We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable”
Review of Royal Woods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Woods Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Relaxed and leafy setting, conveniently located a short distance by car and public transport from Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach and Southport and walking distance to Royal Pines Golf Club.

2 Bedroom Suite was clean, spacious and comfortable and had all necessary amenities with friendly staff and good customer service. Rooms would benefit from a modernisation upgrade in the near future.

Room Tip: If you have any accessibility requirements make this known when booking as some rooms require naviga...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stevafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Where do I start! It seemed nice upon arrival. Big gates and nice entrance but that was probably the best thing about it. The drive in and the drive out. When I went to check in I was informed that I had to pay a $100 bond which was not specified when the booking was made. We had booked a one bedroom apartment but upon arrival we were advised that they didn't have any left so they had "upgraded" us to a 2 bedroom. The only catch being that if we set foot in the second bedroom we would have to pay extra so wasn't really an upgrade at all. The apartment was old and dated. The couches made us itchy. The main bedroom had a really damp smell to it and the ensuite bathroom with the hot tub in it, smelt like sewage. The cupboards in the bathroom were warped and the drawers were broken and crumbling. The hot tub seemed old and dirty, I wouldn't even wash my dog in there. In saying that the hot tub was tiny anyway so you could probably only fit a small child in there and definitely not an adult comfortably. Either the photos on the site are old ones or we got the worst of the worst apartments because our one looked nothing like the photos. The toiletries consisted of a bottle of cheap squeezy soap stuck to the wall of the shower and next to the bathroom sink. No shampoo or conditioner. Only 2 towels were provided and you had to pay extra if you wanted towels to use in the outdoor pool. Highly disappointed. Will not be back and will never recommend to anyone else either!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JazdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWR-Management, Public Relations Manager at Royal Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thank you for your review of Royal Woods Resort. We appreciate all feedback whether it be negative or positive because it allows us to develop best practice for our guests. We sincerely apologise that your experience at Royal Woods Resort was not the perfect stay that we strive for our guests to have.

We are sorry that you were not aware of the $100 bond. This information is in the terms and conditions of the site you booked through but we will check to see if there is any way we can make it more clear for guests.

With the concerns you experienced during your stay, it is our company policy to immediately address and fix these. However, we didn’t hear anything from you until you posted this review so we didn’t have the opportunity to.

In regards to the room upgrade, our team allocated you a room with a balcony which came with a second bedroom you would not have needed as your original booking was for one bedroom accommodation. As it costs us to have cleaners clean the second room and launder the linen, we normally charge more for a 2 bedroom suite to cover these costs so our team made you aware that there would be an additional charge should you have used the 2nd bedroom.

With your description of the room, we haven’t had any feedback like this from other guests. We will be sending our maintenance and cleaning team in this week to do a full check of the room and to fix any issues they may find. We are also currently undergoing a refurbishment program to modernise the look and feel of the accommodation.

The press and wash toiletries we use are high end Hydro Basics which are a luxury range and the towels allocated to your room were the standard for an overnight stay.

The Wifi system was newly installed this year to provide a free service for our guests. With our property being nestled into a hill, we are still identifying any black spots and tweaking It to ensure uninterrupted Wifi for all our guests so your comments were helpful for this.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback so we can make changes for the better and would welcome you back any time in the future to experience the luxury and hospitality of Royal Woods Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

I originally made my booking in August online and was experiencing some difficulty until finally submitting a booking, only it was for the wrong date.

The staff (Felipe and Lachie I believe) were so friendly and helpful in changing my booking to the correct dates without additional charges incurred.

We arrived last weekend and were shown to our villa only to find there was too many steps for my grandmother to climb and politely asked if it was possible to switch. Felipe had us in a new villa within minutes.

This trip was not for vacation, was to visit my mother in hospital. None of this was mentioned to Royal Woods, yet they went out of their way to make our stay comfortable.

If I could rate more stars, I would.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Perfect for family or couples. Easy drive to all the Gold Coast attractions yet nice and quiet. Villa was spotless, easy check in and out. Great pool area if you want to spend time in the resort. All villas have private garage with roller door and and the whole resort is a gated resort.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patterman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Needed 2 bedroom accommodation in Ashmore area and glad that we discovered Royal Woods Resort. It is like an up-market retirement village with separate villas and a lovely pool area. Villa was nice although needing a little TLC with curtains' backing quite sticky and peeling away from the fabric. Ducted air conditioning struggled with the 30 degree day and I imagine it could be a bigger issue in summer months, although bedrooms were cooler than living area. It was nice to be away from the traffic and people in the main tourist areas of the Gold Coast. Resort was very obliging in allowing early checkin and late checkout. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monteforae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashmore
0.9 km away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
4.5 km away
Meriton Suites Southport
6 km away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,187 reviews
5 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,718 reviews
4.6 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Woods Resort

Address: 16 Mulyan Pl, Ashmore, Gold Coast, Queensland 4214, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Ashmore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashmore
Price Range: €99 - €215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Woods Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Royal Woods Resort... your special placeRoyal Woods Resort, based in Ashmore on Queensland's beautiful Gold Coast (Australia) is a world-class resort featuring unique natural tropical surroundings, exquisite rooms and breath-taking views.The Gold Coast's only all villa suite resort, offers a range of one and two-bedroom suites or three-bedroom freestanding villas servicing the need for short, medium and long term stays. We provide the option of fully furnished luxury villas for daily, weekly, monthly and longer term rentals. Whether staying overnight or seeking longer term accommodation for the whole family, Royal Woods Resort provides the freedom and comfort of a home-away-from-home, combined with the luxury and features of a resort.From the 900 square feet one-bedroom suites to the 2100 square feet three-bedroom, three-bathroom (including spa) home-away-from-home, all were designed with luxury in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Woods Hotel Ashmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing