We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
66
52
15
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
52
15
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold coast business stay retirement village ducted air conditioning gated complex steam room metricon stadium great villa commonwealth games bit dated outdoor pool shopping centre enjoyable stay dvd player laundry facilities comfy bed surfers paradise
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Where do I start! It seemed nice upon arrival. Big gates and nice entrance but that was probably the best thing about it. The drive in and the drive out. When I went to check in I was informed that I had to pay a $100 bond which was not specified when the booking was made. We had booked a one bedroom apartment but upon arrival we were advised that they didn't have any left so they had "upgraded" us to a 2 bedroom. The only catch being that if we set foot in the second bedroom we would have to pay extra so wasn't really an upgrade at all. The apartment was old and dated. The couches made us itchy. The main bedroom had a really damp smell to it and the ensuite bathroom with the hot tub in it, smelt like sewage. The cupboards in the bathroom were warped and the drawers were broken and crumbling. The hot tub seemed old and dirty, I wouldn't even wash my dog in there. In saying that the hot tub was tiny anyway so you could probably only fit a small child in there and definitely not an adult comfortably. Either the photos on the site are old ones or we got the worst of the worst apartments because our one looked nothing like the photos. The toiletries consisted of a bottle of cheap squeezy soap stuck to the wall of the shower and next to the bathroom sink. No shampoo or conditioner. Only 2 towels were provided and you had to pay extra if you wanted towels to use in the outdoor pool. Highly disappointed. Will not be back and will never recommend to anyone else either!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JazdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWR-Management, Public Relations Manager at Royal Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thank you for your review of Royal Woods Resort. We appreciate all feedback whether it be negative or positive because it allows us to develop best practice for our guests. We sincerely apologise that your experience at Royal Woods Resort was not the perfect stay that we strive for our guests to have.

We are sorry that you were not aware of the $100 bond. This information is in the terms and conditions of the site you booked through but we will check to see if there is any way we can make it more clear for guests.

With the concerns you experienced during your stay, it is our company policy to immediately address and fix these. However, we didn’t hear anything from you until you posted this review so we didn’t have the opportunity to.

In regards to the room upgrade, our team allocated you a room with a balcony which came with a second bedroom you would not have needed as your original booking was for one bedroom accommodation. As it costs us to have cleaners clean the second room and launder the linen, we normally charge more for a 2 bedroom suite to cover these costs so our team made you aware that there would be an additional charge should you have used the 2nd bedroom.

With your description of the room, we haven’t had any feedback like this from other guests. We will be sending our maintenance and cleaning team in this week to do a full check of the room and to fix any issues they may find. We are also currently undergoing a refurbishment program to modernise the look and feel of the accommodation.

The press and wash toiletries we use are high end Hydro Basics which are a luxury range and the towels allocated to your room were the standard for an overnight stay.

The Wifi system was newly installed this year to provide a free service for our guests. With our property being nestled into a hill, we are still identifying any black spots and tweaking It to ensure uninterrupted Wifi for all our guests so your comments were helpful for this.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback so we can make changes for the better and would welcome you back any time in the future to experience the luxury and hospitality of Royal Woods Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

I originally made my booking in August online and was experiencing some difficulty until finally submitting a booking, only it was for the wrong date.

The staff (Felipe and Lachie I believe) were so friendly and helpful in changing my booking to the correct dates without additional charges incurred.

We arrived last weekend and were shown to our villa only to find there was too many steps for my grandmother to climb and politely asked if it was possible to switch. Felipe had us in a new villa within minutes.

This trip was not for vacation, was to visit my mother in hospital. None of this was mentioned to Royal Woods, yet they went out of their way to make our stay comfortable.

If I could rate more stars, I would.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWR-Management, Public Relations Manager at Royal Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of Royal Woods Resort, especially when you had family in hospital. It is nice to be able to pass on your words of praise to our team. They work really hard to make sure our guests are happy so it is good to be able to give them positive feedback.

We would love to welcome you back with the same friendly hospitality to stay with us on your next visit to the Gold Coast. Hopefully next time it will be for a holiday for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Perfect for family or couples. Easy drive to all the Gold Coast attractions yet nice and quiet. Villa was spotless, easy check in and out. Great pool area if you want to spend time in the resort. All villas have private garage with roller door and and the whole resort is a gated resort.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patterman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWR-Management, Public Relations Manager at Royal Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

The team at Royal Woods Resort thank you for your lovely review. You have mentioned so many features of our accommodation that we pride ourselves on so we appreciate it. It is great to know that you enjoyed the peace and serenity of our Resort as much as we do.

Once again, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back with the same friendly hospitality to Royal Woods on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Needed 2 bedroom accommodation in Ashmore area and glad that we discovered Royal Woods Resort. It is like an up-market retirement village with separate villas and a lovely pool area. Villa was nice although needing a little TLC with curtains' backing quite sticky and peeling away from the fabric. Ducted air conditioning struggled with the 30 degree day and I imagine it could be a bigger issue in summer months, although bedrooms were cooler than living area. It was nice to be away from the traffic and people in the main tourist areas of the Gold Coast. Resort was very obliging in allowing early checkin and late checkout. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monteforae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWR-Management, Public Relations Manager at Royal Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of our Resort. We really appreciate your feedback.

We have started a refurbishment plan to update our rooms so the TLC you suggested is now underway.

Our team are pleased we could offer you some peace away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist areas. We'd love to have you stay with us again on your next visit to the Gold Coast so you can experience our modernised accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a change to the hustle and bustle of the usual Gold Coast accommodation and the bogan mentality of most resorts try the Royal Woods Resort in Ashmore. It's a breath of fresh air.

Young Manager was a top bloke and very accommodating and his mature woman assistant really helpful.

I got a discounted rate online so only got half the size accommodation one bedroom apartment with large private bathroom and own grassed very private courtyard with sliding door access. Kitchen was big and user friendly with stove/microwave/oven combined which I had not seen before but it was functional. Full size family fridge.

Dining table with 4 chairs and lounge with two couch's and a coffee table plus flatscreen TV with DVD player.

Own garage underneath with remote entry/exit which has a washer and dryer, washing basin with bench.

If you were renting the whole building this would suit a family of 3-5 plus and has a balcony at the front which is quiet and really private too.

Swimming pool with lots of layback chairs, vending machine outside office and a stones through from Ashmore shopping centre.

Ashmore is only 10-15 minutes on a bad traffic day from the beach and the action in Surfers but is way quieter and peaceful tucked away in a nice clean suburb.

The Royal Woods Resort has two entrances which has security gates so you are given a remote for easy access in and out and come and go at your leisure. There is ample parking for visitors inside the complex too.

I rate this place and their management style way better than most on the Gold Coast. There is a $100 deposit paid on arrival and returned when you leave.

The accommodation is homely comfortable with lots of room. Give it a shot if your looking for somewhere quiet!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank shanotravelo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWR-Management, Public Relations Manager at Royal Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to do such a great review of Royal Woods Resort. When building our accommodation, the central location to all areas of the Gold Coast played a large part in our land selection. The Gold Coast has so much to offer in the way of beaches, Hinterland, theme parks as well as amazing dining and shopping so we wanted it to be easy for our guests to explore all of these within a short drive of the Resort.

We also wanted it to be an oasis of peace and serenity for our guests to return to after the hustle and bustle of Gold Coast attractions so it is good to know we have achieved this.

Our team would love to welcome you back with the same friendly hospitality for your next work trip or vacation on the Gold Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews