We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
129
67
28
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
67
28
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews halford bridge stratford upon avon relaxed atmosphere lunch menu fish and chips burger busy road staff were attentive excellent food the pub lovely weekend new management nice courtyard well worth a visit high standard staff could not have been more character
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We stopped here yesterday on the way home from Milton Keynes. Somehow our Sat Nav took us through the cotswolds and we ended up here. The pub is situated on the main road through the village. The car park is opposite the entrance so you have to cross a busy main road.

Once inside, the bar is situated on the right and the restaurant is on the left. The bar is quite small so if you're eating it's better if you sit in the restaurant. There is a small selection of food available, but we think this is better. Mum had an omelette with fries, that came in a separate bowl. The little un forgave her usual sirloin steak and opted for the fish and chips and I opted for the Halford Burger, which is dipped in Horseradish sauce. We also ordered a portion of onion rings.

The food took about 20 minutes or so to arrive but when it came out it was lovely. The fish had a small pot of tartare sauce, which was nice and tangy. The omelette was ample in size and my burger was stacked and contained bacon and other meat as well as plenty of salad. The fries were chunky chips but they were in plentiful supply. When we asked for some ketchup the staff brought it out, not in a bottle, but on a ladel which seemed a nice idea. The onion rings were definitely not out of a packet and were firm and crunchy.

The food tasted very good. However, a word of warning. If you do order the Halford Burger it will come with a strong presence of Horseradish, so if you're the type who just wants a smidgen understand that the taste may feel overpowering. I enjoyed it, others may not. It seems that lots of places are doing burgers in large stacks these days, and trying to fit everyone in. There's no way you could put this in your mouth in one go so tackling it with a knife and fork is the only option. The little un left a little of her fish, only because she was full. The quality of the food was fine.

It will cost a little more than you're usual pub fayre, but then again you are in the countryside. We spent over £50 for the three of us which included 2 pints of diet coke. However, it was time well spent. If you're passing through the village on the way to Moreton in the Marsh or Stow on the Wold, drop in. We were glad we did.

Room Tip: We only ate here so can't assist further
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenandpaul13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

As I was Passing through I stopped for dinner, the service was okay but the meal was great, very fresh and absolutely delicious.

Had the Monkfish with Pak Choi, really great and full of flavour.

Sat out in the courtyard which was bathed in sunshine and protected from the wind.

Room Tip: Eat in the courtyard on fine days
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisg0ufp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Stopped here during a motorcycle ride for the first time, having been passed it many times before. It really is a wonderful place, with very friendly staff. The decor was very attractive and clean. Drinks were great and not over priced. Will stop again and happy to highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

We stopped off here for a quick lunch last week enroute to the south west and we're so pleased that we didn't judge the book by its cover. On 1st impressions when you pull up, the place looks a little shabby and down at heal, so we weren't optimistic that we'd made a good decision.

However the welcome we got from all the staff and the quality of the food served certainly made up for a bit of flaky paintwork and an hour and a half later we left very happy customers. The service was warm and friendly, the food was great value and good quality

Footnote

The landlords of this place have only recently rescued this stunning historic 15th century coaching Inn from falling into obscurity after years of neglect, so it's inevitable that it's going to take them a while to bring everything up to the standards of many other Cotswold gastropubs so please support their endeavours to make it work.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dfunked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

I did bring this to the attention of staff as I don't want to write reviews particularly critical ones without doing so. Firstly it appears that the owners had to travel to Australia and got caught up there and so assistance had to be brought in. Nice well meaning people but not really up to speed. I think 120 a night for a double b and b was too steep by far. The internal carpets were grubby. The room (Melodee Princess!) was at the top of the building and stifflingly hot. WIndows secondary double glazed with the smallest of opening at the top of the sash windows and all this because of the noise from the road which would have been very intrusive without the windows shut. Would have been bearable with portable air con or a proper sized fan but the small inadequate thing was useless and they must be aware of the heat up there or otherwise why put a fan in at all? Room was plain and parts a bit grubby. The bed and the linen were ok. Cooked breakfast was fine too. I think they need to spend some money upgrading the rooms from our experience there and the internal carpets etc. I think they also need to charge no more that around 90 for the quality of the stay they provide just now. It is a characterful old building and I guess difficult to upgrade but if that is the case dont charge so much.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews