We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveller rating
325
184
35
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
184
35
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private courtyard jacuzzi bath half board duck pond secret escapes total privacy senior suite unusual hotel each pod large bedroom freshly cooked eggs silver service salad buffet pillow menu sitting room coffee maker sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 574 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

This COULD be a very good hotel and indeed it has some good points: friendly and welcoming staff; excellent breakfast buffet; sheltered personal sunbathing area (not that there was much sun); and decent sea views.

What spoils this hotel is its grasping attitude. Loss of valuables is not covered unless the safe is used, but there is a charge for the safe. A coffee maker is provided but you have to pay for the coffee (we bought our own from the supermarket. Wifi is chargeable. Worst of all, there are no irons - you have to pay to use the laundry service even if you just want to iron a creased shirt.

We stayed on a b&b basis and I suspect we were one of the few that did. We did try to eat dinner one evening but the menu did not have prices and we gathered that dinner was only available for those who had prepaid full board. The menu was pretty boring anyway!

For anyone considering staying here b&b there are a few decent restaurants but most require a hike into town, although the Terraza del Gato just outside the hotel is pretty good (we ate there 4 times).

In summary, then, a potentially excellent hotel is spoiled by the the need to charge for absolutely everything (it's not exactly a cheap hotel). The only other example of this approach was on a cruise ship - I've never found it in an upmarket hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Watchful_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear Watchful_traveller,

First of all thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
We are very sorry if you lost something, unfortunately you have to rent the safe in all hotels in europ, if not it is already charged on the room price. The hotel is not responsible for valuables that are not kept in the safe, that's the way it is worldwide, we are really sorry!
Of course, you could have eaten in the hotel, the front desk could have give you more information about dinner settings and prices.
We have a daily changing menu, and we do not think it's boring.

Kind regards

Jose Gonzalez Allende
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Unique architecture, quiet, eco-friendly grounds - as in no grass, all volcanic rock and cactus. Rooms are good, each has a private relaxing area outdoors with shower. Best part is that it is five minute walk to a great beach.

Room Tip: They are separate units and all very nice.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Bobmac1314,

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel. We are glad that you felt well at the hotel.
Hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards

Jose Gonzalez Allende
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We stayed here at the end of January and very much enjoyed our stay.
All the staff were so friendly from the moment we arrived at reception. Also the waiting staff who were always working hard but were always cheerful. The biggest and friendliest smiles came from the lovely lady who looks after the gardens. It was always a delight to bump into her, and the gardens are so well looked after.
We also thought the food was very good on all the nights. Much better than most tourist hotels offer.
The negatives were only very small. The biggest one that seemed to annoy others as well is there is no WiFi in the rooms!
The coffee served as standard in the restaurant is not very good. You can get a Cappuccino or Latte, but you need to ask for it.
The other very small thing is there needs to be a small table between the beds.
But overall, very happy

Room Tip: You have to ask if you want to have a Cappuccino or Latte. For lunch, the little restaurant just outside the back gates is very good.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank spikeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Spikeyuk,

Thank you soooo much for your lovely review of the hotel!!! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for mentioning the Graden Lady Sandra, she is very important for us because she also take care of all our animals with so much love.
We have Wifi on the rooms but wit a extra charge of 1,50€.
All the staff and myself hope to see you soon again!

Yours sincerely

Jose Gonzalez Allende
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We spent 5 nights here running away from the UK weather and to have a break from builder blues. It alleviated the symptoms of both issues with peace and quiet and good weather.
We liked the quirkiness of this hotel built as three interlinked chains of bungalows in the form of pods. Inside each pod there is a comfortable sitting room, bedroom with two double size beds, a corridor with wardrobes leading to the bath room with shower and bath with massage jets. You enter the pod via your own locked private courtyard and then there is a further pubic outdoor siting area which in our case looked out over the sea. Overall this gives a feel of a private and relaxing space to occupy during your stay. This was only interrupted by an attack on tiny ants, which was dealt with by a “do it yourself” can of insect spray left in the room. If you were to stay in the high number rooms on the 200 and 300 (i.e. above 205 or 305 ish) rows your view would be of the ugly H10 hotel opposite which obscures the sea view, all the 100 series rooms are clear of this eyesore.
The grounds are well kept and have the outdoor pool (never crowded whilst we were there in November), spa area with sauna and steam room (never saw these on, apparently you have to request them to be switched on) and a little pond with some delightful ducks. There is also a small circular indoor pool under the reception and bar area. The pool facilities were obviously sufficient for the numbers staying at this time of the year with adequate sun beds in the grounds, but the outdoor pool was a little small and the hot tub cover was never seen off so I never got to sample that. My wife did swim in the pool and she pronounced it smallish and cool but not too cold for swimming (she does come from Northern Ireland and was used to swimming off the Antrim coast… I’m a softy and need 30+ degrees before I get wet).
Breakfasts were of good quality with hot and cold choices plus freshly cooked eggs, bacon or omelettes to order. We were half board and as this area didn’t seem to have a wide choice of good restaurants near by this was probably best. The dinner menu had 3 choices for the main course and came with a salad buffet, soup course, cold starter and sweet to finish. There was a cake buffet plus cheese and biscuits if the prepared sweet was not to your taste. Overall not bad but not great either, as always some nights were better than others. If you go B&B there is always the restaurant at the bottom of the garden that does a range of meat and fish meals, but the menu didn’t appeal to us when we looked at lunch time so we never tried it.
There is very little to do on this island if you’re not the outdoor sporty type, so its rest and recuperation for us. The island zoo is outrageously expensive for its size, I saw pandas in Vienna for half the price! Add if you want a camel ride that comes in as another extra. So we chilled and beach walked and went to the African market (Sunday and Wednesday).
The nearest beach is across the road and a 100m or more over a rough car park. It is quite small and mainly serves the H10 hotel on the beach side of the road, it does have a public access and sun beds to hire. You don’t have to go far on this beach to find the clothing optional area and topping up an all over tan is widely practiced. The lack of a good coastal or beach path is a disappointment, with the tide in, the beaches at this end of Costa Calma are cut off by a series of rocky outcrops which can only be crossed at your peril. You can reach the large sweeping main beach of Costa Calma by walking about quarter of mile north and going down some steep steps, about the same distance south is a large endless beach that goes on for ever. Swimming in the sea was only possible on 1 out of the 5 days we were there.
So to sum up, this is a good hotel for those wanting relax in a good accommodation, reasonable food, peace and quiet with access to sunny beaches. Don’t forget books, iPod, high factor sun cream and walking shoes and you’ll be OK. Don’t expect a lot of facilities (even the ones they have aren’t great) or the buzz of a large busy hotel, just chill.

Room Tip: Either in 100s or low 200 and 300s
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CD753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear CD,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of the Hotel. We are really happy that you have had a relaxing stay with us and hope to see you next year again.

Yours sincerely.

Jose Gonzalez Allende.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

No one to go to with kids wanting a lot of activity as resort and hotel very quiet - no pool games, karaoke or animation team which was just perfect for us! Room all on ground floor and spacious and excellent with private courtyards, outdoor shower and whirlpool bath; grounds well kept; wifi ok in public areas, but had to pay extra to get it in the room. Gym well equipped but without air conditioning it was like a sauna. Outdoor pool unheated so chilly in late October; indoor pool nice temperature but too small to swim in.
No nearby restaurants but food in hotel very high quality with good service and choices.
Short walk to a nice beach which had no amenities.

Room Tip: No reason to pay extra to be close to pool as all rooms similar and small sized hotel. definitely best to go half board.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel.We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
All the staff and myself hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards.

Jose Gonzalez Allende.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews