We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chwar Chra Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canyon Hotel Erbil(Erbil)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Erbil Hotel View(Erbil)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Palace Hotel(Erbil)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merci Hotel(Erbil)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
1
13
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
13
7
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Billed as 'famous', 'the best' - well, I would question that. However, it's a decent hotel, within walking distance of the citadel and the old market, and it's easy to get a taxi outside for places further away. Breakfast is a good, if not particularly healthy, buffet affair (get there early!). Otherwise, the restaurant is so-so, and not so good for vegetarians. However, there's a shopping mall nearby with some interesting shops, and some decent places to eat. Rooms are comfortable. There are some rather sad examples of taxidermy around the main entrance...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Filthyfetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved our time in Erbil. We were visiting here strictly on holidays. The hotel is impeccably clean and the staff always went out of their way to help us. This included arranging a day trip outside the city, providing us with extra food (at non-meal times) at no cost. The hotel is quiet and in great walking distance to the centre where the citadel is (15 mins.). It's a 10 mins. walk in the opposite direction to a western-styled grocery store. Another 5 mins. past the store is a fun restaurant called "Today" that we enjoyed eating at. The only reason we gave it 4 and not 5 is that the elevator broke down twice during our stay, and the garden patio wasn't open. These are not deal breakers though and we would still stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alublink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel in the center of Arbil. Friendly staff and polite.A beautifull in door restaurant which hosts performers of traditional Kurdish music. They also have an outside open restaurant that is wounderful. Rates are not that high. You can access all the city from there.It contains alot of halls for presentation and conferences and they are familiar with such activities

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank hayder4974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

quick check in, middle of the night, desk clerk spoke excellent English. Started with a single room at the back of the hotel - very pleasant. Good location close to Erbil Civilization Museum, shopping mall, Erbil town Centre & Citadel. Only had hot water one day out of four, however.
Good variety at breakfast.
Restaurant buffet in outdoor area was terrific - lots of variety and well priced at around $10US. Good vegetarian selection. wine was supremely over-priced, but beer was $4/huge bottle, Efes brand (Turkish).
Heard there were to be renovations - good news for rooms on lower levels which really need to be updated to the standards of the upper levels, but bad news for the lobby, which is covered with amazing glass tiles...floor to ceiling....beautiful.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors have been renovated, lower floors are still grungy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel was the location, walking distance to the citadel & town center. I was in Iraqi Kurdistan for 9 days & for people that like their veggies, this place has the best salad buffet, it was especially nice to eat at night outside the hotel's spacious garden. Was here for a total of three nights & tried out two rooms (on 1st floor & 3rd floor). In the first room where I stayed 2 nights, the toilet seat was dirty but I came prepared with bags of wipes, the hot water didn't work & there was a big gap /hole between the door knob & the wooden door it was screwed into (so if anyone is into peeping into rooms it'd be quite easy. )
Wifi was free, dinner prices were reasonable but wine prices were off the charts (compared to other hotels in this country, ie 40pc more for same exact wine vs hotels elsewhere in the country). Otherwise the rooms were functional and the lobby decked out in glass from another era.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews