We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
129
69
28
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
69
28
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews halford bridge stratford upon avon relaxed atmosphere fish and chips busy road staff were attentive the pub excellent food lovely weekend new management nice courtyard well worth a visit lunch stop staff could not have been more sunday lunch character warwickshire
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This lovely old 18thC coaching inn on the Fosse Way is now under relatively new management. I recently arranged a visit for 14 people to three lovely Warwickshire churches. I had already visited the Halford Bridge Inn and met members of the Irvine family who now run it and arranged with them that my friends would have lunch there after our first Church. Since I had explained that we would be on a fairly tight time schedule they opened up early on the day so that we could call in and pre-order our lunches to save time later. When we returned at mid-day two tables had been set ready for us in the main restaurant and the food was served promptly. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. I will certainly be happy to eat there again when in the area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bran007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We stopped here yesterday on the way home from Milton Keynes. Somehow our Sat Nav took us through the cotswolds and we ended up here. The pub is situated on the main road through the village. The car park is opposite the entrance so you have to cross a busy main road.

Once inside, the bar is situated on the right and the restaurant is on the left. The bar is quite small so if you're eating it's better if you sit in the restaurant. There is a small selection of food available, but we think this is better. Mum had an omelette with fries, that came in a separate bowl. The little un forgave her usual sirloin steak and opted for the fish and chips and I opted for the Halford Burger, which is dipped in Horseradish sauce. We also ordered a portion of onion rings.

The food took about 20 minutes or so to arrive but when it came out it was lovely. The fish had a small pot of tartare sauce, which was nice and tangy. The omelette was ample in size and my burger was stacked and contained bacon and other meat as well as plenty of salad. The fries were chunky chips but they were in plentiful supply. When we asked for some ketchup the staff brought it out, not in a bottle, but on a ladel which seemed a nice idea. The onion rings were definitely not out of a packet and were firm and crunchy.

The food tasted very good. However, a word of warning. If you do order the Halford Burger it will come with a strong presence of Horseradish, so if you're the type who just wants a smidgen understand that the taste may feel overpowering. I enjoyed it, others may not. It seems that lots of places are doing burgers in large stacks these days, and trying to fit everyone in. There's no way you could put this in your mouth in one go so tackling it with a knife and fork is the only option. The little un left a little of her fish, only because she was full. The quality of the food was fine.

It will cost a little more than you're usual pub fayre, but then again you are in the countryside. We spent over £50 for the three of us which included 2 pints of diet coke. However, it was time well spent. If you're passing through the village on the way to Moreton in the Marsh or Stow on the Wold, drop in. We were glad we did.

Room Tip: We only ate here so can't assist further
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenandpaul13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

As I was Passing through I stopped for dinner, the service was okay but the meal was great, very fresh and absolutely delicious.

Had the Monkfish with Pak Choi, really great and full of flavour.

Sat out in the courtyard which was bathed in sunshine and protected from the wind.

Room Tip: Eat in the courtyard on fine days
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisg0ufp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Stopped here during a motorcycle ride for the first time, having been passed it many times before. It really is a wonderful place, with very friendly staff. The decor was very attractive and clean. Drinks were great and not over priced. Will stop again and happy to highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Guzzi177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

We stopped off here for a quick lunch last week enroute to the south west and we're so pleased that we didn't judge the book by its cover. On 1st impressions when you pull up, the place looks a little shabby and down at heal, so we weren't optimistic that we'd made a good decision.

However the welcome we got from all the staff and the quality of the food served certainly made up for a bit of flaky paintwork and an hour and a half later we left very happy customers. The service was warm and friendly, the food was great value and good quality

Footnote

The landlords of this place have only recently rescued this stunning historic 15th century coaching Inn from falling into obscurity after years of neglect, so it's inevitable that it's going to take them a while to bring everything up to the standards of many other Cotswold gastropubs so please support their endeavours to make it work.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dfunked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews