We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best strawberry margaritas EVER”
Review of Chac Mool Cafe

Chac Mool Cafe
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Chacala
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Chac mool its a beach club restaurant on the hart of Chacala Nayarit, Mexico we are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. come and enjoy a truly traditional mexican gourmet food from this pacific ocean with our particular twist.
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We didn’t eat there because whenever we were nearby it seemed the kitchen was closed. We did take advantage of the bar on a couple occasions and for that reason alone they get a 4 star review from me. The cocktails were meticulously crafted and very very generous with the pour. Freshest most delicious strawberry margarita I’ve ever had, even the husband enjoyed the one sip I shared with him.

Thank Vanisland_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chacalacafe, Manager at Chac Mool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for sharing we appreciate the good moments and experience.

Hope to see you shortly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018

We had dinner/lunch at Chac Mool several times over the course of 2 weeks. Every time the service was slow (30 minutes to even get a menu). Food was ok, but nothing special. It is also much more expensive than other restaurants in town. The Christmas dinner was incredibly expensive, for what we received.

The last night we were there, there were at least 4 waiters working, but the service was the worst we had received. We won't be return :(

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chacalacafe, Manager at Chac Mool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Sorry to hear that, we will fix it ASAP.

Hope next time, make you change your mind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We tried to eat there at 6:30 on a Saturday nite. There were 4 other tables seated. After we sat down- it took 20 minutes to get menus- one waiter was sweeping the floor- 3 others ignored us completely. The waiter sweeping the floor finally came over - but told us to give him our drink order now as he had “other things to do”- we declined as we were not quite ready- no one ever came back- after another 20 minutes we left
-had a lovely meal at las brisas with good service
Our friends who stayed said it took an hour to get their food.

Thank GailM2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chacalacafe, Manager at Chac Mool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

thank you for your comments this will help us to make it better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Unfortunately, we had a hard time getting served here. We waited a half hour to get a waiter and had trouble getting their attention to get questions answered, second beers, and food even though I speak Spanish and they have great English. I don't know if it was just a bad night or a typical since we didn't go back. The food was good but not better than other restaurants in Chacala.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nellamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chacalacafe, Manager at Chac Mool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Hi thank you for your comments,we where short of staff and very busy, we are a slow food restaurant since we prepare all from fresh and when is busy it’s a long waiting.

We will work on fixing this problem.

Thank you and hope next time you have a different experience and write something more positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

I ate at Chac Mool for dinner with my husband, we got one order of fish tacos and one order of shrimp tacos. As a returning visitor to Chacalla, I have eaten there a few times in the past years when the food and service had much better quality. The tacos were small and only had minimal protein inside, our service was also very slow. We almost left after not being helped for more than 30 minutes. The pizza here looked pretty good, but I would recommend surfer pizza across the street for pizza.

Thank lindagreenleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chacalacafe, Manager at Chac Mool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for your comments we will make sure it doesn’t happen again.

We have a slow and fresh food menu and when it’s lots of people unfortunately we are slow than normal we apologize for the inconvenience.

Hope to have you again and provide you a better service

Enjoy chacala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chac Mool Cafe also viewed

Chacala, Riviera Nayarit
Chacala, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Chac Mool Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing