We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Nearby Hotels
US$479
US$392
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$536
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$277
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$427
US$302
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$536
US$520
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$328
US$251
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$590
US$436
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
US$356
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$396
US$332
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$462/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$215
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (5,691)
Filter reviews
5,691 results
Traveller rating
4,636
687
248
76
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,636
687
248
76
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach butleroutdoor showercasitas sectionhealth barpersonal conciergesanta fe grillour honeymooncandlelight dinner on the beachroom servicebeach bum vacationswine pairinggourmet inclusiveartificial reefcasita suitepool bartenderbeach bedsswim up bar
Filter
Updating list...
4,973 - 4,978 of 5,691 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Had a absolute wonderful time at this paradise resort !
me and my partner went for our first anniversary and we were swept of our feet !
you could only dream of a place like this!!! untill you book your tickets!!!
Our dream became a reality here ,, 5 STAR SERVICE everything was just perfect .
I love eldorado Royale !!!!
BEDS ARE VERY VERY VERY COMFORTABLE

Room Tip: the royale suites or casitas i would recomend both. Royale suite is excellent value for money. Casitas you have more space but more expensive, i stayed in Royale suite I LOVED IT, we met some friends that stayed in casitas,, they took us to there room for a nose. the only difference was the space.. and a bath.. Both have showers and jacuzzi !
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was our first time at an all-inclusive resort, so everything was new to us. We took our travel agents recommendation on where to go. She was right on with this place. It has everything if you want to relax, enjoy the warmth, drink, gourmet food, and treated very special. It was wonderful!!
It was worth the extra money to stay in the Casita area.
Our Casita concierge (Allan) made our trip perfect! He was exceptional at his job. He helped us with everything we needed and made us feel very welcome. We were celebrating our birthdays and he made arrangements for things to be special for us. We enjoyed the special nights Allan arranged for our birthdays. From front row seating and first to be served and decorated with balloons, birthday sign and sweet guys singing happy birthday and beautiful decorated dessert plate. Wow! We can't say enough how helpful, friendly Allan and staff were.
Very impressive service.
We loved our room and how nice to have an outdoor shower, inside shower, Jacuzzi and our own pool outside. Juan kept our room very nice during our stay and I had two flower bouquets on day 2 and each night had fun animal towel creation. We loved having room service and they were so prompt with bringing our food and also picking up our dishes afterwards.
Everyone you met said "Hola" and with a big smile. In the Bellini bar we enjoyed visiting with the bartender. He remembered us each time by name and was fun to talk with. It was a very relaxing bar.
We were only there 5 nights and could of stayed longer; we were just figuring things out. Our favorite place to eat dinner was Kampai. It was wonderful.
Cons: going up stairs at night was dark and better lighting would help. It could be slippery when wet.
Lighting in the room was dim and hard to see at times.
We were in section 31 and some construction for the new steak house was going on.
We understood but was loud at times and workmen watching which made you feel uncomfortable. Just a suggestion but the resort could pamper you with some extra things.
The big window in the room should be checked it had not been cleaned for awhile. We did not complain but should of.
We understand that if you request specific items in your mini bar they will make it happen. We didn't ask but sounds like a great idea to stock it with what you enjoy.
We would suggest some evening entertainment in the Casita area. When the Bellini bar closes at 11:00 there is nothing in that area open for a drink.
Digital larger safe would be nice so you don't have to worry about having the key with you all the time. If you had a laptop computer it would not fit in safe.
We loved that there was so much space and had lots of privacy.
We never had a time we could not get a daybed on the beach or lounge chair. We never had to wait to get into a restaurant. All the food was wonderful!
We did enjoy the candlelight dinner on the beach and a wonderful gentlemen was taking pictures. He was going to give us the websight to purchase the pictures but never did. We would love the websight. We had to leave the next day so could not see them displayed.
We enjoyed are time and want to say "Thank You" to Allan and staff for making our stay special. You’re the greatest! We will be back sometime.

Room Tip: Casita "section 31" the best, second floor and close to the end for best view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IowaBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We loved this place so much we bought 80 weeks

This is a fab place a few Brits ..(Which we quite like no point in going abroad to meet your next door neighbour) mainly Americans. We have made lasting acquaintances both in the USA and the UK
The beach is beautiful even with the defences. Honestly you hardly notice them after a while. The food is really good lots and lots of choice. With the ice-cream trolley, lunch trolley, book trolley, and drink waitresses you could loose the use of your legs if you were lazy.
We have been here three times most unusual for us we rarely go back to the same place more than once. So be careful thought about buying weeks it is not as straightforward as it seems.

It really a fabulous place…anyone interested in a couple of our 80 weeks?

Room Tip: our casita
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank canda2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was our second visit to El Dorado Casitas. We were treated like family returning. Once again, it was the cleanest resort we have ever been to. The food was excellent (we ordered room service several times!). The staff were incredible and polite and quick to serve. Our concierge crew were available and took very good care of us at all times. This is our home away from home and we purchased a membership with a great flexible plan. Can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: The 3100 section has a great snack bar in the pool bar area and Leo will take excellent care of you! Great wraps and salads!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tikkanvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Let me start by saying I am generally pessimistic and did have some issues during our short stay(5 days) but overall the resort was wonderful.

I will start with the negative. We arrived early around 1 PM(check in is at 3 PM) and our individual casita was not ready. We went to the spa and changed into shorts(coming from Wisconsin). We had our carry on bags still and had lunch at Kampai, which was great. Walked around by the beach and had a beer at the beach bar, came back at 3 and room still was not ready, was told to come back in 40 minutes. Came back in 40 minutes and still not ready, now I am angry. We sat and waited and got ignored for another 20 minutes. Eventually we got our room after I went up and asked again. Not a good start but shook it off.

Dinner at Jo Jo was So So, I heard its better for lunch. Was told by concierge that the NFL playoffs would be on at the Guacamayas bar, it was not. There was not even a bartender or a single person there. I ended up watching the game in the room which had 2 ESPN channels and one had the American broadcast, which was great, so night saved. They do have American cable TV, which is nice for the few times we watched TV.

Our outdoor shower was borderline painful, only used it once. The indoor shower though was the best shower my wife and I had ever used. Also our jacuzzi would not fill up, disappointing. I ran it for 30 minutes and it barely covered the jets. The bathroom is nice with 2 sinks but no fan and there is no ceiling in the bathroom so you can hear every noise from the bathroom in the bedroom area. No fan either, just a window that opened up to the walkway, so not very private. This may not be problem except my wife and I both got sick after eating dinner at D italia Casitas. We did not shake stomach bug for 2 weeks after we got home.

Stayed in the 25 block which is pretty much right in the center of the whole compound so did not have to walk far for anything. I cannot say enough about the concierge service. Fernando and Armando were the best. I requested all Dos equis in the fridge and it was done. I just purchased a new camera the day we left and brought the charger but did not bring the usb to usb micro cable needed to charge the camera. Fernando and Armando each brought me one from their home! Also, phone calls from the room are $40 per minute!!! and if you call an 800 number it is $40 per call. We did not bring any internet devices, which is not free either so Fernando let us use the phone in the VIP conceirge area for free so we could call our kids. He is the best.

There were many times when we felt like the only people there, which was great for us. The only time it seemed crowded was at the El Dorado pool. 5 days is not long enough, need at least 7 to totally enjoy everything.

Food is fantastic at Kampai and D Italia, even if it made us sick. Service is amazing. Had room service pizza late one night and a pizza at the pizza bar, neither were very good. Everything else was good to great.

Beach was great for us. Beach bed was perfect for me and the wife laid in the sun. So relaxing. The sand whales do detract from the view but oh well. Had beautiful weather, steady breeze off the water keeps you from sweating. One negative is there were a couple of days where guys were walking around with gas powered leaf blowers while we were laying on the beach, it kind of ruined the atmosphere so we just sat at the pool bar.

The positives outweighed the negatives in spite of getting sick on day 2. The best thing was the sense of privacy, on the Casitas side.

Room Tip: Remember you are in the jungle. Bring mosquito spray and do not leave your doors open. We had a disgusting winged bug as big as my thumb in our shower one morning and a gecko in our toilet room, it ran out the window. Also had a cat that walked by our patio every morning so do not leave the patio open if on ground floor.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews