We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,508)
Filter reviews
1,509 results
Traveller rating
909
387
138
48
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
909
387
138
48
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club premium premium area the main hotel green bar atlantico restaurant premium reception bar verde premium guests a la carte green room pool area premium restaurant large jacuzzi royal reception buffet restaurant level reception mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 1,509 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Given earlier reviews on Trip Advisor from people who seemed to be return guests from last year we thought this looked just what we wanted. We sought Adults Only, All Inclusive with A La Carte evening dining. Where do I start. 'Adults Only' no it wasn't. Simply a few floors annexed to a huge hotel where the rooms were adults only. Meant to be a 'premium' guests only pool, but no enclosure or security so open to any other adults staying in other parts of hotel. All inclusive drink and food. Drink was fine and range of premium spirits were available but mean measures and surly bar staff who gave you the impression of doing you a favour to serve you. Only one bar staff member and when he was busy chopping fruit or in the back making coffee queues just built up. No collection of empties around pool which quickly became a mess. We all started tidying up ourselves.. Food well breakfast was best. Huge array of pastries, fruits, yoghurts, breads, fresh squeezed juice and cook to order omelettes. Lunch downhill from there; very repetitive every single day and food always cold. Hotplates weren't working apparently. In the evenings there should have been two other restaurants serving a la carte food. Nope! Atlantico buffet opened instead which just recycled the daytime food and tiny steaks for cook to order. Restricted opening times too which is strange for All Inclusive. Dinner was only 7 until 9.30 and at 9pm there was no choice left and floor mopping with disinfectant began half an hour before closure which isn't right. God help you if you ask for coffee at 9.25! One of the other two restaurants opened three nights per week whilst we were there but it wasn't a la carte (don't think this hotel knows what that means) It's Platos Canarios which is basically four or five set dishes one after another no choice. The other restaurant did not open. Rooms were tired and not well insulated. I met some lovely people around the pool whilst I was there but other than that I'm sorry I just can't recommend this place. Staff arrogant and surly. Management team in suits were eating in restaurant each evening so they must have seen what it was like but they had their own table, didn't talk to customers and avoided any of us wanting to complain. In fact one night they sat laughing and making fun of one table of german people who were complaining - I speak Spanish and I don't think they realised I did. If you read the response to this and every other poor review it will say the same ; in essence "Yes we know and we're sorry" but nothing changes! I for one won't be back and formal complaint in via travel agent. Misrepresentation on lots of fronts.

Room Tip: Sorry can't think of any - all poor
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank YachtSuzannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jandiaplayarrpp, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear client,
We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Royal Level, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests.
Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our Occidental Jandía Royal Level, please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported.
Referring to the opening times of all our dinner restaurants our schedule is in general in the winter time from 18:30 till 21:30, the Patio Canario has been opened the last weeks always 5 days a week. We apologize if we have not been able to meet your expectations with this timetable, discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments especially in the Atlántico's area, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.
We regret to read about your experience with staff members, especially the kind and friendly treatment of all our employees is one of the main reasons for our returning clients for visiting us again. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity
We would like to assure you to be always very welcome in our hotel,
kind regards,
Guest Experience Management
Occidental Jandía Playa ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Hotel is very nice. Had a wonderful holiday. The adults only section is attached to the normal hotel but you need your room keycard to access the Adults only section. The poolside is large, has a jucuzzi but it cant be operated by clients and comes on every 30-45 mins.
The staff at poolside are helpful. It is a relaxing area and there is no children in the Adults only section. It is quite and peaceful- ideal for some time out.
Not too happy with food.
Food is not great here - a bit of a let down- not alot of choice for vegetatarians. There is alot of red meat and fish.
Waiter staff are very friendly and helpful - very kind - especially Manuel, Marco, Jonathan and the Barman at Green bar.
Better to inform them of the food dietary requirements at the beginning of the holiday so that they can cater for you.
Breakfast: it can be a bit of a treasure hunt for the Ketchup. Nobody present to ask for Strawberry jam or crackers or fresh orange juice - needs a superviser to oversee these things. If you are religious and dont eat ham or onions, please let them know. We often had ham in our omelettes.
I would advise learning a few spanish food words - for meat and vegetarian.
Rooms are clean and spacious. Some of the Premium rooms are modern but the one we had to change in before we left the hotel was not so modern.
Overall enjoyed the holiday and will inform them of my dietary requirements if we visit again

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Ratna16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jandiaplayarrpp, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear client,
Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at our Occidental Jandía Royal Level. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests.
We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our restaurant area to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. We confirm you that your comment already has passed by to the involving team members and management assuring that all of your topics will be addressed and attended to.
We sincerely apreciate your friendly words about our staff members, we agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 
We would be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel and with some informations about special dietary requirement at arrival day we will be pleased to cater you during your holidays.
Kind regards,
Guest Experience Management
Occidental Jandía Playa ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The Occidental Jandia Royal Level is a premium/royal level adults-only part of a family hotel called Occidental Jandia Playa. This is important to keep in mind, as it means that there are quite a few children in the main part of the hotel. We had no problem at all with this, but it is a point to consider before booking. We had a one week all inclusive stay at this hotel at the beginning of January 2017.

Room: We were four adults staying in a master suite deluxe on the third floor. This was a vast suite with two bedrooms, a living room with sofa and two armchairs and two bathrooms. There were several types of pillows to choose from. Both bathrooms had showers, one of them had a large jacuzzi and the other had a bathtub with jets. We had two balconies, both south facing with sea view. The smaller balcony had two chairs with footstools. The larger balcony had two sun loungers, two chairs and a small table. There were bath robes, slippers, a Lavazza coffee maker and a kettle for making tea. There was a full range of toiletries and bathroom items in the bathrooms. The room was cleaned every day and items taken from the mini bar were replaced free of charge.

Premium/royal level areas: The hotel has a premium reception (not open 24 hours a day). The staff there were nice and helpful. There were mineral water and orange juice available at the reception all day. There were two outdoor premium areas. The larger one (closer to our room) had a large outdoor jacuzzi which was turned on automatically a few times every hour. It was heated, though the water felt a bit cold for our liking, but overall nice to sit in. There were also two large rounded pools. One of them was not heated and quite shallow (< 1 meter in depth). We never saw anyone using it, except to sit on the edge and keep his/hers feet in the water. It seemed to be mostly for decoration. The other one was heated and deep enough for swimming. We used it every day, though few other people did. There were plenty of sun loungers around the pools, and also quite a few Balinese beds. Not getting a sun lounger was never an issue, which was really nice. There was not enough small tables for everyone, so guests were continuously moving these around. There were enough umbrellas (a rare thing at hotels) and there were also fixed sunshades which many people chose to use. There was a pool bar which opened at 10. Some days, the bartender came around with water, orange juice, fruits and ice coffee. Other days, there was another bartender who did not make these "rounds". Service at the bar was always quick and courteous. We sometimes had non-alcoholic drinks (San Francisco was the nicest) at the pool side. Pool side lavatories were spotless. There were free pool towels and you could have as many as you pleased (these could also be taken to the beach). The atmosphere at the premium pool area was calm and quiet. Everyone spoke in low voices, there was no loud music and some people actually fell asleep! The other outside premium area was the premium terrace. Here, there was an unstaffed bar, sun loungers, tables and chairs, round "beds" with sunshades, a jacuzzi which was never in operation during our week at the hotel and a shallow pool with water beds. This pool looked nice with its glimmering mosaic tiles, but it was much to cold to use. In a cold pool, you have to move around to keep from freezing, but that would have been impossible in this pool. There were usually far fewer persons at the terrace compared to the main premium area by the pools. The advantage of the terrace was the gorgeous sea views. We usually came up there in the early evening and sat for a while taking in the view. Some premium rooms have doors giving directly onto this terrace. Inside, there is a premium lounge with tables and arm chairs. However, this lounge is not sound proof and you can hear the sounds from the main hotel (quite noisy in the evening). We used it for one evening, but preferred our quiet room. There is also a premium bar (the one with the green walls) were the service was good and lots of people seemed to hang out in the evening. There was no specific royal level entertainment, but you could take advantage of the entertainment in the main hotel if you liked (we never did so we can't rate it).

Other hotel areas: We used the main hotel reception when the premium reception was closed, nice staff there too. We took hot stone massage at the spa (thank you Belinda!) which was very nice and relaxing. For this, we used the voucher you get when you book directly with the hotel (in our case 163 euros worth of freebies, not bad). We also wanted to use the jacuzzi/sauna part of the spa, which is free but must be booked in 40 minute time slots, but we never went. We recommend you get all booked times for spa, tennis etc. in writing as some of the staff have trouble with giving correct times in English. We also played tennis, which is free, but must be booked at the main hotel reception (1 hour time slots, non-lighted court). When our tennis time was due, we went to the main reception, gave them 40 euros in cash as a deposit and got a key (you could also borrow equipment). After tennis, we went back to the reception, handed back the key and got our 40 euros back. The tennis court was made of artificial grass and was right next to the sports field where the kids were playing football.

Beach: The hotel was located on a hill. When we went to the beach, we used a beach gate at the southern part of the hotel area, close to the spa and sports courts. From there, we could either take an elevator down to street level or walk down a graded walkway. At street level, there was a both a pedestrian crossing and an underpass. There were also a few shops and cafeterias (the Ventura shopping center at the map). After passing the road, we walked a short way on a bicycle/walking path and then on a sandy path across an area of native vegetation and then we arrived at the beach. From our room to the beach, it was a walk of 15-20 minutes to the beach (a little more back at it was uphill). The beach was lovely. Soft, small grain sand and lots of space for everyone. During our week, there was a yellow flag most days (swim at your own peril), a red flag one day (swimming forbidden) and a green flag one day (swimming is ok). The water was nicely cool, but not to cold. There were some nudist on the beach, but as the beach is so large, this did not feel like a problem. Usually, they sat behind some sort of beach tent/wind break. We can recommend flying a kite on the beach - very good winds for this activity. It was also nice to walk up and down the beach on the sand wet from the withdrawing tide. There is also a shuttle bus to/from the hotel three times a day which is superfluous if you just want to get down to the sea, but good if you want to visit the main part of Morro Jable.

Food: We liked the food during our stay. We never saw any flies or other insects on or close to the food. There were two royal level restaurants open during our stay. The Atlantico served buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast was one of the best we've had a hotel. There was a chef making omelettes, pancakes and fried eggs to order. There were a wide range of fruits, yoghurts, pastries, mini muffins, cakes etc. There were also lots of different cheeses, hams, smoked salmon, vegetables etc. The best thing about breakfast was the fresh orange juice. Coffee and tea was served at the table. For lunch and dinner, there was a buffet always including cooked to order fish and meat. There was a buffet with a range of hot food (tortellini, some other pasta dish, hot vegetables and 1-2 meat dishes and 1-2 fish dishes). There was an extensive array of cold starters, gazpacho soup, a soup of the day, different kinds of bread. There were also lots of fruits, different kinds of cakes and every day two kinds of ice creams. Drinks were served at the table. The staff at the Atlantico restaurant were always courteous and they came and took our plates away to moment we finished with them to make room for more plates. You could sit inside or outside as you pleased. In the evening, the staff sometimes lighted terrace heaters for the convenience of those seated outside. For dinner, you could also choose the "service at table" restaurant every night except Thursday and Friday. This restaurant had a fixed menu for every day. The menu comprised two starters, a choice of fish or meat for the main course and a dessert. The staff assured us that they could change things in the menu if we liked, but in essence, the only choice is between fish and meat for the main course. The food we got this restaurant was nice, hot and beautifully presented. During our stay, they started to take reservations for this restaurant, but in the beginning you could just turn up. The food at this restaurant was even nicer than in the buffet restaurant, but if there are lots of foods you do not like, chances are you end up with something you do not fancy.

During the whole stay, we felt that the hotel staff were doing everything in their power to give us a nice time and they always greeted us with a smile. One evening at dinner, the guest relations person went around to all the tables to check that everyone had a good time and to help with any queries/problems. A nice touch. We really liked this hotel and will surely be coming back!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank CissiSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Booked this hotel through tripadvisor but when we got there they said it was for the main hotel not the premier section so I had to pay an additional €400 for a 4 night stay would not have booked through TripAdvisor if I'd known

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Lay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jandiaplayarrpp, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Dear client,
First of all we would like to thank you for being with us during your holidays and of course for spending some time for sharing a comment about it.
We strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations.
We regret to hear about the problems with your reservation, we would like to offer you to make reservations with our webpage barcelo.com or contact directly with our reservation department.
In any case we hope you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we would appreciate to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Guest Experience Management
Occidental Jandía Playa ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel after a fabulous stay in June 2015, so we decided to come back in December 2016, especially for the "a la carte restaurant" in the evening which was fine And high quality! To our disappointment, the a la carte restaurant was closed !! We were given a spot at the small buffet restaurant in the morning and midday, repetitive dishes, leftovers reused several days in the suite (fish that smelled bad), breakfast with industrial breads, buffet often empty (someone waited 45 minutes for fries!). Lunch with exclusively sausages and leftovers of the day before in salad, meat and fish ‘a la plancha’ which a lot of oil often very badly cooked, and which end the next day in the buffet entries ... no more the finesse of the evening meals served à la carte, with aperitif of the day, toasts, starter, dish (lamb chops, tournedos ..), dessert .. now only leftovers !
And in addition we come out of the restaurant smelling cooking fat. Above all, we paid more than in June !! In short we ate salad and cheese for a week, these seemed to be the freshest.
We are used to traveling, this hotel is really worth a 3 star hotel!
Luckily the staff is always so smiling, and very nice, this is the plus point of this hotel. Note also the quality of the premium bar which is always good, great cocktails and impeccable service.
As for the rooms, we have the impression of sleeping with the neighbors, the soundproofing is very bad, not counting the squeaky wagons of the housewives who pass at 7am and sometimes even breakfasts served very early in the morning (5.30am) in the rooms with always this squeaky trolley !!!! The bedding is average, the sheets are so worn, that we feel like sleeping on the plastic of the mattress's lid!
The housekeeping is very briefly done, the bathtub walls were never cleaned, soap trays remained throughout our stay!
The new premium terrace is nice but never cleaned, the bar is never renewed, dirty glass mounts are accumulated, we have to clean ourselves our glasses, at the end of our stay there were only bottles of water left.
When it rains, nothing is cleaned, we had to clean ourselves our sunbeds! The pool does not feel like swimming, the bottom and edges are very rusty.
We are very disappointed with our stay, the purpose of my message is not to receive this repetitive message from the management of the hotel because in any case no action will be taken, as their aim is clearly to save money! I just want to warn travelers of what to expect if they come to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
12  Thank mantraom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jandiaplayarrpp, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Dear client,
We first would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Jandía Royal Level for your holidays in Fuerteventura and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.
We strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics.
Referring to your comments about our restaurant area we regret to read that your expectations have not been fullfilled. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.
As well your feedback about the cleanliness surprises us, like this is normally one of the reasons for our large number of repeating clients to come back. Of course we will speak with the involving head of department for starting directly with improvements avoiding similar situations in future time.
We appreciate your kindly words about our staff members, we certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 
We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our hotel, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity.
Please be assured that you will always be very welcome in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Guest Experience Management
Occidental Jandía Playa ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews