We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,838)
Filter reviews
6,838 results
Traveller rating
2,465
2,460
1,181
437
295
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,465
2,460
1,181
437
295
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior family roomself serviceadult only poolfree buswellness centresaladair conentertainment teamkids clubpool barmini golffamily holidayevening entertainmentgreat holidayhot dogsbig hotelplenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 6,838 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent hotel staff was lovely lots of food and drinks to choose from, entertainment really good, very clean hotel, would recommend this hotel to anyone, going to book this again for next year,?its one of the best hotels I have stayed in,

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank triciagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Occ_LanzaroteMar, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you spent to share your feedback on your recent stay at our Barceló xxx, to be considered as one of the best hotels you stayed at is certainly high praise.

At Occidental we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours.

Last but not least, thorough cleaning being an absolute must for Barceló we thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our hotel; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is basic for a comfortable holiday expérience in any hotel.

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again son

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel rooms need updating and the maintenance of machines needs improving.other than that this hotel is very good.food and drink variety was the best I've seen and up to a good standard.hotel is spotless all over and the pools are well maintained.evening entertainment is second to none and all staff are very friendly.would defiantly go back

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Camper484023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Occ_LanzaroteMar, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics

We very much appreciate the comments regarding the maintenance, and despite always improving both facilities and rooms, as the new sport rooms, new gym, or olympic pool show, we take note of your feedback to spot areas of improvement

We thank you for your very kind words about our entertainment team as they work tirelessly every day to entertain our guests during their stay among us, we will make sure to relay your praising comments to them and we are sure they will be happy to know their efforts have been appreciated.

Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a 10 day family holiday at this hotel booked through Jet2.com. The hotel is as shown as a 4 star hotel with all inclusive option.

Firstly on leaving the airport this was the first stop hotel opposite the Occidental Lanzarote Playa and some distance from Costa Teguise and not near to any beach, however to compensate this the hotel puts on a free bus service which is easy to use. The next thing we noticed about the hotel is it seems to be near to some sort of power plant which obstructs the sea views.

On entering the hotel the lobby area was very welcoming and staff on reception were happy to help and offered drinks on arrival. We arrived late but just in time to get some dinner, after we returned to our room which was in block 5 on the outside of the hotel. First impression of the room was poor, it didn’t match what was advertised in the brochure. The air conditioning was faulty and so loud we could not heard ourselves talk, the toilet broke after the first flush, there were wooden slats missing from the pull out bed and the traffic and wind noise was unbearable. A call to reception and 30 mins later an engineer arrived (the time now was about 2330hrs) we had been travelling all day and just wanted to unpack and rest. We were then offered another room only to receive a call 20 mins later saying we had to wait until the next day and speak to reception at 1000hrs. After a further night in the same room and still unable to unpack we were finally moved to another room in block 3 again on the outside of the building (much quieter and less windy). This room was much better however still in need of updating and the sea view was obscured by a nearby power station but at least we were able to unpack and start our holiday.

The rest of our holiday was fine, the food at the hotel was good with a great selection however I have never had to queue to get into an all inclusive restaurant. During the day as a family the only bar to get drinks from was the pool bar which was extremely busy and the all inclusive part was far to small. There is a lobby bar but for some reason doesn’t open until 1700 so unless your an adult only party your unable to have a quiet drink during the day.

There does seem to be an issue with sun beds I had to get down for 0700 each day to ensure I got beds near the pool with adequate shade. The hotel does have notices on the backs of the sun beds claiming that unattended beds after 30 mins will be re-allocated however this was never enforced and many people putting towels on beds the night before.

The entertainment is okay, for some reason the entertainment staff stand by the pool at about 1000hrs and dance to a couple of songs and then walk off without interacting with anyone and some of them look so disinterested. The lead member of the entertainment staff is hard to under if your English. The main issue I had with the entertainment was the Zumba which was conducted in the main entertainment bar from about 2000-2100, after finishing my dinner and all dress up for the evening who wants to watch sweaty smelly adults dancing right next to the bar area surely this should be conducted in a gym.

On a whole we had a good holiday but this was clearly let down by poor rooms and this is not a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank C-Wilkinson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Occ_LanzaroteMar, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Wilkinson,

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal.

We do our best to ensure that the noise levels always stay within the sensible limits so our guests are not disturbed by exterior traffic noise. Sometimes it is impossible to guarantee this as there are going to be moments during the early hours for instance where some traffic noise may be heard from the local municipality services, especially on our lowest road facing floors. We are however happy to know that thankfully we had availability and were able to provide you with alternative accommodation the next day, due to the high occupancy of the moment.

We sincerely regret reading your disappointment with our entertainment program mostly because our team strives to provide our guests with a varied assortment of activities throughout the day and live shows in the evening, nevertheless we will make sure to discuss your comments with the head of enteratiment for information and improvement.

Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There are a few minor irritantants, Eg, swimming pool toilets are a bit gross. Does not that detract from a great family holiday.

Staff went out of their way to help. It was out 1st family holiday away and our kids loved it. Rooms clean, food Excellent variety, kids staff amazing. Mini disco and kids club made holiday for our 2, They are weary of adults but happy with Claudia.

We could relax knowing they are happy and well taken care of, that means the world to us.they didn’t want to leave.

V happy experience for their 1st trip abroad

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Compass370524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Occ_LanzaroteMar, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, at Occidental we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotels, for a future ocasion please do not hesitate to contact our réception desk to point out any service imperfection, the team will be swift in addressing the issue and correct any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards.

Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

The Management



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From on arrival this hotel was brilliant. Plenty of good food choices for all, entertainment was brilliant , absolutely no problem getting a sunbed at any time, rooms were cleaned every day and staff were always happy and helpful. Definitely would return and worth it’s star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank dayjackie491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Occ_LanzaroteMar, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Lanzarote Mar hotel for your visit to Lanzarote and for recommending us to the travel community of Tripadvisor, this is undoubtedly the best reward for us all.

We also would like to thank you for pointing out efficiency of the system we have in place to avoid our pool sunbeds reservations as we believe that all guests have the right to a lay by the pool at anytime of the day, therefore our lifeguard removes towels from sunbeds unoccupied for more than 30 minutes.

On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again son

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews