We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning hotel in a beautiful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Almenara Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We have stayed here 3 times in 18 months for 3 night breaks & we LOVE it! My husband is a very keen golfer & the views around the course are so beautiful that I love accompanying him on his rounds!!
It is also near to La Reserva & Valderama if you wish to try some other courses.
The breakfasts are fantastic, just about everything you could want is there & it is all very fresh & delicious. The evening meals there are also very good & it is a short drive to the main marina area that has lots of restaurants, (there is a fantastic chinese & a wonderful Italian there!)
The rooms are beautiful & the staff are very friendly.
We had a lot of rain on our first trip so we spent a lot of time in the spa & reading in the main lobby areas. All very nice & relaxing, shame you have to pay the extra 20 euros to use the indoor pool, but there was only us there so it was very nice & relaxing.
We love this hotel & will def be going back for a 4th time next year!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 271 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

Just back from a golf holiday booked via www.yourgolftravel.com. This (potentially) could have been the golf holiday from hell as the rain had been falling for weeks in the region surrounding Sotogrande. The hotel is part of the NH group and includes 27 holes of golf on location. Unfortunately, the rain had almost destroyed the course with fairways verging on the "unplayable" To be frank, if it wasnt for lost revenue, any other course would have been closed to allow the course to dry up without further damage being caused by golfers who were struggling to find plugged balls on the fairways.

The Hotel had everything from buffet breakfast, which was fantastic, to a spa with sauna steam room, spa treatments (not cheap, but they never are) and pool area. Outside pool area looked great, in particular for kids, but closed for obvious reasons. The buffet dinner on offer was 35 euros inclusive of decent wine, great value. You can also order from an ala carte menu.

The rooms are not in the Hotel per se but situated in the grounds and made up of single storey buildings that incorporated 2 beds, bathroom and patio area. LCD television with half decent channels. The maids were brilliant always asking if we needed anything, and providing fresh towels daily. Absolutely, no complaints.

What made this holiday was the attitude of the staff when we complained about the condition of the course. They accepted it wasn't up to standard and offered free buggies which saved us a fortune over the 5 games we played there, albeit on day 1 we gave up after 2 holes as our clothing was soiled with mud.

The course is getting better daily and we wish we could have seen it on better days, it will take a couple of weeks to get back to a reasonable condition. They also arranged for us to visit Alcadaisa for a game, which was in much better condition but suffice to say this was done in co-operation with Nick at yourgolftravel.com who applied some pressure on our behalf. If you are looking for a top notch golf company who will look after you from "start to finish" then go no further.

Great location 10 miles from Gibraltar, car required, speed bumps everywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micmky007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We only stayed in this hotel for one night and did NOT play golf, so we must have been different from usual clientele...The hotel is impeccably clean and modern and the rooms are beautiful, spread out over the premises in separate buildings of 2-8 rooms like in the typical resort hotel. Breakfast was of a good usual buffet style. We used room service twice and found it to be reasonably priced and at good quality.
Upon arrival the agents at the reception desk spoke relatively poor English and it seemed as if the system they used could use rethinking and an update. I am a Starwood Platinum member for example, and have checked in at many many hotels, but this was quite bad. Maybe they were trainees? They would ask for my name several times, then I gave them my credit card, they gave it back after studying it, then asked for it again etc. Although I had sent my (card and personal) details in advance, they required me to fill out everything again by pen and paper. Then they wrote my credit card number with a pen on a piece of paper that read "Check out Express" (?) and asked me to put a signature next to their writing. When I asked "why?" they answered: it's for the police, it is required here in Spain. Then I asked: why does the police need my credit card? And confusion went on and on. A young lady stepped in and took over, and things were soon arranged, but the impression of chaos was discomforting. Why not take a simple card print or swipe, like everywhere else? Or a copy of a passport instead of requiring me to fill out papers?
Also the system to log in to wireless internet showed a quirk. You had to call the reception first. Me: "Can I have wireless internet in my room?" They said: "yes it's 10 euros a day" and hung up. Calling back I needed to write down with a pen a username and password, then log back in again etc. A bit outdated.
Other quirks include an access fee of 10 euros for the use of the fitness room and 20 euros per person (!) to use the swimming pool (not under 16 years of age !).
All in all, however, I would not let these critical notes discourage you to stay in this hotel, because it is really beautiful. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Visited Feb 10 when it had rained for three weeks, and also during our stay!
Hotel is very good, staff very helpful. Facilities very good including gym and leisure.
Golf courses are very good, although we played them when under a foot of water/mud - would not normally have been open. Courses are tight but very good in our view - easier than La Cala for example, but similar in other ways.
Hotel food is expensive so a car is essential. Marina is about 4 miles away.
There are some very good restaurants around, and at reasonable prices. Taxi to Marina about E15 one way.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillAndySmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Booked into the hotel for a 4 night extension to our holiday in Spain. We picked a quite hotel and wasn't dissapointed, Hotel staff excellant and really friendly. The buffet breakfast was first class and the meal we had in the main restaurant at night was the same. You didn't have to play golf to enjoy the resort, although the three nine hole courses did look challenging. The daily membership to the Sotgrande beach club was an added bonus. which is in an excellant location next to the marina.
The down side you must have a car and for some reason the prices at the pool bar were expensive, other than that an really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavsueWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sotogrande
3.8 km away
NH Sotogrande
NH Sotogrande
#2 of 5 in Sotogrande
429 reviews
7.4 km away
Club Maritimo de Sotogrande
14.2 km away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,097 reviews
10.5 km away
Las Camelias
Las Camelias
#5 of 5 in Sotogrande
29 reviews
18.9 km away
Globales Reina Cristina
Globales Reina Cristina
#3 of 12 in Algeciras
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almenara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almenara Resort

Address: Avenida Almenara s/n, 11310 Sotogrande, San Roque, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > San Roque > Sotogrande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Price Range: €86 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Almenara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an established, high-end destination, on the cusp of the Costa del Sol, Sotogrande provides the perfect setting for a bespoke hotel. Located at the heart of its famous golf course and next to renowned Valderrama or La Reserva Golf, the Almenara Hotel with 145 rooms and suites set around the main building all with commanding views of the greens, the gardens or the Mediterranean, the hotel is a golfer's dream. The hotel includes the Elysium spa, a sanctuary of rest and relaxation offering innovative treatments and a wide variety of wellness and beauty therapies. Hotel guests can enjoy the fine cuisine offered in two on-site restaurants. Other facilities include the Pentagrama´s Bar and Pool Bar, a Golf Academy, the beachside Racquet Centre, the beach club and four meeting rooms with a capacity of up to 800 people. This variety creates the sense of wellbeing that the Almenara Hotel is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Almenara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Almenara Hotel Sotogrande
Nh Hotel Sotogrande
Almenara Golf Hotel
Almenara Nh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing