We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service at Emerald Lakes”
Review of Kokko Maria

Kokko Maria
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Carrara
Price range: US$1 - US$11
Description: Welcome to our home KOKKO MARIA. Old fashioned BYO Mediterranean Deli Café serving guests traditional style home cooked meals at home cooked prices. Come in for a freshly brewed coffee, a chat and a home cooked meal. We'd love to have you over. Berg and Maria
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to our home KOKKO MARIA. Old fashioned BYO Mediterranean Deli Café serving guests traditional style home cooked meals at home cooked prices. Come in for a freshly brewed coffee, a chat and a home cooked meal. We'd love to have you over. Berg and Maria
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We love the family run, home cooked food, great service and wonderful people at Kokko Maria. Berg and Maria are the best, wonderful people, best dirty chai and chai latte on the coast too!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dan_gall2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

I was driving about 10 km for a good coffee - a decent coffee...a coffee that doesn't come with any ifs and buts. I detest bad coffees - coffees that are milky, coffees that don't have any zing about them - coffees made by people who don't drink coffee. Now I don't have to drive that mere 10 kms since I found this little coffee shop. It's got people working in their that look like they love coffee and love food, sweet and savoury. Bliss. But if I could pay electronically, it'd be even better. I mean, it's 2016 - who carries cash?

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank WilliamA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Have been visiting Berge since March for take-out lunch & the food on offer is great, particularly the vegetarian or pepper steak pies. Paninis are also large & full of the best fillings. Berge, Maria & staff are friendly & welcoming. Unfortunately they miss out on 5/5 as they only take cash - which many people don't carry anymore plus the wait time for a pie to be warmed or a panini to be readied is 15mins (although Berge will tell you 4mins!). Clientele is mainly Emerald Lakes retirees who probs have plenty of cash in their pockets plus are in no hurry but Berge could make a lot more $ from the surrounding business staff if he installed an Eftpos machine & sped up the service.

Date of visit: August 2016
3  Thank TasNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Good atmosphere, great food, absolutely stupid they don't take cards. Very off putting as wouldn't be bothered buying anything other than a coffee or food while it's like this. Maybe they don't need the business but would say a very BIG dis-service to themselves from general village talk.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank blissyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Berge is a great host ! Great coffee and cake and the pies are tops! Berge makes you feel very welcome.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kokko Maria also viewed

 

Been to Kokko Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing