We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Norfolk Luxury Beachfront Apartments(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Maldives Resort(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Xanadu Holiday Resort(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$381
US$322
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crest Apartments(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Lane Holiday Apartments(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$256
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Waterford on Main Beach(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$288
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea World Resort(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,223)
Filter reviews
2,223 results
Traveller rating
1,130
478
289
165
161
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,130
478
289
165
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teail baroccole jardinsuperior suitevie restaurantlagoon suiteoil burnerthe gold coastbeautiful hotelspecial occasionturn down servicepool areabuffet breakfastspa bathpool stafflittle thingsmarina mirage
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 2,223 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights on a Luxury Escapes package. Firstly we couldn't get a park in the hotel and were told to park next door in the shopping centre???? Parking was included in the booking and I don't expect that this callibre of hotel would advise a guest to park in a shopping centre? Many times throughout our stay we could not get parking in the hotel. Next was check-in which was good, however, the inclusions in our package were not explained properly to us. Looking up at the gorgeous chandelier in the Lobby I was distracted by approx. 10 x 15+cm wide black round marks which looked like mould from water leakage. On the way to our room I noticed the hallway carpets were dirty with pieces of cotton, sandy footprints and other debris and they remained that way for the duration of our stay. In fact my husband and I were having bets on how long a particular piece of cotton (10cm thick and white) would remain on the floor. Restaurants and Food - We had lunch included in our package and we both had different dishes that were bland and the fish was overcooked. The breakfasts were good and the crowds were handled well and the staff were friendly and efficient. The seafood buffet was the most amazing experience - especially the desserts and lollies. Beautifully displayed and plentiful. The pool - too small for the number of people staying there and was often crowded with nowhere to sit. Poorly designed for the number of people and standard of hotel. The Lobby Bar - the man who appeared to run this bar was rather stuffy and looked down his nose at me. I was well dressed and presented, I was polite and friendly but obviously not the TYPE of person they prefer. Not sure if anyone else on the Luxury Escapes felt this but I felt a bit like a poor cousin sometimes. I loved the room and the bath was amazing. Housekeeping were good and the room was always clean. I loved the Versace glasses and the décor and soft furnishings. The toiletries e.g. shampoo/conditioner and shower gel smelt awful. Overall, I believe this could be another hotel suffering from the need of a cash injection and perhaps staff that are under-resourced/funded in the cleaning and maintenance areas.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hari_Varier, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Sue,

Thank you for your review.

We are truly disappointed to hear of your less than satisfactory stay with us.
Please may i assure you we value your feedback as it is essential in our efforts to improve on our facilities and services.

On a brighter note we are glad the seafood buffet, room, housekeeping and the decor met your expectations.

We appreciate your observation of the ageing of the hotel, I am also pleased to share that we have planned developments at the hotel to enhance your experience.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope you will return and allows us the opportunity to rebuild your trust in the brand.

Regards
Hari Varier
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We booked this hotel through a luxury escapes deal and were really looking forward to staying here. In the first 24 we had been in 3 rooms - the first too noisy, the second had a blocked toilet and air conditioning didn't work and the third provided an outlook to the shopping centre restaurants where everyone could look straight into our room. The decor was dated and old and signs of wear and tear could be seen throughout the hotel. If we wanted to use the cabanas by the pool it was an extra cost (way too costly for us). The majority of staff were friendly but toiletries were not replaced in our room after we had used them (make up remover pads, soap, etc). This was a very disappointing stay over three nights and I'm not sure I would return in the near future unless they had a major makeover.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the road or the Marina Mirage.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherelle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hari_Varier, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It is disappointing to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory with us.

We value your feedback and have shared with the team to review further.

Thank you for your observation of the ageing of the hotel. I am pleased to share we have planned developments hotel to enhance your experience.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope you would return and allow us the opportunity to rebuild your trust in the brand.

Regards
Hari Varier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

We called in here for some Quailty service and just to check out the ambience.We sat in The atrium having drinks with service that would be expected from this hotel.You can see money dripping of some of the people who stay here.We were surprised at how little the drinks cost $22 for a beer and a decent vodka.From the moment the front doors are opened for you untill you leave you can live the life of luxury.A must on a to do list for your holiday.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank didee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hari_Varier, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and endorsing us to the online world.

We are glad you had a memorable experience with us at Palazzo Versace.

Thank you again for visiting us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Hari Varier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

I booked and paid ahead for a sparkling afternoon tea for four as a Christmas gift for my parents and friend for when we were holidaying in the Gold Coast from the uk. I was very impressed with the email communication and advanced booked and was excited to attend. The hotel itself is lovely and Pierre that served us was lovely. The actual afternoon tea was slightly underwhelming. My mum cannot eat butter or cheese but we weren’t asked in advance of any dietary requirements or given any choices, the food was simply brought to us. The scones were lovely but the cakes were quite poor. We also weren’t given our sparkling wine so I checked the email exchanges I’d had when booking then brought this to Pierre’s attention. He quickly rectified this but it was slightly awkward. We also finished our drinks and wanted to order cocktails. We went to the bar to do this as no waiting staff had come for quite some time. The barman didn’t take our order and told us to take a seat and someone would be over. We waited another ten mins for someone to come over then another 15 mins for the cocktails to come. What I would say is that had the service been a little more efficient we would probably have had another round of cocktails. It was still a nice experience and something different to do.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank jmilla17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hari_Varier, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are truly disappointed your High tea experience was less than satisfactory with us.

Please may i assure you we value your feedback and have shared with the Food & Beverage team to ensure service delivered is of the highest standards at all levels.

Thank you again for visiting us. I hope you will return and allow us the opportunity to rebuild your trust in the brand.

Regards
Hari Varier
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Having last visited this hotel around 12 years ago what a disappointment it was to find it looking so tired and neglected.
We flew from Sydney to the Gold and decided to book the Versace Rolls Royce return transfer at circa £500. The driver met us at the airport, extremely friendly and assisted us with our luggage.
In the car there was some warm water but no cold towels and the water could have been chilled. The driver did though point out some of the tourist spots en-route and overall the journey was great, everyone wanted to see who was in the Rolls Royce with many a picture being taken, all in all a bit of fun and we enjoyed it.
Upon arrival at the Hotel I have to say we experienced the worst check-in in all our history of travelling.
For a 5 star Hotel there was no 'Welcome to.......", no drink, no towels absolutely nothing at all. We had booked one of the Imperial Suites, the best they have. The receptionist just took our credit card and pointed us to the lifts. In shock we asked are you not going to give us any information, where breakfast was, timings, restaurants in the hotel or anything? We thought it may have been that we were repeat customers but when we asked if they had linked our booking from all that time ago, the response was no, oh you have been here before have you.
We then actually had to ask if we could be shown to our suite, with resistance the receptionist took us up in the lift to the door of the suite and that was where we were left, no familiarisation of the suite, absolutely nothing.
One good point was that our luggage had made it to the suite before us.
We went back downstairs as we had decided not to eat on the plane but wait and have a nice late lunch upon arrival, it was around 4:00pm so we asked concierge where we could eat, the response was the only option was in room dining as the restaurants are closed, we challenged his response and asked about a bar menu or perhaps by the pool, the response was, sorry nowhere.
We then walked across to the bar and asked the bar man, he then said there was a daytime menu, we looked at each other quite frustrated at this point however we ordered and the food was good quality. The same concierge gentleman was very friendly though and over the next couple of days he was extremely helpful it was just a little crazy him not knowing where guests could eat outside the restaurant hours.
The breakfast the next mourning was very disappointing, concentrated juices, hot buffet foods under heat lamps, nothing fresh and for some reason the layout or order of foods on display changed each day which was slightly confusing.
The pool area was very tired and the pool dirty with branches not leaves in the pool. On our last day they cleaned the pool but it was just scruffy and uninviting, when we laid out we received no service even though they looked across.
The spa facilities were closed, apparently due to be refurbished but no date for completion. Treatments were still available and the manicure I had was excellent.
See my pictures re the state of the hotel, mould and damp on columns, damp coming through the ceilings, towels on top of the cabanas, goodness knows how long they had been there and rubbish not cleared from many areas of the hotel.
The most polite and friendly aspect of the hotel were housekeeping, concierge and the driver.
My advice though, book the Sheraton opposite and do what most people do and just walk in off the street in their t-shirts, shorts and flip flops, take a few pictures and then leave.
P.s The Sheraton Seafood Buffet opposite was excellent with lovely welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Pool View Room have the best views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hari_Varier, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Matt,

Thank you for your review.

It is disappointing to read that your stay was less than satisfactory with us.

I have noted your feedback and have shared with the team to review further. Please may i assure you the shortcomings of your stay are not the true reflection of our standards.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope you would return and allow us the opportunity to rebuild your trust in the brand.

I welcome you to connect with me at hari.varier@palazzoversace.com.au for your next stay and we will ensure you have a true Palazzo Versace experience.

Regards
Hari Varier
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews