We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Harbour Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Our first time to Tenerife, we stayed for 10 days. From looking at other reviews, I think people don't understand that the apartments are privately owned which is why there are charges for wifi, sunbeds etc as it pays for the upkeep of the pool, lifeguard etc. The sunbeds were still cheap and you can buy in bulk if you are a sun worshiper. We didn't buy wifi, there's lots of places nearby that offer free wifi. The staff were really friendly and approachable. We played tennis for 5 euros and the pool area was really clean with a drinking water machine which was cheap and saves lugging water from a shop. There's a local market by the beach on a Tuesday and Sunday and 3 supermarkets nearby. It's about a 20 minute walk to the beach front and a little further to get to Las Americas. Lots of places nearby for breakfast/lunch/tea. There's a really nice place out the back of the apartments - Don Queoto - which does really nice pizza, homemade pasta and Spanish dishes and the staff look after you really well. It's really cheap to eat in town, e.g. 3 courses for 10 euros, between 1 and 3 euros a pint. There's a pool bar that does nice snacks and there was a quiz on the Thursday which we really enjoyed. Our room was clean and had a hob, toaster, kettle and microwave, some apartments had washing machines too. We had a lovely balcony on the front of the building looking onto the hills/sea/town. Our towels were changed every 3/4 days and bedding changed once.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RainbowBenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureenmakins0n, Manager at Castle Harbour Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hopefully you will return soon to our beautiful island and book in at our complex again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017

Very nice room, good kitchen facilities, plenty of coat hangers in the wardrobes.
very upset you have to pay for sun beds also have to wait til at least 9\:00 until the life guard is on site to take your ticket. Not a big area to put sun beds they could do with storing the sun beds in one area if they wish to carry on being mean and charging for the use of them. No free WIFI, I find this most out of order charging to hook up. I had to complain in order to get the towels changed but the beds got over looked. The people who run this place are out to rip us holiday makers off. the crazy thing is they dont have the electricity on the card system so we left the fan on all day in the room. made sure we wasted their electricity. I have stayed in cheaper apartments and got free use of sun beds, wifi, bedding change and towels changed. oh yes and water bottles can be filled by the pool for a charge.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureenmakins0n, Manager at Castle Harbour Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Unlike a hotel, we do not have additional funds to pay for the upkeep of the pool and the lifeguard required by touristic laws, not for the cost of the wifi.
Each apartment is individually owned and the money paid for an apartment goes directly to the Owner and not to the Community. Not every Owner in the community rents out their apartment, so the only way to pay for the Lifeguard and for the wifi is to make a charge.
The pool area has to be cleaned every morning, so it is just not possible to open the sunbeds before 9am.
The water machine allows you to buy water at 50 cents a litre, which is a considerable saving when compared to the price of bottled water in the supermarket.
The rental company who are responsible for the cleaning and linen changes of apartments are a separate entity from the community, but they are available every day in the office next door to Reception should anyone have an issue. They work hard to ensure their clients are happy with the facilities they offer.
I feel sorry for the Owner of this particular apartment who may now find their electricty bill has increased considerably simply because someone wanted to get their own back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

3rd year on the trot and will be returning, great pool including kids area, no noise at night so great for families, staff helpful,run out of toilet roll so asked reception they just gave us some more, pool bar great quality & value, basic but clean apartments, ok for self catering, 15 minute walk to sea front, 3.50 Euro for a cab back up to hotel if walking is too much. Lots of bars, restaurants and entertainment nearby so can stay local if you wish, all in all a great holiday and looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, facing the sea if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureenmakins0n, Manager at Castle Harbour Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

I was so pleased to read your review.
One of our strengths is the people who return year on year.
They become friends and almost part of our community.
I look forward to seeing you next time.
I do not recognise your name, but I am sure I would know your face.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel only paid £630 for myself and my husband. Well firstly our towels have been changed once in a week and im guessing this is because i kicked up a stink about it hence why they gave us clean ones. Had to ask for toilet rolls aswel which is absoultely terrible. The lady thats mostly on reception (who never had a name badge) her attitude is disgusting asking me to leave my key i get security reasons etc but we are not children. Never used the resort once due to the fact you have to pay for sun loungers in my eyes is appalling. The wifi isnt free. Also myself ans my husband are covered in bite marks probarly from the beds will seek medical advice when i get home. Avoid this hotel as its a conplete hell hole. Its shared hotel were people have bought apartments. Los Cristianos is very nice loads of english and scottish bars all very freindly. Shame the hotel let it down big time. If i could rate a zero i would!!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureenmakins0n, Manager at Castle Harbour Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Could you please tell me which apartment you stayed in?
I would like to investigate your complaints personally
We take all complaints seriously, but any suggestions that we have problems with cleanliness is of paramount importance and needs to be checked immediately.
Did you book through the official agency or privately?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful spacious studio on 6th floor with large balcony. Fab pool. Peaceful, quiet and stars very bright in the dark sky. We loved it here. Yes, it's a heck of a hill up from seafront but taxi was 3.50 euros and well worth it. Easy 20 min walk downhill from front entrance. What reception did not tell us when we arrived starving at 10pm (they told us to go out front and walk downhill to restaurants, which were a good way away) was to get out of lift at 2nd floor and walk past pool to El Paso restaurant, which is part of the complex or walk out of rear entrance of complex across the road from there to Don Quixote restaurant. Good little supermarket out of rear entrance and down the hill one minute on opposite side. Nearly next to supermarket is lovely family-run traditional restaurant Coy. Further down a few minutes outside Taurus steakhouse (very expensive and not good) is taxi rank. Any taxi booked by apartment reception is dearer by about 20% (we assumed they get commission) plus they charge you 30 cents to book one! Resort itself is charming and not too busy. Wonderful boat trips (we saw whales and dolphins on every trip), inexpensive food and drink in wide choice of bars and restaurants, lovely palm tree prom with lots of benches, good beach facilities (wooden boardwalks, showers, loos). Lovely holiday

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureenmakins0n, Manager at Castle Harbour Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you loved our complex, and hope to see you return.
I take your point about the Reception not telling you about restaurants locally when you arrived late, and will suggest we leave a list of local Restaurants that serve meals late for guests.
With regard to the taxis, we do not get commission from them The taxi companies put an automatic charge on any pick up from a hotel, complex, bar etc. Anywhere rather than from the taxi rank incurs this charge which the company keep.
The 30 cent charge is to cover the phone call. We are not a hotel with additional funds to cover these costs. Sorry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.9 km away
Sol Arona Tenerife
Sol Arona Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,572 reviews
0.6 km away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#8 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,050 reviews
2.5 km away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Los Cristianos
2,216 reviews
0.8 km away
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
#11 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,101 reviews
0.3 km away
The Suites at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Harbour Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Harbour Apartments

Address: Avenida San Francisco 12, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Los Cristianos
Price Range: €50 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Harbour Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Harbour Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Harbour Apartments Hotel Tenerife
Castle Harbour Apartments Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing