We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$159
US$143
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Guarapo Apartments(Costa Teguise)
US$80
US$76
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$206
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sands Beach Resort(Costa Teguise)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$63
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Apartamentos Sol(Costa Teguise)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,258)
Filter reviews
6,258 results
Traveller rating
2,208
2,261
1,100
413
276
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,208
2,261
1,100
413
276
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior family roomadult only poolself servicefree buswellness centresaladair conentertainment teamkids clubpool barfamily holidaymini golfgreat holidayhot dogsevening entertainmentlarge hotelall inclusive drinks
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 6,258 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

A good base for a walking holiday especially with a hire car, although there is a good bus service. Facilities in the hotel for a resort based holiday seemed excellent. About 30 minute walk from Costa Teguise centre but pleasant route walking along the coast.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Geoff,

Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us.

We are very glad to read that the hotel and the facilities of it, were of your pleasantness.

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again son

Sincerely,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We went in February and were very disappointed when we arrived as the building looked a bit like a multi storey car park and one of the main pools was out of action with green netting around it. No one knew when it would be available and it was out of action the whole week we were there. I booked this hotel on the basis of the photos on the website so it was a misrepresentation of the facilities available. I did investigate transferring to the Barcelo Playa across the road but this was not possible. The reception staff tried hard to help however and did put us in better rooms with sun on the balconies instead of shade of thick trees. The rooms do need to be upgraded however eg. Our mirror in the bathroom was covered in black spots (rust or something).

On the plus side, the food was good and there was a varied selection. One chef serving omelettes in the morning was particularly friendly and very encouraging when I tried to practise my Spanish! Also, the beds were the most comfortable I have slept in ever when travelling - I slept like a log. As the pool was closed, the manager also let us use the adult pool with my 16 year old daughter and her friend (same age). She was very accommodating - can’t remember her name but she was quite tall with longish hair I think. This pool was not heated but very quiet and great views.

I wouldn’t return to this particular Barcelo hotel but I would praise the staff as they did try to help and were always friendly. The Barcelo hotel across the road was lovely - we went to the entertainment there as it was much better!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank cats4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal.

We are sorry for the inconvenience due to the ordinary maintenance of the pool, and the initial romos provided, although are glad to read that the romos provided afterwards were of your pleasantness.

We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours.

Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated.

Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

A hotel that works hard and successfully in ensuring you enjoy your stay . Not centrally sited if you are looking for attractions nearby other than the hotel. The Town centre is about a half hour walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank sim0n289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo_Lanzarote, Propietario at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Simon,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Lanzarote Mar hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations.

We sincerely regret reading that our location did not meet your expectations although it offers Costa Teguise all in walking distance or swift car ride, and encourage you for a future occasion to visit our website or to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to offer you a personalized booking guidance and help you select the Occidental hotel that best meets your holiday needs and wishes

Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Hotel first class again was there in January with the family 11 and back in march just the 2 of us and weather great , food good and used the restaurant just out side the hotel and food and value was first class , it is a very friendly hotel and all staff very good

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank E6162LLscottg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Mr. Scott,

Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us.

We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours.

We are grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and I promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel.

Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We booked his hotel last minute and decided to take a chance and not look at any reviews about it. And we were so lucky we booked it! On arrival the receptionists were polite and friendly. Our room was much bigger than we were expecting with a big balcony area, mini lounge area with a sofa and tv and then the bedroom was in a separate area. The bathroom was also more than spacious. The room and bathroom were spotless on arrival. We went for the all inclusive option and the food did not disappoint. There was so many options and something for everyone. They also changed the meats and some dishes daily so there was always something new to try. The desserts were so good as well and such a variety! We only went for four days but even in this short time the staff made us feel like old friends and the entertainment staff introduced themselves and asked if we wanted to participate in any of the varied activities throughout the day. There were not pushy in the slightest and left you to sun bathe if you were not interested. The pools were also lovely and there were plenty of beds around. It’s about a 30-40 minute walk into Teguise and I would definitely recommend it. Or you can get the bus for two people one way for €2.80. And it runs roughly every twenty minutes from the bus stop outside the hotel. Overall such an amazing relaxing break! And the weather was great too- about 20-24 degrees everyday.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Gemma,

Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us.

Thank you for the wonderful description of the room we accommodated you in during your stay, it is our goal to provide our guests with spotless, attractive and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you liked yours so much.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them.

Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

Sincerely,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews