We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach....well worth finding ”
Review of Sotavento Beach

Sotavento Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

We loved this beach, we explored most of the island during our week's holiday.

The water was lovely and clear and when we visited very calm as not much wind.

Also loved the lagoon that filled up when we were there, looked ideal for children.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank PlymouthGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"kite surfers"
in 30 reviews
"water sports"
in 14 reviews
"white sand"
in 15 reviews
"clean water"
in 5 reviews
"be aware"
in 14 reviews
"risco del paso"
in 6 reviews
"crystal clear water"
in 4 reviews
"a bit windy"
in 4 reviews
"tide"
in 38 reviews
"lagoon"
in 56 reviews
"beach"
in 197 reviews
"miles"
in 31 reviews
"costa"
in 26 reviews
"sunbathing"
in 21 reviews
"fuerteventura"
in 32 reviews
"dunes"
in 10 reviews
"paradise"
in 16 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2018

Excellent beach to practice kitesurfing of windsurfing in the winding season. Since wind is mostly offshore here, it is good to contact the René Egli shops and inquire about the rescue service.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Ard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Stunning views, beautiful very wide beach, especially when the tide is low. We go to Fuerteventura every year and visit that beach every time. A bit windy but the turquoise water and gorgeous views recompense the wind. Even better if you fancy some windsurfing

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank ewaWx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Perhaps it was because we visited in December and it wasn't really suitable for spending any time on the sand, but I didn't particularly find Sotavento Beach that attractive. It would probably have looked more inviting if the tide had been higher so that the lagoon was formed.
The second to last stop on our day trip around the island before heading back to Corralejo, I wouldn't have minded if we'd skipped it altogether.
As with all of the island, the bleakness and scrubby surrounding landscape took a lot of getting used to.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank S5363GSanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Pro mě nejkrásnější pláž na Fue (a že jsme leželi na mnoha). Naprostá nádhera, plnění laguny byl úžasný zážitek...

For me this is the best beach at Fue. Beautiful, what i enjoyed the most was flooding the lagoon..

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Barbora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sotavento Beach also viewed

Morro del Jable, Pajara
Morro del Jable, Pajara
 

Been to Sotavento Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing