We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for families”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carreta Beach Holiday Village
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Newark on Trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place for families”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Just got back from a weeks stay here, with my partner and our kids. The hotel is a lovely place. The staff are really friendly and helpfull, and always make a fuss of the little ones. The room was clean and well presented, and when we asked for extra pillows, they arrived in minutes. The reception staff were very helpful, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Even though we went for the last week of the season, all of the staff including the restaurant staff kept their obviously high standards. The restaurant was excellent, with something for everyone, even our kids, who can be fussy were kept very well fed. The head chef was often out in the resturant, and quite happy to chat. The dishes were always hot and fresh, with a good variety every meal. The only slight downside was the variety if desserts, although if you like fresh fruit, this wasn't really a big issue. The complex itself was wonderful. with plenty of sunbeds to go round, and always a place by one of the five pools in the main hotel, and then plenty more room in the water park too. With it being the end of season, this was maybe slightly better than at high season, and again, with the weather not being red hot, although still a pleasant 22-25oC most days, the pools felt a little cool, but once you were in, they were fine. Although the water park was good, and a nice addition to the hotel complex, as a stand alone water park, it isn't massive, and you wouldn't pay the €50 per family entrance fee. that said, we enjoyed the slides and lazy river, and the kids area.
With it being the end of season too, the entertainment was limited to karaoke and greek dancing, but this didn't detract from the experiance really. The bar wasn't too busy with plenty of tables to sit at, and service again was great.
The beach is about 15-20 mins away, at a nice paced walk. Although not the greatest beach in the world, you have to remember it is a nature reserve for turtles, so it needs to be left alone.
Kalamaki it's self is small, but has everything you need, and after visiting Zante town, is at the same prices generally.
Would we recommend this hotel to others....definatly. If you have kids, of whatever age, it has everything you need for a great holiday.

Room Tip: A block is above the bar and reception, although after 11ish, it starts to quieten down, so isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    411
    195
    65
    51
See reviews for
1,018
112
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

hi we stayed her from the 13/10/2011,for a week, its a liitle cool this time of year water park couldve done with being heated for this month,the caretta beach hotel is massiveits like a village ,theres about 7 pools not included the water park, and numerous apartment blocks,i would imagine its heaving in summer,there are loads of bars across the complex,we stayed in the d blog which is the red block,there are many different coloured blocks,this was nice and quiet,all have the same tv with about 5 engish channels,safe, air con/heating,shower gel,and soap,kettel microwave,fridge,very clean,bedding changed daily as were towels,moped, bins emptied,food in restuarant was ok,as with all inclusive, gets repetitive ,drinks were ok,i only had the wine and baileys,didnt like the cocktails all taste the same, and no pina coladas lol.would like a suggestion for management ,would be nice to have a carvery,for the evening mealsand fresh omlette and smoothies at breakfast,this is what we have had previously at other hotels,snacks were naff tbh,we dont eat cold beefburgers/hotdogs,and toasties well not everyone likes cheese,snacks are ususally chips,pizza,sandwiches,crisps,and the biscuit n coffee afternoon snacks,werent ready available,should be set out on a table really .one of the main things i was really peeved about ,it is eu and they allow smoking everywhere,its gross,even in the reception and childrens area,apartments.entertainment was ok if you like that sort of thing it was 70s to 90 s ,you know elvis stuff lol,but it was late in the season,so tbh,probably is more tunes and other stuff going on in the hieght of the season.staff and management are all very nice.
off site didnt like the beach,its manky,full of sea debris n trash,so we didnt sunbathe shame as i love swimming in the sea and the water was really warm,we did walk up to laganas,this place is a doss hole,but it is for kids,kalamaki is much nicer.and yes dogs do bark cockerals do doodle doo,but locals all have farm land and the dogs are there to guard this dont judge too harshley they are used as working dogs,not pets, this doesnt mean they arent looked after,and they do get out from time to time and run down the beach,and will follow you,but hey there dogs ,dont pay them any attention.all in all a good holiday very friendly people,one last thing please go to the drunk corner,they are sooo nice there!! if you love football you will love greece haha

Room Tip: tbh,all depends on what suits, whether you like it quiet,pool view, airport view or noise as the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Myself my fiance and my younger brother of 13 have recentally returned from this hotel. We stayed here for a week all inclusive 18th September till 26th september 2011.

What can i say it was excellent!!!!!! The water park is amazing really good fun and keeps you fully entertained all day.

Their is plenty to eat and drink and the chef is a lovely person he always went out of his way to talk to my younger brother, as are all the hotel and restuarnt staff who are always smilling and very helpful. The cocktail bar was great and very entertaining teaching you tricks with drinks again much to my brother delight.

The airport is at the back of the waterpark but it did not bother us at all infact it was great to see the planes that close up landing and taking off

We did read a lot of mixes reviews on her but you have nothing to worry about! We really did love this holiday and was so sad to leave.

The entertainment of a evening was ok could be a little better but we went out on the main strip just a 2 minute walk and enjoyed the many bars and rstaurants and shops on offer.

Would we return to this hotel ? Yes we would ! Lovely place to stay and such a beautifull island!

Go and see Pat on the main strip she does great tours and very cheap

If anybody wants any more information feel free to ask

Nat x

Room Tip: Ask for Block A as it is the new block and very up to date
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and i recently came back from Caretta beach hotel, we stayed for one week in October 2011 and it was a really decent hotel. The staff are very very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean (we were put on the 3rd floor where there was no lift, didnt like it and changed it to a room with a balcony overlooking the pool). The sheets and towels are changed every day and the general place is very clean and tidy. The food selection is excellent would recommend going all inclusive here as we did. The breakfast, lunch and dinner varieties are excellent. A bit hard for vegetarians such as me but we still had a decent variety, the fish and meat variety is brilliant. They had a couple of themed nights ie Italian night etc. Kids are catered for as well, chips and beans, chicken nuggets etc. Massive restaurant area and waiters are very friendly. The hotel has a built in water park, one for adults one for kids, excellent sized pools (*4) with a wave pool as well. Food during the day is served at the bars ie ice cream, sandwiches, toasties. Drinks were well stocked as well. Their coke seems to be watered down but even when they opened the bottle in front of us it tasted flat. Alcohol is served until 11pm after that you have to pay for it. Pools tables are available all day. The hotel is not near a beach, it is about a 15 minute walk to the beach. We toured the island in a jeep, a motorbike and a quad bike. We got all 3 from Hermes on the main road, they provided a brilliant service and were at a good price as well, they also gave out full insurance which the other places don't all provide. We also managed to bargain with them as well. Close by the places to visit are Banana Beach and all the other beaches along that road (lots of them) and Laganas as well for shops and nightclubs as well. All in all a very decent holiday (weather was around 35 degrees during the day and 24 in the evenings in October!!).

Room Tip: Check the room out first, if you dont like it then go back to reception and ask them to amend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gonakam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

After reading the mixed reviews on here we went with an open mind. All I can say is we were not dissapointed.We stayed 29/9/11 - 13-10-11. From the minute we walked in reception the welcome and friendliness was fantastic we were taken to our room and helped with luggage. We were in A block which was a great location central to everything. The room was spotless I actually suffer from OCD and found no problems at all. Maids came in every day towels were changed daily and beds changed reguarly.Yes there is a hairdryer in the rooms so no need to take one. I will divide complex into sections Pool Bar Taz was fantastic really nice man however we only met him and 3 days later he finished for the season then we had the great pleasure of Yiannis and Dionisios who were absolutly great we had a great time with them to the point where we missed some sunshine to talk to them both great lads will really miss them here you could get your snacks which consisted of burgers toasties hot dogs various wraps biscuits and cake no one need starve as there is plenty. There is a childs pool in this area where my son (5) loved to play there was a larger pool which the older kids and adults used plenty of sunbeds no fighting or people putting towels out, there is also a jacuzzi which comes on and times are on notice board so you never miss it. Right next to this area is the kids club and playground my son liked the kids club however there is still plenty to do if your child doesn't want to go to it.You will aslo find the supermarket in this area which is very reasonable priced.
Main bar:- again spotless well stocked again you could get your snacks here George Craig Ahmed Panos and Costas(who unfortunatly had an accident so could not come back to work) were all friendly and hospitable people nothing was to much trouble entertainment wise I can't comment as much as we had a 5 year old so did not stop late everynight when we did stay down there was a singer who was very good and karoke. For the fellas football matches where shown also x factor was on they played music but you could here programs if you sat down the bottom end near the kids games room which had pool tables (free to use you just pay a refundable deposit for cues and balls) air hockey table pinball machine and car games.
Reception area very comfortable free wi fi and internet cafe. There is also a laundry on site.
Restraunt was very clean food was fantastic so much choice I am a very fussy eater and still put a stone on (diet starts tomorrow). Alex Julian and Beko where great very friendly and very efficient restruant manager and chef were always walking about talking to guests we had themed nights which included chinese, mexican, greek and italian. Everyone worked so hard to ensure there was plenty of food and the desserts were great huge respect to all the kitchen staff. Also the girls when you entered were very friendly too.
Waterpark area there is a bar nearby a playground for the kids. Great kids slides and pool never saw my little lad lifeguards a plenty. Great slides for older kids and adults alike. Lazy pool was lovely as well wave machine pool was a laugh too. Again plenty of sunbeds and safety was top priority. While we were there we had a massage off Simon wow what a man I was so relaxed think I actually fell asleep lol. The choice of drinks on the all inclusive is brilliant never before have I seen so much choice included that also goes for meal times and snacks. Everyone at Caretta beach really goes above and beyond to make your holiday special cant wait to go back don't think we will go anywhere else now the logo arrive as a guest leave as a friend is so true..... we made lots of friends within the staff cant wait to see them again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 km away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,194 reviews
0.6 km away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
672 reviews
1.1 km away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Exotica Hotel & Spa by Zante Plaza
0.5 km away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,370 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#20 of 30 in Kalamaki
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carreta Beach Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carreta Beach Holiday Village

Property: Carreta Beach Holiday Village
Address: Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Carreta Beach Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caretta Beach is a modern hotel situated in Kalamaki on the south coast of the most beautiful island in the Ionian Sea, Zakynthos. The hotel is in a private, picturesque area by the main road of Kalamaki, only 4km from the capital city Zakynthos Town and 2km from the International airport of the island. The soft sandy beach is only a 5 minute walk away and is the home of the famous loggerhead turtles, Caretta-Caretta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caretta Beach Kalamaki
Hotel Caretta Beach
Carreta Beach Holiday Village Kalamaki, Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing