive,waiters and an extensive wine list.Our one minor niggle would be the soap/shower gel dispenser attached to the wall above the bath.Nothing beats a decent bar of soap.Whilst we have not yet arranged our next visit,it will not be too far away.Keep up the good work all at Arona Gran

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel to receive free taxi transfers and complimentary tea/coffee and safe in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobnjenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel in Feb 2012. It is indeed a beautiful hotel, overlooking the water. Our only disappointment was that when we arrived, we were informed that the Hotel was overbooked, and that we would have to spend the first night at their sister property, the Hotel Vulcano. The staff seemed to feel bad about this, and they offered us a complimentary dinner at their specialty restaurant, La Palapa; this really was a very nice meal.

Our room 341 was simple but quite adequate and well-kept, they had upgraded us to that room which had a nice view of the harbor. Our balcony was spacious, and had 2 lounge chairs. The 2 large heated pools were great, just warm enough to enjoy a swim.

The breakfast buffet was excellent, nice variety offered; we most of all enjoyed the freshly-made omlettes. Our only complaint was that the bacon was not crispy and the juices seemed a bit watery and tasteless.

The location is good, if one is willing to walk a bit; the town center and bus stop are a good 10-15 minute uphill walk. However there is a decent supermarket across the street. There is a small beach right outside the hotel; a nicer beach requires a 10-minute walk along the seaside promenade. There are numerous restaurants and cafe's within walking distance, most of them reasonably priced. As we we enjoy this variety, we never would take a half-board plan.

Don't forget to join the Spring Hotels club (you can do so on-line); you will get a discount on drinks and purchases at the gift shops.

Room Tip: As stated in other reviews, many rooms do not get any sun. If this is important, be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evelobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We visited the Arona Gran in Sept 2011 and enjoyed our stay. The accommadion is very comfortable. Food is excellent as are the amenities. Our only concern was the number of motorised scooters in use around the hotel. On 2 occasions I was nearly knocked over - once into the pool when the drives was reversing!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quinlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.4 km away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
1,953 reviews
0.5 km away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,157 reviews
0.9 km away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 14 in Los Cristianos
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,876 reviews
21.3 km away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
5.9 km away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Property: Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing