We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Halford Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halford Bridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Halford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We had a superb Sunday lunch with everyone enjoying their delicious choices. Outstanding Yorkshire pudding and gravy. The atmosphere was calming, after a very busy weekend. Staff were excellent and welcoming. Would recommend and hopefully return when in the area again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ivy291104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped here hoping for a coffee on a lovely sunny morning drive down the Fosse Way. Sign by the car park indicated it was open.
Other than a few people sitting in the courtyard, the place was deserted. Waited in the bar expecting someone to arrive to serve us...........
We both used the facilities as we were waiting............
Eventually we decided to leave as there was such reticence about serving us.
As we walked out, we were approached by one of the party from the courtyard, who it would appear is a member of staff of the establishment.
We were told that it wasn't quite open, that yes the signs say it is open but they have the press in.......
I actually apologised for using the toilets as I had contravened their signage by using the toilet as a non-customer!!
Only to have a sotto voce "how rude" directed at us as we left .
I hope the press coverage accurately depicts the serving mentality.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This lovely old 18thC coaching inn on the Fosse Way is now under relatively new management. I recently arranged a visit for 14 people to three lovely Warwickshire churches. I had already visited the Halford Bridge Inn and met members of the Irvine family who now run it and arranged with them that my friends would have lunch there after our first Church. Since I had explained that we would be on a fairly tight time schedule they opened up early on the day so that we could call in and pre-order our lunches to save time later. When we returned at mid-day two tables had been set ready for us in the main restaurant and the food was served promptly. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. I will certainly be happy to eat there again when in the area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bran007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We stopped here yesterday on the way home from Milton Keynes. Somehow our Sat Nav took us through the cotswolds and we ended up here. The pub is situated on the main road through the village. The car park is opposite the entrance so you have to cross a busy main road.

Once inside, the bar is situated on the right and the restaurant is on the left. The bar is quite small so if you're eating it's better if you sit in the restaurant. There is a small selection of food available, but we think this is better. Mum had an omelette with fries, that came in a separate bowl. The little un forgave her usual sirloin steak and opted for the fish and chips and I opted for the Halford Burger, which is dipped in Horseradish sauce. We also ordered a portion of onion rings.

The food took about 20 minutes or so to arrive but when it came out it was lovely. The fish had a small pot of tartare sauce, which was nice and tangy. The omelette was ample in size and my burger was stacked and contained bacon and other meat as well as plenty of salad. The fries were chunky chips but they were in plentiful supply. When we asked for some ketchup the staff brought it out, not in a bottle, but on a ladel which seemed a nice idea. The onion rings were definitely not out of a packet and were firm and crunchy.

The food tasted very good. However, a word of warning. If you do order the Halford Burger it will come with a strong presence of Horseradish, so if you're the type who just wants a smidgen understand that the taste may feel overpowering. I enjoyed it, others may not. It seems that lots of places are doing burgers in large stacks these days, and trying to fit everyone in. There's no way you could put this in your mouth in one go so tackling it with a knife and fork is the only option. The little un left a little of her fish, only because she was full. The quality of the food was fine.

It will cost a little more than you're usual pub fayre, but then again you are in the countryside. We spent over £50 for the three of us which included 2 pints of diet coke. However, it was time well spent. If you're passing through the village on the way to Moreton in the Marsh or Stow on the Wold, drop in. We were glad we did.

Room Tip: We only ate here so can't assist further
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenandpaul13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

As I was Passing through I stopped for dinner, the service was okay but the meal was great, very fresh and absolutely delicious.

Had the Monkfish with Pak Choi, really great and full of flavour.

Sat out in the courtyard which was bathed in sunshine and protected from the wind.

Room Tip: Eat in the courtyard on fine days
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisg0ufp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halford
5 km away
The White Bear
The White Bear
#2 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
90 reviews
2.2 km away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,579 reviews
5 km away
The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast
The Old Kiln House Bed and Break...
#1 of 11 in Shipston-on-Stour
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The George Townhouse
The George Townhouse
#1 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
201 reviews
12.2 km away
The Norman Knight
The Norman Knight
#3 of 11 in Shipston-on-Stour
16 reviews
0.2 km away
The Old Manor House
The Old Manor House
#1 of 2 in Halford
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halford Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halford Bridge Inn

Address: Fosse Way, Halford, Shipston-on-Stour CV36 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipston-on-Stour > Halford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halford
Price Range: €75 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halford Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halford Bridge Inn is a 16th century coaching inn. Once known as 'The Bell', the name was change happened in the 1980's. It was renamed after the Roman Bridge 100 years down from the inn. Still to this day the original bridge still exists and so does the inn, offering bed & breakfast as well as a cosy pub classic meal to a unique dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Halford Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halford Bridge Hotel Halford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing