We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveller rating
342
213
71
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
213
71
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view local coffee room description spectacular hotel towelling robes luxury holiday local spar shop sun loungers litre bottle classy hotel cooler days elderly german dinner sittings fashion show half board suit most tastes all departments
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 658 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Room Tip: Ask for seventh floor rooms as they have the best view.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Having being bumped to this hotel, without notice, it appeared from the welcome we received, we were expected to be grateful for rooms that were distinctly substandard from the ones we had booked in the original Hotel. No effort was made to apologise in anyway for the inconvenience caused. It was a great start to the holiday - not.

This is a huge hotel, predominantly catering for German guests, some who, during our stay, did not appear to be able to read the signage about not reserving sun-loungers, written in 4 different languages including German. There were also some guests who would talk quite loudly and rudely about the English guests. What they did not take into account was all of our party speak more than just English. It was also clear from a few staff, they were not that keen on the English guests, especially one of the pool bar staff, who made it difficult for one of our party, who speaks four languages, except Spanish or German, to order drinks.

The hotel itself is clean, if not a little tired in places. The bedrooms were the same. The cleaning service was random. Despite asking twice one of our rooms did not have the sheet changed the whole week and on several occasions, only one small towel was left in the bathroom in my room. I did read in another review about chocolates on the pillows in the evening - I think we must have been staying in the cheap end of the hotel, as anything extra was chargeable. Maybe that is why one of the bedlinen was not changed - it wasn’t paid for.

The food was plentiful and of a reasonable quality. Queuing for the food stations was questionable, but the serving staff ensured we did not go without.

Did we enjoy ourselves - yes, but then we enjoy ourselves wherever we go as a group.
Would we go back - no, it was not the small adults only hotel with large balconies and larges rooms we have booked.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank LittleLreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear LittleLreviews,

We thank you for have taken the time to write a review of our SBH Costa Calma Palace. Thank you as well for sharing your thought with us. We are sorry to read that you were not happy with some aspects of our hotel.

Firstly we would like to say that every single guest, regardless of nationality, is important for us. We are very proud to host a mix of English, French, Italian, Spanish, German, Dutch, Swedish, Finish, etc. We want to make the stay of all our guests as comfortable as possible.

All our guests receive the same service and attention regardless of the room type our guest had booked. Our housekeeping is taken care of the hygiene and cleanliness of the hotel and therefore the rooms. The bed linen is changed 3 times a week and towels can be changed on a daily basis if the guest wishes so. We will inform our housekeeping concerning your comment immediately.

To ensure an excellent service and a pleasant atmosphere we offer our guest two different dinner times. That way we ensure our guest can enjoy their dinner to fullest and won’t encounter big queues at the buffet.

We are very sorry to read you would not come back to enjoy your holiday with us. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

A.I holiday. I have just returned from a week at the Costa Calma beach resort with my friend and it was lovely. The staff were very helpful and efficient. The outside areas were lovely, the beach areas and bar area were spacious and plenty of sunbeds. The meals were plentiful always found something we liked. We thought the children’s entertainment was a little late and for the size of hotel could have done with another entertainment room. And perhaps some bingo for us older ones. The rooms were lovely. We had a corner sea view. The cleaning lady even left us a chocolate each on our pillow which was a lovely touch.All in all an enjoyable holiday.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank crazykate49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Crazykate49,

Thank you very much for your nice review of our hotel SBH Costa Calma Palace.
It is very great to know that you enjoyed your holidays here with us.

Our hotel is located by the main beach in Costa Calma. Luxury, elegance, beauty and thalassotherapy make our hotel a perfect place for your holidays. Lots of our guests book our hotel because of the tranquillity and our excellent service. We do not offer entertainment during the day but we have a variety of shows during the evening.

Our chefs and cooks prepare all our foods with an eye to detail and put a lot of passion into their work. We offer our guests a big range of food and lots of guests comment very positively about it here on TripAdvisor.

It would be a pleasure to host you again very soon.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We should be able to give this hotel an excellent review however three minor issues detracted us from being able to do so. The first was, after an eight hour journey, upon arrival we were coerced into renting a safety deposit box for the two weeks we were due to stay for 50 euro. Annoyingly this had to be paid for up front and was not allowed to be added to the room charges. The second was the abysmal Wi-fi which was only concentrated around the reception area. It was not only very poor but inconsistent and should not had been highlighted as availability throughout the hotel. So the lesson here is take more cash then you believe your going to need and be prepared for significant roaming charges to keep abreast of whats happening in the outside world. As the TV in the rooms only has two English speaking channels which are BBC World News and Sky News. The third issue is the cost of bottled still water, we were paying 2.10 euro for a 330 centilitre bottle at dinner. In comparison we purchased an eight litre bottle of still water from a Spa Supermarket some 150 metres from the hotel entrance for 1.00 euro. Admittedly this was a special offer on the day but the true price was only 2.00 euro anyway. We would suggest that the hotel management should consider curtailing the copious quantities of sparkling wine consumed as part of the board package at breakfast and have cold water available in the evening instead. This would make far better sense for the majority of people who do not want to drink alcohol first thing in the morning but can purchase wine in the evening if they wish in addition to the water supplied.
Having said all that, which we found frustrating, we did enjoy our holiday. The hotel is great and is situated in a fantastic location. The staff especially the catering team and waitresses were friendly and cheerful. The room cleaning was thorough and done daily to a high standard also any maintenance issues were dealt with immediately. However we would have to agree with other reviewers that the hotel itself is tired in parts and in need of refurbishment. It is well cared for but is in some areas in urgent need of some TLC.
Finally we should say, that forearmed is forewarned, and we would happily return to this hotel and location. The hotel is quiet and a good nights sleep is guaranteed the surrounding area is beautiful with all the facilities needed to allow a stress free holiday.

Stayed: April 2018
4  Thank SOCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear SOCD,

We thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our hotel SBH Costa Calma Palace.

We are very proud to welcome guests of different nationalities. Many Germans, Spanish people, English people as well as many others visit us every year.

Our food has a high place in our house and this is one of the reasons for the high number of repeaters in our hotel. Our products are always fresh and cooked by our chef. Water as well as all other drinks we offer in our hotel is obviously not included in the half board package. Our guests have the possibility to book full board plus. Then the drinks are included during lunch and dinner. We regret that you think that our drinks are extremely expensive. For example a soft drink costs 2 € or a small beer 2.10 €. These are not uncommon prices here in the Canary Islands.

Our maintenance team is on duty everyday to repair minor faults and if needed assist the guests with anything they might need.

Extras like Wifi or safe are charges for the guarantee a very good basic rate. We are very sorry that you were not informed about it prior to your stay even though it is explained in all travel catalogues.

We will look into installing more English channels for our English speaking guests.
It would be nice to have the opportunity to welcoming again.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We were on a Tui a la carte holiday which we booked at the last minute when our original trip was cancelled due the British weather (beast from the east) we needn’t have worried as from the moment of our arrival we loved this hotel.
On arrival although the dining room service was over there was a salad snack for us. Pepe directed us to our room and we were so pleased we had emailed ahead as having read about the restricted views from Floor 4 we asked for a full sea view. We were not disappointed with room 117, which has great views over the pool and then to the beach and the sea. There are 2 lounger beds on the balcony and we had full sun until about 3:00pm. This was great when the wind was blowing as the balcony was a real sun trap.
As has been said the rooms are spacious and with a small undercounter fridge and a kettle we could enjoy all the comforts of an early morning cuppa and cold drinks before dinner ( bring your coffee and tea bags and buy milk from local Spar, just up the road)
The food was always good and plentiful. Breakfast can be taken outside and there are several cooking stations supplying all manner of hot food. We were on half board and the second sitting for dinner. We originally had been allocated a rather quiet and poorly lit table but speaking to the maitre d’ this was changed to a much better location closer to the buffet. All the food was good and a great choice which should suit most tastes. There is a good range of gluten free options but if you need this do mention it to the Head Chef so he’s aware of your needs. The only minor criticism would be that drinks with dinner are expensive with wine at 14 Euro per bottle and water is only served from 33cl bottles at 2.20 euros each so it could be easy to run up a large bill but you’re on holiday! The waiters are all very friendly and always acknowledge and greet you with a smile.
The hotel facilities are good, there is never a problem getting a sun bed, the spa pool is warm which was great to use on cooler days, yes clothing is optional in the sauna and steam room but there’s no compulsion to strip off if you don’t want to, just remember lots of eye contact and take a towel to sit on!
Just one minor grumble and that’s with the WiFi which has all been said before but such a good hotel in this day should have a much better service.
Yes for the British we are very much in the minority but the Germans were all polite and did engage in conversation with us and although it was good to seek out other Brits the whole atmosphere was calm and unhurried. Remember also that this is a hotel for mainly retired folks so it’s not recommended if you want lots of activities and events. The evening entertainment is mediocre and standard hotel fare. Beware of the fashion show which was all in German and did go on. Still there’s always a cocktail to numb the pain!
Special thanks to Pepe who was so helpful during our stay and especially on our last day when he allowed us to stay in our room longer.
All in all a great holiday and we will return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank richmar1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Richmar1104,

We are very pleased to read that you had such a great time in our SBH Costa Calma Palace and want to thank you for using Tripadvisor to share your experience with us and others travellers.

Our hotel is located by the main beach in Costa Calma. Luxury, elegance, beauty and thalassotherapy make our hotel a perfect place for your holidays. Lots of our guests book our hotel because of the tranquillity and our excellent service. We do not offer entertainment during the day but have a variety of shows during the evening.

Our chefs and cooks prepare all our foods with an eye to detail and put a lot of passion into their work. We offer our guests a big range of food and lots of them comment very positively about it here on TripAdvisor. Water as well as all other drinks we offer in our hotel is obviously not included in the half board package. There is also the possibility to book full board plus. Then the drinks are included during lunch and dinner. We regret that you think that our drinks are extremely expensive. For example a soft drink costs 2 € or a small beer 2.10 €. These are not uncommon prices here in the Canary Islands.

Of course, we will keep in mind all your comments and suggestions as we can continue to improve and try always to offer our best to our guests.

It will be a pleasure for all our staff to welcoming you soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews