We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Harbour Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one week. Was anxious as I read some negative feedback on this place. But as it turned out it was lovely. The staff on reception were lovely, friendly and helpful. The pool area was quiet busy everyday but we chose to put our sunbeds on the patio area up the steps from the poolside. It was near enough still but great to relax and read your book. The bar area Is great and nice choice of snacks. There are lots of fabulous restaurants nearby and some great bars too. The supermarket is near also and everything you need is there. It's a good 15 minute walk to the beach but it's a lovely beach. Great array of bars ,restaurants and shops. The walk back is tough in the heat as the hill is steep. 3 euro taxi is well worth it. The highlander pub was a late bar near and had some brilliant live music and karaoke at night. And easy walk home at night. In all had a fab time and enjoyed our stay. Don't let the bad reviews put you off Castle Harbour it's a lovely spot. Nice clean , lovely gardens and relaxing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureenmakins0n, Manager at Castle Harbour Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. i will pass them onto all the staff who will appreciate them a much as I do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Just back from a weeks stay in castle Harbour . Lovely complex really lovely pool area & place spotless clean only negative has to be the hill that the hotel sits on . Walked it the first day but got taxis from then on cheap at €3.20 no need to drag yourself up that hill in the heat . Would deffo return . Stayed in room 327 couldn’t fault it at all .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank caro433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureenmakins0n, Manager at Castle Harbour Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for your review.
It was kind of you to take the time to write this.
I do hope you return soon to our complex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

The worst thing was that we only had cleaners come in once. The 4th day of our holiday - our towels were minging by then! Other places we stay in change bed linen and towels every 2 days. They charged 2 euros per day for sunbeds, and 1 euro per day for a hairdryer. The reception staff were unfriendly. Apart from that the location is too far away from the main area - shops and restaurants. Steep hill back to apartment. We don't recommend this place.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureenmakins0n, Manager at Castle Harbour Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

As I have explained in the past, any payment for an apartment goes directly to the Owner and not to the Community who have to pay for the Lifeguard that is required by the Touristic Laws. This is why we as a Community, make a charge for sunbeds.
However it is very rare that guests pay 2 euros per day as we offer discounts in Reception

Each apartment is privately owned, so although many Owners do leave hairdryers for guests to use, not every Owner does. The companies that hires out equipment such as hairdryers are not linked to us financially. They are established businesses in their own right. We have no control over their prices, nor do we receive any monies from this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Our first time to Tenerife, we stayed for 10 days. From looking at other reviews, I think people don't understand that the apartments are privately owned which is why there are charges for wifi, sunbeds etc as it pays for the upkeep of the pool, lifeguard etc. The sunbeds were still cheap and you can buy in bulk if you are a sun worshiper. We didn't buy wifi, there's lots of places nearby that offer free wifi. The staff were really friendly and approachable. We played tennis for 5 euros and the pool area was really clean with a drinking water machine which was cheap and saves lugging water from a shop. There's a local market by the beach on a Tuesday and Sunday and 3 supermarkets nearby. It's about a 20 minute walk to the beach front and a little further to get to Las Americas. Lots of places nearby for breakfast/lunch/tea. There's a really nice place out the back of the apartments - Don Queoto - which does really nice pizza, homemade pasta and Spanish dishes and the staff look after you really well. It's really cheap to eat in town, e.g. 3 courses for 10 euros, between 1 and 3 euros a pint. There's a pool bar that does nice snacks and there was a quiz on the Thursday which we really enjoyed. Our room was clean and had a hob, toaster, kettle and microwave, some apartments had washing machines too. We had a lovely balcony on the front of the building looking onto the hills/sea/town. Our towels were changed every 3/4 days and bedding changed once.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RainbowBenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureenmakins0n, Manager at Castle Harbour Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hopefully you will return soon to our beautiful island and book in at our complex again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Very nice room, good kitchen facilities, plenty of coat hangers in the wardrobes.
very upset you have to pay for sun beds also have to wait til at least 9\:00 until the life guard is on site to take your ticket. Not a big area to put sun beds they could do with storing the sun beds in one area if they wish to carry on being mean and charging for the use of them. No free WIFI, I find this most out of order charging to hook up. I had to complain in order to get the towels changed but the beds got over looked. The people who run this place are out to rip us holiday makers off. the crazy thing is they dont have the electricity on the card system so we left the fan on all day in the room. made sure we wasted their electricity. I have stayed in cheaper apartments and got free use of sun beds, wifi, bedding change and towels changed. oh yes and water bottles can be filled by the pool for a charge.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureenmakins0n, Manager at Castle Harbour Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Unlike a hotel, we do not have additional funds to pay for the upkeep of the pool and the lifeguard required by touristic laws, not for the cost of the wifi.
Each apartment is individually owned and the money paid for an apartment goes directly to the Owner and not to the Community. Not every Owner in the community rents out their apartment, so the only way to pay for the Lifeguard and for the wifi is to make a charge.
The pool area has to be cleaned every morning, so it is just not possible to open the sunbeds before 9am.
The water machine allows you to buy water at 50 cents a litre, which is a considerable saving when compared to the price of bottled water in the supermarket.
The rental company who are responsible for the cleaning and linen changes of apartments are a separate entity from the community, but they are available every day in the office next door to Reception should anyone have an issue. They work hard to ensure their clients are happy with the facilities they offer.
I feel sorry for the Owner of this particular apartment who may now find their electricty bill has increased considerably simply because someone wanted to get their own back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.9 km away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,534 reviews
0.6 km away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#8 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,042 reviews
0.8 km away
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
#11 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Los Cristianos
2,182 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Andrea's
Hotel Andrea's
#12 of 13 in Los Cristianos
234 reviews
0.3 km away
The Suites at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Harbour Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Harbour Apartments

Address: Avenida San Francisco 12, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Los Cristianos
Price Range: €49 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Harbour Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Harbour Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Harbour Apartments Hotel Tenerife
Castle Harbour Apartments Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing