We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,620)
Filter reviews
1,620 results
Traveller rating
607
649
221
88
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
649
221
88
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool thomas cook man made lagoon lagoon area half board cocktail bar lovely hotel salt water lagoon piano player sea view relaxing holiday fish evening entertainment mini golf crazy golf breakfast and dinner per day
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,620 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of 4 week commencing 7th July 2018. Hotel is beautiful and very clean. Pool area is great albeit having to put towels down at 7am otherwise no beds available, even though signs around saying not to reserve beds. Views from the pool area are stunning. Rooms are cleaned everyday and have everything you need. Buffet breakfast and dinner is okay, lots of choice but was pretty much the same every day. Spa was nice, but not very big, 10 people in there and it looked busy. The hotel itself is up on a hill away from the beach and resort of Costa Calma. We were very disappointed to find on our first day that the ‘lagoon’ pool and beach area was completely drained and just an empty concrete bowl!! We would have preferred Thomas Cook to notify us before we arrived or even the receptionist letting us know on arrival rather than going down there and finding out ourselves!! No notices anywhere to say why or when it was to be filled again. We were very disappointed as the lagoon and beach area is a main reason we chose this hotel! Mini golf is available at €3 per person. There is a shop on site, pool bar for snacks etc, an evening bar with entertainment every night. Overall, nice hotel but wouldn’t stay here again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank stephparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeachotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear stephparry,

Thank you for reviewing us. We feel sorry that our hotel could not meet your expectations. Nevertheless, we appreciate your remarks, as they help us to improve our services on a daily basis. We hope welcoming you back soon to show you from our best side and to convince you of our improvements.

Kind regards,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Very bad experience in this hotel. The staff was rude and I was called a thief by the receptionist when I asked to give me back the 10 euros deposit for the towel. Nice location but I will not come back to this place because of the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hamacaparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeachotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear hamacaparis,

Thank you for your review. We feel sorry, that our hotel could not meet your expectations and apologize for any happened inconveniences. Nevertheless we would be happy having you back another time to show our better side.

Kind regards,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Myself & my partner recently stayed at the r2 rio calma hotel..the hotel was beautiful & clean....the pools are beautiful & the views are stunning however the evening entertainment was absoloutly shocking & unfortunatly we found ourselfs boredin the evening.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Claire Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeachotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Claire Louise B,

Thanks for your feedback and your positive comments about the hotel. We apologise if the entertaintment didn´t meet your expectations. Nevertheless, we hope you have spent nice and relaxing vacations in our hotel! We would be happy welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

The Hotel rio calma is very good, quite big, different swimming pools and heated swimming pool (around 27 degrees). It was very useful to have access to all hotel places with the baby stroll! It is a bit windy but still very pleasant to relax, for windsurf and kitesurf lovers there is a place 5/10min by walk to rent equipment.
The rooms are good, big spacious with balcony, quite happy.
At the beginning we were welcome by Mrs Klaudia at the reception desk, she was a 5 stars employee: extremely polite, patient and professional.
Breakfast & Dinner : I would grade 8 out of 10, great quality and a lot of variety. From sparkling wine at the breakfast to steak, shrimps, sushi at the dinner I was surprised. Each evening they have a different theme for the menu, well done.

To improve: despite the low price of internet (1 euro a day) it requires to log in several times per day & reset the router.
You shouldn't charge to use the safe in our room. It's just silly, e.g> I am not using the safe, if the values will get stolen who will be responsible? ("bad marketing")

Staff: very friendly across whole hotel, special in the dinning area. Our baby couldn't stop laugh with them, great atmosphere!

Thank you for the nice vacation

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuelSMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeachotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Manuel,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our food and your vacation overall. Also, thank you for praising our staff. We are always giving our best and are very happy to provide a great stay for our guests.
We would be happy welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

This was our third time to the hotel and we were not disappointed. The hotel is set in the most beautiful and well maintained grounds, the swimming pools are excellent as is the spa facility. The staff are extremely hard working and pleasant. The food was once again plentiful with lots of options. I am now on a diet!

A real plus point for me is the cats who live in the grounds and are cared for by a charity. I do wish I had asked what their names were!

My only criticism is the fact the bar on the upper floor was closed during are stay and although the piano bar is very good it finishes early and it would have been nice to have had an alternative. I was also a little disappointed with the wifi which didn't work terribly well in our room or some areas of the hotel. I think an upgrade may be a good idea since the facility is chargeable.

However it was a lovely relaxing stay at a beautiful hotel and the staff are excellent. A special mention to Nelson the waiter who always goes the extra mile.

Room Tip: Sea view higher floor
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzie201805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeachotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Lizzie,

Thanks for reviewing us. It is nice to hear that you have spent relaxing vacations in our hotel. We feel flattered reading your positive comments about our facilities and staff. We are always giving 100% and are happy when our guests see this. Since we want to improve constantly we also appreciate your remarks for improvement. Thanks. We are looking forward seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews